Sunday, November 16, 2014

Texas Nights Series by Kelsey Cameron


Personal Assets (Texas Nights #1)
By Kelsey Browning
4 Stars
 
I really liked this book.  Personal Assets is the first book in the Texas Nights series and a great way to start this series.  This is a first time read from this author and I look forward to reading more from Ms. Browning. The small town Texas setting was great, the plot was good with tons of humor and romance, and the characters were perfect.  There were several blushing moments that had me fanning myself. 

I loved Allie and Cameron.  They had perfect chemistry and banter.  I also loved the supporting characters especially Roxanne and Jamie.  I can’t wait to see what happens to them.  A little extra sideline that I thought was genius was Charlie and Emmalee.  I love those two. 

Overall, I really was impressed with this book.  I can’t wait to dive into the rest of this series. 

Synopsis:

Sex therapist Allie Shelby has the professional credentials, but she could use a bit more practical experience. Finding the right man to bring out her inner bad girl is tough in a population-challenged Texas town. So when sinfully sexy Cameron Wright rolls back into Shelbyville, Allie wastes no time inviting him to join her in some hands-on research.

Cameron has come home to fulfill his dream of restoring classic cars. Back in high school, he knew the town princess, Allie Shelby, was way out of his league. Today he has even less in common with Allie, so he's shocked as hell when she propositions him. Still, he's only human, so he accepts her offer—and with each encounter, she shows him another, wilder side. Before long, he's thinking about more than just sex.

But while her personal life heats up, Allie's business is about to crash and burn. And she has to convince Cameron that she's one princess who's not looking for a prince to ride to her rescue.





Running The Red Light by Kelsey Browning
Texas Nights # 2
3 Stars
Running The Red Light is the second installment in the Texas Nights series by Kelsey Browning. 

I really enjoyed the first book in this series titled Personal Assets.  I felt that this book just couldn’t compete with the series starter. 

Running The Red Light is a solid read with good characters and a filled to the brim plot, but I was expecting more.  I would not go as far as saying that this second book in the series was a flop, but falling in love with this community and its characters I was expecting at least to have some of the elated feelings the first book brought.

Ms. Browning set the bar extremely high in this series, and I wanted it all in this book.  I still think it was a hit, so if you enjoyed this book check out her first book in this series. 

 Synopsis:

After wearing a “Least Likely to Succeed” label all her life, Roxanne Eberly is hell-bent on making her Red Light Lingerie store successful. Although the residents of small-town Shelbyville, Texas, are a little…lingerie-resistant, she’ll win them over eventually. So when a former employer sues her, putting a major wrinkle in her careful plans, she reluctantly accepts help from hot-stuff Houston attorney Jamie Wright.

Jamie’s on track to become his firm’s youngest partner, but discovers an unwritten prerequisite—marriage. Turns out, the only woman he wants is Roxanne, but peddling thongs and sex toys isn’t a suitable career for the spouse of an up-and-coming attorney.

Jamie’s tangled up in Roxanne’s lawsuit, her life and her lingerie. But if they’re ever going to make it work, Roxanne’s big-city boy will have to decide what he values more: the career he always thought he wanted or the woman he never thought he’d fall for.


Problems in Paradise
Texas Nights #3

This is the third book in this series, and I have stuck with it hoping it would just get better and I am so glad I did.  This book is by far the best one in the series.
This installment is packed full of humor, romance, and sexy times.  This small town has become on of my favorites yet.
Synopsis:
Eden Durant hasn't always been Eden Durant. She's made a fresh start in Shelbyville, Texas, far from her mother's notoriety. Running the Paradise Garden Café is as much excitement as Eden wants—or it was, until she meets Beck Childress. Although he's the one man who could expose her past, she's willing to open up enough to see if he might be her future.

Chief Deputy Childress is determined to get to know the real Eden, when he isn't busy cleaning up after the sheriff and running in the election to replace him. When several men fall sick after eating in Eden's café, he investigates even as her mysterious past raises both his suspicions and his protective instincts.

As their relationship heats up, so do the pressures of Beck's campaign. When Eden's secrets are revealed, jeopardizing his dream of becoming sheriff, he'll need to choose: serve and protect the town he loves or the woman who makes it home.
  

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

The Game Maker Series by Kresley Cole


The Professional : Part 1 by Kresley Cole

The Game Maker # 1.1



 

OK, so some of you guys out there might not know that I have never read Kresley Cole.  I know right?  How can I be a book lover and reviewer and have never read this author?  I have heard fabulous things about her books, but never picked one up until now.  BOY OH BOY!  What have I been missing all this time?

I absolutely loved The Professional.  I know it is short at a little over 100 pages, but those pages are packed full of everything that is contained in a great novel.  I couldn’t believe how great the writing style was and the characters were impeccable. 

The steamy scenes almost melted my Kindle.  I swear I couldn’t put this one down.  I had the text to speech feature going while I was commuting to work and I thought that my battery died at the end.  So at the next red light I looked and it was OVER!  HOLY CLIFHANGER!  I can’t believe that you did this to us Ms. Cole.  I will be getting the next installment as soon as I finish this review.

I think that I might just leave my husband for Sevastyan!

Synopsis:

He makes the rules . . .
Mafiya enforcer Aleksandr "The Siberian" Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, tantalizing redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other. Ordered to protect her, Sevastyan will do anything to possess her as well—on his own wicked terms.

Rules are made to be broken . . .
PhD student Natalie Porter had barely recovered from her first sight of the breathtakingly gorgeous Sevastyan before the professional hit man whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures. With every day she spends under his protection, she falls deeper under his masterful spell.

Are you ready to play?
Yet all is not as it seems. To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Sevastyan spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true…



The Professional by Kresley Cole

The Professional # 1
 
 
 

OK, so some of you guys out there might not know that I have never read Kresley Cole.  I know right?  How can I be a book lover and reviewer and have never read this author?  I have heard fabulous things about her books, but never picked one up until now.  BOY OH BOY!  What have I been missing all this time?

 I absolutely loved The Professional.  I know it was released in parts and I could not wait for the next part to release.  It was unbelievable how great the writing style was and the characters were impeccable. 

The steamy scenes almost melted my Kindle.  I swear I couldn’t put this one down.  I had the text to speech feature going while I was commuting to work I was so addicted. 

Aleks is the true definition of Alpha male.  This hot Russian is something to look out for.  By far, my best read of 2014!

This is one series that I will be one one click buy from now on, although I’m not sure how Ms. Cole can write a book better than this!

Synopsis:

He makes the rules…

Mafiya enforcer Aleksei “The Siberian” Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss knows no bounds, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, feisty redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other. Ordered to protect her, Aleksei will do anything to possess her as well—on his own wicked terms.

Rules are made to be broken…

Grad student Natalie Porter had barely recovered from her first sight of the dark and breathtaking Sevastyan before the professional enforcer whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures. Every day under his protection leads her deeper under his masterful spell.

Are you ready to play?

Yet all is not as it seems. To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Sevastyan spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true…

 


 

Most Wanted Series by J. Kenner


Wanted by J. Kenner
Most Wanted # 1

 




Wanted is the first installment in the Most Wanted series by J. Kenner.  The cover is an eye catcher and is what initially drew me in.  But the book itself is also a hit.

Ms. Kenner does a fantastic job of pulling the audience in as she tells her story though well-developed characters and an easy to follow plot.

The character’s chemistry is smoking hot as well as sexy.  The alluring alpha male is hard to resist and a personal favorite of mine.  The erotic scenes in this book are tasteful and not too over the top. 

I cannot wait for the next addition to this series.

Synopsis:

He is everything I crave, all I desperately want—and he is everything I can’t have.

Evan Black embodies my every fantasy. He is brilliant, fierce, and devastatingly handsome. But he is also headstrong, dangerous, and burdened with secrets.

My family warned me to stay away, that I could never handle Evan’s dark dealings or scarred past. Maybe I should have listened. Maybe I should have run. But our desire is undeniable, and some temptations you just can’t fight.

And from the moment we touch—the passion between us consuming us both—I know that I will never be the same.


Heated by J. Kenner

Most Wanted # 2
 
 
 

In this second installment of the Most Wanted series we get a closer look at the second of the Knights, Tyler Sharp. 

Tyler is a sexy, cocky, alpha of bad boys who is willing to do what it takes for the things he believes in.  He often is in the middle of questionable actions and walks the line between legal and illegal.

Sloane is a cop on medical leave and finds herself pushing her boundaries both personally and professionally after one encounter with Tyler.

These characters are always spot on, that’s why I love this series.  The bad boy image with a heart of gold gets me every time.   Too bad her characters can’t be real life men!

Synopsis:

I grew up believing in right and wrong, good and evil, black and white. I knew better than to trust. And then I met Tyler Sharp.

Bold, charming, and dangerously sexy, Tyler always gets what he wants. But his smile can be deceiving, his dealings sordid, his ambitions ruthless. I thought I was the one woman strong enough to resist him, but our need for each other was too urgent to deny.

One look and I was in trouble. One touch and I was hooked. One night and I became his.

And now that I’ve fallen, there’s no going back.




Alpha Girl Series by Alieen Erin




Becoming Alpha by Aileen Erin
Alpha Girl # 1

Becoming Alpha if the first book in the exciting new series Alpha Girl by Alieen Erin. This author and series are both new to me but I am now an uber fan.
I was so impressed by this book it reminded me of Twilight without vampires but rather with werewolves. I really didn't know what to expect with this book since there are so many books out there in this genre, but this book was magical and easy to read.
The plot was not boring and kept me interested and turning pages the whole book. I have to admit that I devoured this book in one sitting and it left me wanting more of the St. Ailbe's Academy crew and especially Tessa and Dastien.
Talk about hot alpha male, Dastien's mysterious quality had me from first bite. Also this unique book has a hot alpha female too! With the banter between friends and the chemistry that can cinch the hairs on your skin, this book has it all!
Another quality I loved is this book has a cast of secondary character that are amazing. Every character has a place and mesh perfectly together. I can't wait for the second book in this series.
So if you are a fan of YA paranormal romance with action and adventure than get yourself hooked on the Alpha Girl seres.
Synopsis:
Tessa McCaide has a unique talent for getting into trouble. Then again, it isn't easy for a girl with visions to ignore what she sees. Luckily Tessa and her family are leaving California and moving halfway across the country, giving her the perfect opportunity to leave her reputation as "Freaky Tessa" behind.

But Tessa doesn't realize that kissing the wrong guy in her new Texas town could land her in far more trouble than she ever imagined. Like being forced to attend St. Ailbe's Academy, a secret boarding school for werewolves.

Even if the wrong guy did accidentally turn her into one of "them" and doom her to attending the weirdest high school ever, Tessa can't help her growing attraction to the mysterious Dastien Laurent.

When vampires attack St. Alibe's and her visions pinpoint an enemy in their midst, Tessa realizes that boy drama and her newfound canine tendencies might just be the least of her problems.




Avoiding Alpha by Aileen Erin
Alpha Girl #2


Avoiding Alpha is the second book in the Alpha Girl series and this novella packed quite the punch.  It was just as good as the first book in the series, maybe a little better.  It has hints of romance as well as giving background into Tessa and her family’s past. 

If you are look for a YA paranormal serial pick up the Alpha Girl series. 

 

 Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Tessa McCaide has come a long way since her abrupt entrance into the world of werewolves, but she still has just as far to go before she’s comfortable with turning full wolf. In the meantime, she’s avoiding the topic of shifting to four legs any way she can. Thankfully her mate, Dastien Laurent, is quite the distraction.

When she finds her best friend, Meredith, getting sick in the bathroom, Tessa knows something’s majorly wrong. Meredith was cursed years ago, and the dark magic kept her wolf dormant—only now the wolf is awake, and that same spell is killing her.

Tessa has no intention of sitting around while Meredith wastes away. Even if it means playing with magic she doesn’t understand, she’ll do anything to save Meredith’s life. Including bargaining with the local coven of witches and its crazed leader, whose only goal is getting Tessa to join the witchy ranks.

Can Tessa save her friend without losing herself?



Love in Balance Series by Jessica Lemmon


Can’t Let Go by Jessica Lemmon

Love in Balance # 1.5


Can’t Let Go is a novella that takes place between books one and two in the Love in Balance series by Jessica Lemmon.  This novella was long enough to get me hooked on Aiden and Sadie and short enough to leave me wanting more. 

I love Sadie and Aiden.  The sweet relationship they are developing is envious.  The chemistry between the characters is fan worthy and the banter is a great addition.  The writing style draws readers in.  I can’t wait for the second installment of this series Hard to Handle.

Synopsis:

Can't Let Go is a PREQUEL novella to Hard to Handle, a "before" the happily ever after...

A LOVE IN THE BALANCE NOVELLA

AN INSTANT SPARK
Sadie Howard would never admit there's such a thing as love at first sight, but she can't deny the connection between her and sexy Adonis Aiden Downey. She also can't deny she loves to kiss him-his mouth might be his most precious asset. Despite every promise to herself not to get involved any deeper than a first date, she can't keep from seeing more of Aiden . . . in more ways than one.

Aiden Downey had no idea the hot blonde from the club would trigger his protective, gentle nature, but the moment she drops her guard and he sees the real Sadie Howard, he's a goner. When a family crisis puts the brakes on their budding romance, can Aiden find a way to hold on to her? Or will he lose the best thing in his life just as quickly as he found her? 25,000 words






Hard to Handle by Jessica Lemmon

Love in Balance # 2
Hard to Handle is the second installment in the Love in Balance Series by Jessica Lemmon.  I started this series with # 1.5 and absolutely fell in love with Sadie and I Aiden’s story.  I had to know more about this couple. 

The couple reconnects at their friends wedding.  This is approximately a year after their gut wrenching split.  These two think that they have moved on, but quickly rekindle past feelings. 

I was rooting for the pair at the end of Can’t Let Go, but was swept up in the banter, chemistry, and feelings that they still have for each other. 

I can’t wait for more of this series.  Maybe Lyon will get a loving stepmother?

Synopsis:

ONCE BURNED Sadie Howard never dates a guy more than once-but Fate has other plans for her when it comes to Aiden Downey, the one that got away. Aiden loved her, left her, and broke her heart. Yet suddenly she's bumping into him at every turn, driven to distraction by his wicked grin and rock-hard body. Now she can't resist finishing what they started-as long as she doesn't let herself fall in love...

TWICE AS TEMPTING Aiden Downey threw away the best thing he ever had when he let Sadie go, and now he's determined to win back the woman he's always wanted. Sadie agrees to let him into her life-and her bed-as long as there are no strings attached. But Aiden's not about to make the same mistake again. Can he convince her to take a second chance on a once-in-a-lifetime love?

 
The Millionaire Affair by Jessica Lemmon
Love In Balance # 3
I am a fan of this series as well as Ms. Lemmon and her easy to read books, having said that I knew that I would continue with this series. 

In this book we get the pleasure of know Landon the older sibling and millionaire of the family.  This is a great read that is full of enjoyment and little drama.  The story flows, the characters are good, and the series is a favorite of mine.

 

Synopsis:

LOVE IS A DEAL BREAKER . . . Millionaire ad executive Landon Downey has a policy: no romantic relationships allowed. So when he's saddled with his six-year-old nephew for a week, he doesn't think twice about asking Kimber Reynolds to act as live-in nanny. What he doesn't expect is the undeniable attraction to the woman he hasn't seen since they were kids. And not only does she like him back-she suggests they work their way down a list of extracurricular activities in the bedroom. How can he resist? Kimber wants to prove once and for all that she can love 'em and leave 'em with the best of them. All she has to do is keep her sixteen-year crush on Landon out of the equation. No problem . . . until she realizes she may not be the only one whose heart has gotten completely tangled up in their no-strings agreement.!

Monday, November 10, 2014

The Scarab Beetle Series C.L. Stone


The Academy: Thief
By C.L. Stone
The Scarab Beetle #1


This new spin off series in The Academy series has a more mature vibe than the first Academy series. 

This is the start of something special with the perfect balance of mystery, action and hotties.  The newest branch of The Academy boys hit hard and heavy in this fast paced action packed drama.  The cliff hanger ending will leave you wanting the next installment now!

 

Synopsis:

Kayli Winchester is a dirt-poor girl living out of a hotel, forced to be the parent for a drunken father and teenage brother who she’s desperate to keep in school. The only way she scrapes by is to utilize her one skill: pickpocketing. But even though she’s a thief she has a moral code: no kids or old ladies, only targets who can defend themselves. Not that they see her coming…

Thinking she’s been working under the radar, Kayli has no idea The Academy has been watching and taking notice. Now a team that needs her skill has offered her a way out of her predicament and it’s her last chance: work with them, or face jail time. Kayli resists at first, but slowly the boys reveal they can be trusted. With Marc, the straight man, Raven, the bad-boy Russian, Corey and Brandon the twins as different as night and day, and Axel their stoic leader, there’s a lot Kayli can learn from these Academy guys about living on the edge of the law. If only she can stay on the good side instead of the bad.

Especially when the job they offer her is more than any of them bargained for. After it’s done, the hunters have become the hunted and their target is now after Kayli. The Academy boys do their best to keep her hidden, but a thief like Kayli will never sit still for long.

Meet an all-new Academy team in Thief, the beginning of the Scarab Beetle series.

Warning: This is a new adult series. Readers of the other Academy series may need some caution as this series will contain mature sexual and violent situations and themes.

Inside Out Series by Lisa Renee Jones

Being Me (Inside Out #2)
 by Lisa Renee Jones

 4 Stars

Being Me is the second installment of the Inside Out Trilogy.  The intriguing, sultry, mysterious romance will captivate readers and leave them wanting more.

This book blew me away; however, I have not read the first book in this series so I did feel a disadvantage during the first 25% of the book.  After that point the author did a great job of catching up reader like me, so I had an idea of what happened in the first book.  As we peel back the layers of this sexy book, it is so much more than just the new age erotica.  It is about finding yourself and trusting not only yourself but others as well.  The plot is like no other, well thought out and precise.  I have truly never read anything that compares to the way this book was written.  The characters are flawed to perfection, leaving readers with a real connection.  Not only are these characters strong, but vulnerable in their own way; which is hard to find in a book.  Mrs. Jones most definitely has a golden pen and I so happy to have discovered her work.

Synopsis:

 Fascinated by the dark fantasies in the journals she’s discovered, and the two men who have now found a place in her life, Sara McMillan finds herself torn between her new life and her past. Now, more than ever, Sara identifies with the lost journal writer, Rebecca, and is certain that something sinister has happened.

In the arms of the sexy, tormented artist Chris Merit, Sara seeks answers about Rebecca and ends up discovering things about herself she never knew existed. Chris forces Sara to reconsider who she is and what she truly wants from life, but not before his dark desires threaten to tear them apart. Her boss, Mark Compton, offers her the shelter to understand just what those needs mean to her, and what they might have meant to Rebecca, but can she trust him to lead her to a final conclusion to Rebecca’s story?


The Mater Undone (Inside Out 2.5)
by Lisa Renee Jones





 

4 Stars
 Being new to the Inside Out Trilogy, this novella has given me great insight into Mark Compton’s world.  I started this series with Being Me, and although Mark was in this book he was not the main focus.  I really liked him in the second installment so this book was a pleasant surprise. 

I loved seeing this softer side of Mark.  His is very dominant, confident, and sexy in the other books, so seeing this side of his character really makes me love this series even more.  Now, I definitely have to go back and read the first book.

Synopsis:

In her private journals, Rebecca laid bare her soul, revealing her obsession for the one man whose erotic demands captivated her imagination--and enslaved her forever. Now, with Rebecca no longer in his life he is lost, questioning everything he thought he knew about himself and about control he holds in such high regard. One women will reach out to heal him and then turn away, leaving him haunted. She is nothing he thought he wanted and somehow everything he needs. He tells himself to forget her but he cannot escape his desire for her. He has to have more...


Revealing Us (Inside Out 3#)
 by Lisa Renee Jones



 

4 Stars

I fell in love with this series in the last month or so and I am starting the first book tonight.  I really like the Ms. Jones abandoned the trilogy and started up with a series.  I really enjoy her writing style and he characters.

Revealing Us is the third installment in the Inside Out series and might not be my favorite book in this series, but is an important addition to Chris and Sara’s story. I felt like the mystery that I loved in the previous book was no longer there since Rebecca’s plotline was somewhat resolved. But this book gives back-story to Chris and makes us love him more.  It also goes deeper into the BDSM lifestyle but not too much.  I don’t particularly love that type of book, but this book is on the lighter side of the genre and it makes for an interesting plot addition. 

I loved the fact that we got to see inside Chris’ life and all the pain he has gone through.  It brings the reader closer to his character.  I also love how strong Sara has gotten over the course of this series.  The Ella side plot is going to be interesting and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next chapter.

I loved the previous covers in this series, but this cover just didn't do it for me.  I thought the cover was not cohesive with the rest of the covers.
 
Synopsis:
 
The third installment in the sexy Inside Out erotic romance series—in the seductive tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey.

You've discovered Rebecca's secrets. You've discovered Sara's secrets. Now Sara will discover "his" deepest, darkest secrets...but will those secrets bind them together--or tear them apart?
 

 
His Secrets by Lisa Renee Jones

Inside Out # 3.1

 Honestly, I love this series!  In His Secrets we learn much more about Chris as it is written in his POV.

This novella packs a punch in the 100 or so pages, but is completely necessary to fully understand these complex characters.

New twist and turns reveal themselves leaving an opening for the plot to go in several different directions. 

Every word Lisa Renee Jones writes in this series has a meaning, so pay attention or you just might miss something important.

Synopsis:

An Inside Out story, Chris's POV

In a world where my only escape has been my art, Sara has been the light in my darkness. And there is darkness, the kind of inky black that can bleed from my life to hers.
She doesn't see it. She doesn't understand what I've shown her. And my biggest fear is that soon...she will.

Rebecca’s Lost Journals

by: Lisa Renee Jones

Inside Out # 3.2



In this installment of the Inside Out series we get to read Rebecca’s journals and get a better picture into her life as we dive deeper into her escapades.

Synopsis:

Rebecca’s Lost Journals.....

Rebecca Mason has known heartache and sorrow in her life, losing everyone she loves. She’s on her own in San Francisco, lost in every way, until she dares to make the decision to chase her dream of working in the art world. It is then that he meets a rich, seductively powerful man who will become the Master she never knew she wanted and change her life forever. He will lead her on a dark, passionate journey where pain is pleasure and pleasure is pain, and where every limit she once had is no more. In this man, she will find solace to her pain, an escape from the ache inside her. And in him, she will discover a darkness she may never escape.
 

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Sunset Motel by Mallory Love


Sunset Motel by Mallory Love

Sunset Motel #1
 

When I first read the synopsis of this book it reminded me of the Inside Out Series by Lisa Renee Jones.  I happen to love that series so I thought that I would give this book a try.

This book is unique in its own way.  The main character Sam finds an old diary in a piece of furniture and gets swept up in the writings of Colleen.  Colleen goes through a terrible situation and is hoping for love to find her.

I was more caught up in the story-line between Colleen and Leo than Samantha herself.  I did, however, start to connect with her as the book progressed.  Now I am hooked and cannot wait to see where Samantha will go next!

Synopsis:

It started with a diary...

When author Samantha Crews purchases the contents of a storage unit, she has no idea that the antique desk inside holds an old diary that will change her life. But that’s exactly what happens.

As Samantha reads through the yellowed journal and accompanying letters, she’s drawn into a sensual web woven by the erotic story of a love affair between a sheltered young woman and a jaded, scarred recluse. To Samantha’s dismay, the diary ends abruptly, with nothing resolved.

Devastated by the parallels to her own life, she sets out on a quest to find out how the story ends. Will she discover that Colleen and Leo overcame the obstacles separating them to achieve a happily-ever-after? Or were the forces pulling at them too strong, their burgeoning love too fragile to survive?

Monday, July 21, 2014

Callahan Series (Beachwood Bay Spinoff) by Melody Grace

Uninhibited
Unrequited
by Melody Grace
Callahans #1
Callahans #2
Beachwood Bay #3.5
Beachwood Bay #4
This is the first book that I have read by Melody Grace, but she is definitely on my to read list!  The Callahans series knocked me off my feet and left me wanting more of this series.  I will have to go back and check out some of the Beachwood Bay books.  You can tell by the references in this book that the series is tightly wound and that is exactly what I look for in a great series.
Alicia and Dex steam up the pages and will set your device on fire in this first and second installment in the series.  The chemistry is off the chain and the characters are perfect. 
The stand alone quality is great, but you can tell there is more to this series.  I can’t wait to read more!


Synopsis:
He’ll teach her a pleasure beyond her wildest dreams…
Alicia Wright isn’t the kind of girl to make out with a stranger in a dark alley. She’s spent years playing it safe, pining after the perfect man – who’s about to marry someone else. She doesn’t know how to move on, until a sexy stranger turns her world upside down with a wickedly tempting proposition…
She’ll rescue him from the edge of oblivion…
Rock star Dex Callahan swore his days of fame and debauchery were behind him, but the spotlight keeps calling his name. Determined not to fall into his old life, he goes looking for distraction -- and finds an intoxicating red-head with a mouth made for sin. One kiss could never be enough, so Dex offers her a deal: spend one week with him, and she’ll forget her old flame ever existed.
Together, they’ll ignite a passion that will change them forever…
No rules. No limits. As the whirlwind week of pleasure unfolds, Alicia discovers a desire she never knew existed – and the tortured heart Dex hides behind his charming smile. But can old loves so easily be replaced? And when the week is over, will their bond be strong enough to weather the storm?

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Until Alex

Until Alex by J. Nathan

alex

So I dove right into this book and really didn’t know what to expect.  New author, debut novel it’s kind of like riding a bike for the first time you don’t know if you are gonna fall off or keep going.  Well needless to say I kept going all the way to the end and this was an amazing ride!

Until Alex has an unforgettable plot and authentic characters that drew me in and held my attention the entire book.   This book ripped up my heart and put it back together.  I fell in love with this book!

PS I actually cried while reading this book which never happens.

 

Synopsis:

On the outside, Hayden is every girl's living breathing fantasy, brooding and devastatingly gorgeous. He spends his nights losing himself in alcohol and faceless girls, but it's all just a facade. An elaborate cover for the emotionless shell of a man he is. One who harbors too many secrets and destroys lives the way his was destroyed. It’s the reason he avoids relationships and keeps everyone at arm's length…
Until Alex
Alex’s life just shattered into a million pieces, leaving her with more grief than she knows what to do with and guilt so deep it’s destroyed the carefree girl she once was. Now she’s hundreds of miles from home, living with an aunt she doesn't know, finishing senior year at a college she’s never been to, and trying desperately to get through a single day without breaking down. She's never felt more alone in her life...
Until Hayden
The trouble with Hayden is who he wants to be and who he is are in constant flux. And though he’d die before letting Alex learn the truth about him, he can’t be sure he's strong enough to let her in…or push her away. She’s the one person who just might see the real him

By a Dangerous Man Series

Trapped by a Dangerous Man by Cleo Peitsche

By a Dangerous Man #1

 
 
Ingredients:
1 naïve female bounty hunter
1 hot criminal
1 record snow storm
mix all ingredients and lock into a house for a few days.
I really like this book.  Corbin is the perfect sexy do gooder bad guy and Audrey is trying to find herself and some cash along the way.  I will indeed follow this series.  I have to know more about the mysterious Corbin and all his criminal ways. Oh and where he learned to cook!
 
Synopsis: What does she owe to the man who saved her life?
Despite growing up a bounty hunter, being taken seriously is a constant struggle for 24-year-old Audrey Stroop. When she stumbles across information on Corbin Lagos, she recognizes the chance of a lifetime.
One blizzard and a car accident later, she wakes up in gorgeous Corbin’s bed. She doesn’t know how he’ll react if he discovers that the woman he rescued intends to haul him in. She also can’t fight her attraction to him.
He’s nothing like the men she typically seduces and discards. He’s dominant. He’s dangerous. And he’s going to explode her life into a million tiny pieces.







Black Halo

All Night Long by Madelynne Ellis

Black Halo # 1

all night

Holy Hotness!!!  What would you do to have your every fantasy fulfilled by your favorite rock star??? Take him up on it and rock his world…duh!  This is exactly what Ginny Walters did when she met Ashley Black Halo’s lead guitar player. 

Can a one night stand turn into true love?

This book was funny, smutty, and hit all the right spots for me.  Rock star…check.  Hot chemistry…check. Tons on laughs…check.

I can’t wait for more sexy encounters with the Black Halo band and to see how Ginny’s roomie dealt with the lead singer.

 

Synopsis:

One night of rampant passion with a rock star, that’s all it’s supposed to be. Ginny Walters isn’t looking for love, only some sexy fun with an amazingly hot guy, that is, until she hooks up with Black Halo’s lead guitarist, Ash Gore, on the night the band implodes. When vocalist Xane walks off stage bringing the gig to a premature end, Ash and the guys find themselves unable to reach their hotel due to the presence of an irate mob. Luckily, Ginny offers them the use of her room for the night.
Ginny does her best to be a good hostess. However, it’s not long before she discovers a side to womanizing, bad boy, Ash that she never imagined. Beneath his hard rock image, is a man so hung up on the possibility of being hurt by love that he’s unwilling to risk becoming emotionally involved. How can she convince him that the bond between them is worth exploring, given that she’s not sure dating a rock star is terribly bright idea?
Ash can’t seem to get Ginny out of his head. She’s totally unlike the groupies he normally beds; women who love to fan his ego, but ultimately leave him dismally unsatisfied. Ginny sees through all his bullshit and the media hype to the scarred man beneath. Given that instinctive understanding, does he really want to say goodbye forever coming daybreak?
Maybe it’s time they both gave love another chance

The Mean Girl Apologies

by Stephanie Monahan

apologies

Go back to high school…um NO!  I graduated with the same people that I was raised with in a small town.  It has been 17 years and I have yet been to a class reunion.  I still live in the same small town in Alabama, but have no desire to see anyone that I went to high school with.  Was I bullied? No Was I popular?  I was, but didn’t realize it at the time.  I was just myself. 

This book explains exactly why I do not want to see anyone I went to school with.  High school drama and cliques does not really go away.

I didn’t want to put this book down.  Everyone in HS knows  the mean girls, weather your were one yourself or go tormented by one, but some mean girls grow up and are still mean.  This is the case for Natalie Jamison. 

Natalie is trying to find herself after college and get sucked into her hometown clique and back into her mean girl ways.  After having a change of heart, and hearing her old secret flame sing a song about her on the radio, she sets out to make amends to all the people she hurt in high school…even the famous ones.

Synopsis:

You know that catchy song you keep hearing on the radio? It’s about you.
Natalie Jamison has spent five years trying to forget the girl she was in high school: popular, pretty…and, okay, mean. Now in her twenties and living once again in her small town, she’s right back where she was: following Queen Bee Amber and keeping secrets from her best friend, Sarah.
Secrets like Jack Moreland.
Everyone knows Jack Moreland—his new album, Good Enough, is everywhere. He’s famous. Impossibly handsome. Completely untouchable. But what none of Natalie’s old clique knows is that in high school, Natalie and Jack fell in love. And their secret relationship was incredible, painful—and earth-shattering enough to inspire an entire album.
Facing friends and enemies isn’t easy, but Natalie will go to great lengths to prove she is good enough—to her friends, to herself, and most of all, to the small-town boy turned worldwide heartthrob she never forgot.

The Porter Brothers

 

What Happens in Vegas…Doesn’t Always Stay There

Porters Brothers #1

by Terry Towers

vegas

Holy Ménage…twins?  Dane and Graham held my attention like no other identical duo has.  Genevieve I could have done without.  Jealously…maybe but her characters just couldn’t get it together for me and annoyed   me to no end. 

I am really holding out for Dane’s story.

 

Synopsis:

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, right? Not always…
After being left at the altar by her high school sweetheart Genevieve Fennel is done with love, done with romance and done with men. Period. She’s always been a good girl, while her friends indulged in casual encounters and they seem happy and satisfied enough. So why can’t she?
Meeting NYPD officers Dane and Graham Porter in Vegas gives her an opportunity to be the bad girl she thinks she needs to be. After a night of passion, she finds herself embarrassed of her wanton behaviour, but takes solace in the fact she can put the night behind her once she returns home.
Back in New York just when she thinks she can forget what happened in Vegas, destiny shows it has other plans. When there’s a break-in at her boutique, it’s the sexy-as-sin Porter brothers who are sent to her rescue intent on stirring up the feelings of abandon she’s trying to forget.
How can she forget what happened in Vegas, when the two men who brought her to such heights of pleasure refuse to let her go so easily? Even if she does decide to open her heart to them, how can she make a choice between the two amazing brothers, both intent on winning her affections? Or maybe she doesn’t have to…

Temptation in Shadows

ts

Gena Showalter is spot on in this novella with a unique cast of characters.  the action packed plot and fast paced storyline is filled to the brim with strong personalities.  The romance was also there.  This short packs a punch!

Synopsis:

Tall, lean, muscular—and definitely rough around the edges—Sean Walker is not your typical nightclub bodyguard. He’s a controller of shadows, able to wield darkness at will. But when a mysterious woman at the club turns out to have powers greater than his own, he has no choice but seduction…

Friday, July 11, 2014

Lovestruck in London

 

ll

 

I have to admit chick lit is a hit or miss these days and Lovestruck in London has potential to be high up in the category.  It started strong but over coarse of the book I asked myself when will it end?  I thought that this plot was right up my alley and it was.  I mean who doesn’t want to move to a foreign land meet the rich and famous man of your dreams…right?  But I found it lagging in pace and it seemed to drag at times. 

 

Synopsis:

Lizzie Medina went to London to reinvent herself. Tired of being the quiet baby sister, and in no hurry to settle into a boring existence in surburbia, she escapes from home at the first opportunity. When she settles in London for a year of post-graduate studies, Lizzie is sure she’ll be able to start a whole new life. Immerse herself in the books she loves. Explore a new country. Work on her dream of writing a novel. She might even be able to find a little bit of excitement for once.
But falling unexpectedly in love with up-and-coming actor Thomas Harper causes Lizzie to re-think… everything. Just as she’s convinced herself this small-town girl from the Midwest can handle this great adventure, Thomas’s career suddenly explodes to superstar levels, and Lizzie finds herself forced to navigate the fame game of red carpets, catty co-stars, gossip magazines, and paparazzi. When she wished for a new life, she had no idea it would be anything like this!
Lizzie must now determine if her love—and her confidence—are strong enough to get her through the complications of dating a movie star. Even if she and Thomas are able to pull through before she has to leave London, how will she deal with the inevitability of returning to a life at home that no longer feels like her own? Will she follow her family’s wishes or follow her heart? Will the Lizzie she discovered in London be strong enough to help her pursue her dreams?

Thompson and Son’s

Rocky Ride by Vivian Arend

Thompson and Son’s # 1

rr

Mitch and Anna steam up the sheets and other places in this spin-off series opener.  I have not read the other series Six Pack Ranch but loved this book so much I already have the second book loaded to my reader.  This is a series to look out for and I can’t wait to see the other Thompson’s and their wild adventures.  I also want to go back and read Six Pack Ranch because it was obvious that the Thompson sister has a back-story and I would love to read it as well.

Synopsis:

He’s got a touch that’s hotter than hot
It took a hell of a lot of fast-talking and more than a few speeding tickets before Mitch Thompson convinced Constable Anna Coleman to take him for a ride. Only now that she’s loosened off her stiff RCMP uniform, it’s not nearly enough. Their secret sexual escapades are mind-blowing, but Mitch wants more than her body—he wants her heart.
Her world could go up in flames
It’s a dangerous road to walk, and Anna doesn’t know how far she can safely tread. Bad boy Mitch may have lured her wild side out to play, but giving in to their increasingly passionate desires could endanger her very civilized career. Somewhere between yearning and obsession there has to be a balance point.
Or they’re both going to get burned

Son’s of Kane Series

Don’t Bite the Bridesmaid by Tiffany Allee

Son’s of Kane # 1

bite the bridesmaid

In this hilariously funny romance with a paranormal twist some people know about vampires and some vampires do not realize it.  The attraction is spot on and chemistry is hot.  Great intro to this Son’s of Kane series.

Alice needs a date for her sister’s wedding and it just so happens that the entire wedding party is on a cruise ship.  She convinces her neighbor Noah to be her date.  The problem is Noah is a vampire and has been introduced as her fiancé. 

Along the way Alice realizes Noah is a vampire and he is doing the his best to keep it in the dark. 

Synopsis:

Alice Shepard needs one thing: a date for her sister's wedding. And not just any date. A hunk who will make her fiancé rue the day he left her for her best friend. Her drop-dead gorgeous neighbor fits the bill—even if he is a bit quirky and never comes out during the day—and Alice has downed just enough appletinis to ask him. But she makes it quite clear that there will be no funny business.
Spending a week on a cruise ship full of humans while sleeping close to his sexy next-door neighbor sounds like a helluva bad idea to vampire Noah Thorpe. But his friends need time to get him out of a shotgun wedding—a vampire bonding that will tie his fate to a female vampire he's never met. And Alice's offer comes at just the right time.
What could possibly go wrong?

Don’t Blackmail the Vampire by Tiffany Allee

Son’s of Kane #2

blackmail vamp

So again, this series is seriously funny has great characters and the situations that they get themselves into are great! This series has grown into one I look for.

 

Synopsis:

Rachel Davis will do anything to get her sister out of a bad relationship with her fiancé. Even if it involves a few fibs, a little breaking-and-entering, and blackmailing the fiancé's potential boss, Charles, for his help. So what if the handsome Charles happens to be a vampire?
Charles Wright has found the perfect way to trap the man threatening his brother's wife: cozy up to him, get invited along on the skiing trip, and then search for incriminating evidence. How much better that audacious but gorgeous Rachel is just as eager to nail the bastard. As far as he's concerned, there's nothing wrong with a little blackmail between two consenting adults. Especially when it's time for Rachel to pay up.

His to Claim by Opal Carew

His to Claim

19286648

His to Claim is a composition of six short erotic stories that make up this novel.  Apparently I missed the other series because there were so unexplained issues with Jessica and Rafe…I guess another series?  Anyway, I immediately fell in love with this series.  With sexy, steamy characters and the perfect chemistry in addition to a rock star plot makes for the perfect book!

Synopsis:

What if you could have everything you’ve always wanted, but it cost you the life you’ve always known?
Rafe Ranier was my boss and secret crush. A rock musician by night and head of a billion dollar empire by day, Rafe could have any woman he wanted. But I was just the shy secretary he never noticed. For years I obsessed over him, until I finally realized I had to walk away. I needed to leave my secure life behind to discover who I really was.I never expected Rafe to follow me.Now I’m on the road with his band, Savage Kiss, and all my secret fantasies are coming true. But I fear I’ve made a huge mistake, because if I get any more attached to a man I can never truly have, my heart will be broken beyond all repair.
First published as a six-part erotic serial, His to Claim is the intoxicating tale of a woman torn between a tattooed, bad boy rock musician and the life she's always know. Now available for the first time as a complete book, this edition features sizzling new bonus material.(

Monday, June 16, 2014

Running by Suzanne Sweeney

Running Back to You

Running # 1

Running Back to You (Running, #1)

Running Back to You is the first book in the Running series by Suzanne Sweeney.

Readers are sure to fall in love with this captivating story-line and interesting characters.  The twists and turns will have you on the edge of your seat the entire time.  With a sweet romance, this book has it all.

I can’t wait to see where the author takes this series!

Synopsis:

Juliette Fletcher is a girl with a plan. Not one to sit back and wait for life to happen, she moves back home after graduation and begins to carve out a life for herself.
Evan McGuire is desperate for a fresh start. His career in the NFL depends on it. Years of partying and carefree living have caught up with him. After buying a beach house in need of renovations, he begins to rebuild his life and his reputation.
What Evan doesn’t expect is a chance meeting with Juliette out on an early morning beach run with her dog. A strong mutual attraction draws them together, but fear of scaring her away keeps Evan from revealing his true identity. Evan finds himself in an unfamiliar situation – forced to work harder than he ever has before to prove himself worthy of her affections.
Tragic misunderstandings and unexpected obstacles threaten to derail a fragile relationship. Someone is watching, waiting, and tormenting Juliette, desperate to destroy everything. Can they find the strength to overcome jealousy, insecurity, and fear before it’s too late?

Talented by Sophie Davis

Talented

Talented #1

Talented (Talented Saga, #1)

Talented is the first book in the self titles series.  The genre in dystopian.

I really got into this book even though I don’t’ usually read dystopian type books.  It has the perfect balance of action, drama, and romance. 

Talia was a great character and her internal struggles were intriguing.  Kicking ass and taking names while falling in and out of love isn’t easy, but she handles herself like a pro. 

I can’t wait for more!

 

Synopsis:

Block it out. Impossible for Talia Lyons. When you’re a Mind Manipulator, it’s hard enough to block the thoughts of others, let alone your own.
Block it out. The pounding, siren-ready world Talia inhabits as she trains with her fellow Hunters, the country's top-secret covert operatives. The physical demands. The emotional toll.
Block it out. The secrets that Talia’s boyfriend is hiding. Talia’s unbidden feelings of frustration and annoyance toward her teammate, the Casanova of the compound. The wondering why she cares what he thinks.
Block him out. Ian Crane. The man behind the bloodshed marring Talia’s memories of her murdered parents. The man she’s determined to kill.
Block it all out. Focus.
Talented is an emotionally raw Dystopian Romance, about the life of a girl with extraordinary psychic powers, and what happens when a heart is torn between love and rage.