Wednesday, January 8, 2014

The Blackcoat Rebellion Series by Aimee Carter

Pawn by Aimee Carter

The Blackcoat Rebellion # 1


Pawn is the first book in the new Blackcoat Rebellion series by Aimee Carter. 


I made a New Year’s resolution to read out of my comfort zone this year so this is a pleasant surprise to like the dystopia genre. 

 Pawn is set in the US in the future.  The basic idea is you study for a test that you take at the age of 17 which decides what class you are assigned to.  You then get a tattoo of your number the lower the number the lower the class.  There is a family that runs the program and they are the highest number.


This is the first dystopian book I have read so I don’t have anything in this genre to compare it too.   I can say that this book kept me interested enough to finish.  Some of the plot lines were a little drawn out, but the more I read the better I like it.  In the end I was hooked and want more. 


The ending is a great set up for book 2 in this series.




For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister's niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There's only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that's not her own, she must decide which path to chooseand learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she's only beginning to understand.


No comments:

Post a Comment