Saturday, August 31, 2013

Conjured


Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst

 
 
2.5 Stars
I just didn't get it. That's about sums it up. The blurb was good but the delivery but the book didn't deliver. The beginning drug along almost to the point of boredom and was hard to dive into.  The characters were not relatable.  However, the plot/idea was good and the writing style was descriptive.  I usually love these qualities.  Something was off and I can’t quite put my finger on it.  I’m confliceted.

Synopsis:

Eve has a new home, a new face, and a new name—but no memories of her past. She’s been told that she's in a witness protection program. That she escaped a dangerous magic-wielding serial killer who still hunts her. The only thing she knows for sure is that there is something horrifying in her memories the people hiding her want to access—and there is nothing they won’t say—or do—to her to get her to remember.

At night she dreams of a tattered carnival tent and buttons being sewn into her skin. But during the day, she shelves books at the local library, trying to not let anyone know that she can do things—things like change the color of her eyes or walk through walls. When she does use her strange powers, she blacks out and is drawn into terrifying visions, returning to find that days or weeks have passed—and she’s lost all short-term memories. Eve must find out who and what she really is before the killer finds her—but the truth may be more dangerous than anyone could have ever imagined

The Tycoon and the Texan

The Tycoon and the Texan by Phyllis Miranda

 

The Tycoon and the Texan is a lighthearted read due to release in early September.  This book is reminiscent of an Entangled read.  I really liked the short and to the point romance.

This book is like so many others that I have read where there is a rich unattainable guy and average down to earth girl mix it up with a cowboy type feel and you have a winner. I never get tired of there type of books.   
 
The cover is cute and the story is good, how can you go wrong?

Synopsis:

Seven Days to Texas

With a name like Nick Dartmouth, and the fortune it comes with, it's hard not to have a reputation for getting everything you want. So when his former secretary steps onto his foundation's charity auction block, Nick has the perfect opportunity to woo the stunning beauty from Texas. But aggressive counterbids force him to make an extreme proposition. Except money itself doesn't guarantee a blissful ride off into the sunset, especially when being won goes against the willful nature of McCall Johnson. Intent on showing Nick they come from two very different--and incompatible--worlds, she's surprised by how well he can handle a horse. For a girl from Texas, that speaks volumes about a man's value. Maybe there's more to this playboy than she expected. . .

Stella & Dane

Stella & Dane: A Honky Tonk Romance by Deanna Roy

 

I am on the fence with this book.  I really wanted to like this book but it’s a hard review.  It is a progressive book that takes place over years; to be honest I got bored reading it.  I can sum this book up in a paragraph.  It wasn’t that it was a bad book, just not my style.  I was expecting more or a pivotal moment so I kept reading and reading and reading.  That moment didn’t come.  I also didn’t like that Dane was with Darlene and then decided he wanted Stella and they both knew.  I also didn’t like the fact that Dane went to prison for killing someone and Stella waited 12 years for him.  The things that I really didn’t like was Dane was hot, but a jack ass and not in the hot alpha male kind of way.  Dane went to prison that is a total turn off.  Stella was unemotional with her grandmother’s illness; almost like it was swept under the rug.  The things that I did like were the plot was unique and the writing style was not bad.  The couple fall in love over a few week period and Stella waits years for Dane; this is endearing but not enough for me.  I was mostly thinking what the heck was that at the end of this one.

Synopsis:

Stella is one step from leaving her honky tonk town when bad-boy Dane roars down Main Street on his prized Harley-Davidson. Their dangerous romance keeps the locals talking, but when Dane is arrested after a deadly bar fight, the couple discovers their love runs deeper than their reputations.

Fans of “Baby Dust” will enjoy reading the backstory of their favorite characters in an edgy romance that moves from Stella’s small town bordering the Ozarks to the famous Missouri State Penitentiary, proving that the best kind of love is the one that endures.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Real, Raw & Ripped series by Katy Evans

Real by Katy Evans
 
5 Stars

Real is the fantastic first book in the Real, Raw and Ripped series by Katy Evans.  This great opener for this series has set the bar for the rest of the series.  And if the rest of the series is anything like this book I have got to read all the books, novellas, and short stories that Ms. Evans puts out. 

I love hot men.  I love hot men in books.  I love hot men in books who fight. Hello…my all time favorite book crush is Travis Maddox, but OMG Remy has just given him a run for his money!  I absolutely fell in love with all the characters in this book.  The leading characters in this book are broken and fighting for everything in their lives and I could not get enough. 

The love this couple has for each other can move mountains and the readers can pick up on this so easily.  The supporting characters are funny, witty, and are just great characters.  This story was beautifully written and full of dramatic, sincere, and heartbreakingly intense scenes. 

I know my review is a little bipolar, but what can I say my inspiration was Remington Tate.   

Synopsis:

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

Sea of Tranquility

Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millary

5 Stars

I absolutely loved this book.  The author, the writing style, the plot, the characters, and most importantly the emotions that this book evoked are the embodiment of a classic. 

Sea of Tranquility is the first book I have read by this author, but I am a fan based off this book.  This story was like a power ballad; it’s a slow beautiful buildup, burning your soul and creating intense and powerful emotions.  And when it ends you feel this avalanche of feelings, fall in love, hit repeat, and never forget it.  This was what Sea of Tranquility was to me.

The fantastic characters had me at the first chapter.  I loved the idea of a broken unlovable heroine and the hero who looses everyone he has ever loved.  The chemistry was sweet and their efforts to save each other were heartfelt. 

I loved every single word of this 5 star book.

Synopsis:

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Former piano prodigy Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone learning about her past and to make the boy who took everything from her—her identity, her spirit, her will to live—pay.

Josh Bennett’s story is no secret: every person he loves has been taken from his life until, at seventeen years old, there is no one left. Now all he wants is be left alone and people allow it because when your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, the mysterious new girl at school who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. But the more he gets to know her, the more of an enigma she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he will ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding—or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a rich, intense, and brilliantly imagined story about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

Superlovin' Series by Vivi Andrews

Superbad and Superhot by Vivi Andrews


2 1/2 Stars
 
This series was just not for me.  I love superheros and villians, but I was thrown off by these books.  I read them and they were just ok.  I read several review saying how great they were, so maybe I was jsut expeting more.  I just didn't get it.  The characters were somewhat unbelievable and some situations were unrealistic even for superheros.  These books were just not my cup of tea.  Great idea, poor delivery.
 
Super Bad
Synopsis:
Ever since her supervillain father experimented on her as a child, Mirabelle “Mirage” Wroth has been able to project unbreakable illusions into the minds of those around her. But when a run-in with an evil Mind Bender snaps a delicate thread in her psyche, she loses control of her gift and can no longer tell where reality ends and illusion begins. Only sanctimonious superhero Captain Justice is immune to her gift and can help her find the truth again—if Mirage can trust another man to define her reality.

Justice is sick of saving damsels in distress–he just wants someone to look beyond the cape to see him— but he can’t turn away from the hauntingly vulnerable Mirage. Suddenly Justice is helping her hide from the police, willing to be downright villainous to be her hero. But as they work to save Mirage from herself, other forces are circling to threaten them both. Tangled in illusions and mind games, can love be real?
 
Super Hot
Synopsis:
He’s on fire for her… literally.

Superhero research scientist Dr. Eric Eisenmann always secretly wanted to be super himself, until he was abducted, experimented on, and woke up pyrokinetic—the least stable of all the super abilities. Suddenly he’s lighting everything around him on fire whenever his emotions get the better of him and desperate to turn his super powers off. Unfortunately, Eisenmann’s only hope for a cure lies with a woman who wants nothing to do with him—and fires up the very emotions he needs to keep in check.

As the only non-super daughter in a superhero dynasty, Tandy Nightwing has been poked and prodded for years in an attempt to find the cause behind her defect. Now that she’s finally found a way to be happy with her normalcy, the last thing she wants is to subject herself to another super scientist’s tests—but she can no more resist Eisenmann’s plea for help than she can resist the good doctor himself.

Deep in his underground lab, Eisenmann tries to maintain rigid control of his feelings, but Tandy is his personal kryptonite, constantly testing his restraint. Powerless or not, she just might be the one woman brave enough to stand close to his fire—provided they both survive when their experiments unleash a passion that burns hotter than sin.(

Feature and Follow #7




If you could only have ONE – one book – for the rest of your life. Don’t cheat…what would it be?

Interview With The Vampire




Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Stalking Sapphire

Staking Sapphire by Mia Thompson



Stalking Sapphire is a mystery thriller with a Clueless feel.  At the beginning the pages were being turned and I was all over this book.  The who done it feel really held my interest.  Toward the end I felt like the relationship between Sapphire and Ashton was rush and there was no distinct feelings or maybe I just couldn’t connect with them.  The twist and turns were great and I really didn’t see the ending coming so that was a plus.  I think if the author can write a more romantic connection making the reader as wrapped up in the characters as they are the plot that this story-line could be endless. 

Synopsis:

Despite the illusion Sapphire Dubois presents to the rest of the world, she is not just your stereotypical 22-year old Beverly Hills heiress; she hunts serial killers. While her fellow heirs spend their nights with trending celebs and drugs at the hottest club, Sapphire secretly spends hers luring, capturing, and anonymously handing over So-Cal’s most wanted killers to the police — just your average Tuesday night.

What Sapphire doesn’t know is that one of her adversaries is watching her every move, aware of both her true identity and her unconventional hobby. Needless to say, he doesn’t approve. Used to being the one who redefines the definition of predator and prey, Sapphire’s world abruptly shatters when a gruesome ‘gift’ arrives for her at the Beverly Hills Country Club. With her involuntary crush, handsome Detective Aston Ridder, close on her tail, Sapphire now has to rethink her routine strategy and figure out how to capture a killer who already knows she’s coming.

Ten Tiny Breaths Series by KA Tucker

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

 4 Stars
Ten Tiny Breaths is the first book in the self titled new series by K.A. Tucker.  Everywhere I have looked lately, from blogs and Amazon to BAM, I have seen this cover and read rave reviews.  I thought it was time for me to read and review this book.

I get what all the hype is about, but to me this book was a 4 star book.  This is a good book and I am giving it a good review, but with all the hype and build up I kind of feel let down.  I was expecting this great gut-wrenching tear-jerker with an unbelievable wow factor and it was just good.

I liked the plot and as I was reading and reading and reading it sounded like every other NA out there, but about 80% in it took a turn for the better and I ended up loving it.  It took a lot of character and plot building and a lot of page turns to get there.  I was interested in the characters and did not skim or jump pages so it did keep my interest although I felt something lacking until ¾ of the way through.

I fell in love with the characters immediately and was sympathetically vested in all of the characters.  I loved the supporting characters and felt they kept the story moving toward the better.  The plot was something unique and unexpectedly heart breaking at the same time ALMOST moving me to tears, but not quite. 

All in all, there was too much hype leaving me a little disappointed.  I really was expecting a 5 star book.  I am happy to give this remarkable book 4 SOLID stars.  It could have been a more emotional and moving for me.  The ending (last few chapters and epilogue) felt the slightest bit rushed.  I would have like to seen a great reunion that brought me to tears.  Regardless, I will continue this series because I absolutely love these characters.

Synopsis:

Kacey Cleary’s whole life imploded four years ago in a drunk-driving accident. Now she’s working hard to bury the pieces left behind—all but one. Her little sister, Livie. Kacey can swallow the constant disapproval from her born-again aunt Darla over her self-destructive lifestyle; she can stop herself from going kick-boxer crazy on Uncle Raymond when he loses the girls’ college funds at a blackjack table. She just needs to keep it together until Livie is no longer a minor, and then they can get the hell out of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

But when Uncle Raymond slides into bed next to Livie one night, Kacey decides it’s time to run. Armed with two bus tickets and dreams of living near the coast, Kacey and Livie start their new lives in a Miami apartment complex, complete with a grumpy landlord, a pervert upstairs, and a neighbor with a stage name perfectly matched to her chosen “profession.” But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle all of them. What she can’t handle is Trent Emerson in apartment 1D.

Kacey doesn’t want to feel. She doesn’t. It’s safer that way. For everyone. But sexy Trent finds a way into her numb heart, reigniting her ability to love again. She starts to believe that maybe she can leave the past where it belongs and start over. Maybe she’s not beyond repair.

But Kacey isn’t the only one who’s broken. Seemingly perfect Trent has an unforgiveable past of his own; one that, when discovered, will shatter Kacey’s newly constructed life and send her back into suffocating darkness.

Monday, August 26, 2013

Hopeless Series by Colleen Hoover

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
  


5 Stars
Colleen Hoover has done it again with her latest novel, Hopeless. The characters are really brought to life in this gut-wrenching experience. Every new revelation in this book will leave readers wanting more. This heartbreaking tear jerker will hook reading audiences from the very first page. Prepare to hold on to your heart as you dive into Hopeless.

Sky Davis is a seventeen-year-old, sheltered home schooled girl, who starts public school with quite the reputation. Her resilient personality, though, shines as she enters through the door and into the catty teen gossip scene. There, she meets Dean Holder, with quite a reputation of his own. From the moment they meet, he feels an uncanny need to protect her and she feels drawn to him, as well. Soon they will both find out why. (CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; Jan. 2013; pp 486; $12.99)

Reviewed by: Rebecca Prater

Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

5 Stars

Losing Hope is the companion book to Hopeless and is the second installment in the Hopeless series.  This book is set in the POV of Dean Holder.

The readers get so much more of his story, heartache, and loss over not only his sister, Leslie, but of losing Hope all those years ago.  This emotional rollercoaster is as gut wrenching as the first not only rehashing Hopeless but adding a whole new light to Dean Holder’s character.  The compassion, love, and fear sets off this wave of emotion that only Colleen Hoover can bring to life in her writing and readers have grown to love. 

This book and author are definitely one-of-a-kind, the story is outstanding, and the characters are to die for.  Colleen Hoover never disappoints.  I fell on love with Dean Holder all over again.  And yes, Ms. Hoover you can always bring a tough girl to tears and you have done it again with Losing Hope.  Thank you for the ARC!

Synopsis:

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs

 

 

 

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Interview and Giveaway with Shana Norris

Author Interview and Giveaway with Shana Norris
 

  1. Did you always envision yourself as an author/writer? I've wanted to be a writer since I was eleven years old. Before that, I wanted to be a ballerina/rock star/archaeologist. Then I figured out I could become a writer and be all of those things in my books.
  2.  
  3. Do you have a “day job”? I used to, until January of this year. I worked as a web designer for a newspaper company for twelve years. But I now work full-time as a writer, though I still do some graphic design work on the side.
  1. How old were you when you wrote your first book? I wrote my first book at age eight! It was a picture book called The Lonely Rectangle. After that, I started writing books similar to Sweet Valley Twins and the Baby-Sitters Club, before I started writing various things in different genres.
  1. What are your top 5 favorite books? The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien. Franny and Zooey by JD Salinger. Emily Climbs by LM Montgomery. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot.
  1. Name a few of your favorite authors. Meg Cabot, Sarah Dessen, Katie Klein, Elizabeth Haydon.
  1. What are some of your favorite songs? I'm a really big fan of music from the 60s, 70s, and 80s. “Dancing Days” by Led Zeppelin is one of my absolute favorites. And then I'm pretty big on Lynyrd Skynyrd's “Tuesday's Gone” and most anything from 80s-era Bon Jovi. For some newer things, “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri is currently on repeat on my iPod.
  1. I am a fan of your work and I am in my early 30's. Do you consider the older YA readers when you write? You really can hold our interest too! I do think about the older YA readers when I'm working on a new book! I'm in my early 30s too, and so I like to write things that I would like to read myself. If I'm feeling a bit bored by something I'm writing, then I think of what I could change or add in that would make me or other older readers interested again. I'm also willing to take more risks now in my writing as I get older because I know there are a lot of other YA readers my age who are looking for books that hold their interest!
Shana has given BS Book Reviewers a copy of The Rules of You & Me for a giveaway please enter to rafflecopter to win.  


  http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/387ee92/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Feature and Follow #6

Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers -- but you have to know -- the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools -- keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is our Feature. Each week we will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is our Feature today? Find out below. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow our Features and you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post. A lot of blogs are transitioning to Wordpress in which they do not have the luxury of GFC, so an RSS subscription is appreciated or if you choose an email subscription. If you don't have GFC please state in your post how you would like to be followed.




Q: Book selfie! Take a pic with your current read.





OK, so I know it's not a selfie and I am obsessed with Abbi Glines.  But I am actually reading Twisted Perfection.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Parrish Mail Series by Kira Snyder

Dead Letter Office by Kira Snyder
Parish Mail #1

 

 3 Stars
Dead Letter Office is the first installment of Parrish Mail by Kira Snyder.  This is a Coliloquy interactive read.  I love Coliloquy.  I got hooked on these pick your story books with the Georgetown Academy series.  I like that you get to choose the pace of the story and who you get to follow.  It really makes the book fly by.  So, when I say this book on Netgalley I had to read it. 

The book had a gothic, mysterious vibe about it.  Being set in New Orleans with the ghost and history the setting was just right for any paranormal lover.  With Ms. Snyder’s descriptive story telling style it was as if you were right there in the story with these characters. 

This YA with paranormal aspects paired with a great plot will sure to be the favorite of many readers. The graphic setting gives readers just enough of the eerie creepy factor to keep the pages turning. 

Synopsis:

When Celia’s father is killed in Afghanistan, she moves with her mother to New Orleans, the city where her father grew up. Struggling to adjust and haunted by troubling dreams, Celia finds comfort in new friends like Tilly, a practicing witch, and Donovan, the son of police detective. On Halloween, bizarre supernatural occurrences rock the city. Celia meets the mysterious Luc and finds a letter, over a hundred years old, addressed to her.

The paranormal repercussions continue when Celia learns that Luc is the restless spirit of a young man murdered in 1854, only able to assume solid form at night. And then, to her shock, Celia finds that the letter, which describes the suspected murder of a man in 1870, contains uncanny parallels to the present-day death of Abel Sims, a homeless veteran.

With help from Luc, Tilly, and Donovan, Celia races to solve the murder—and the mystery of the letter—using both magical and forensic clues.

This is an Active Fiction title
"Active fiction" is a new type of e-reading experience that allows the reader and the author to interact with each other and the text in new and different ways.

Kira has written Parish Mail like a TV series–there are over-arching mystery and romantic story arcs that extend between the episodes, while each episode has a smaller case that is presented and solved. Along the way, she asks you, the reader, to make several small decisions as you read. These choices do not impact the overarching storyline, but certain combinations “unlock” clues to the series’ mystery, which are embedded in the text. Kira also asks you to cast a vote at the end of the episode, to get additional feedback from her fans about their preferred love interests in future episodes.


Post Mortem by Kira Synder
Parrish Mail #2

 
3 Stars

The second addition of the Parrish Mail series, Post Mortem, gives readers another great paranormal read.  With a hint of romance, lots of who done it, and a few ghost to boot readers will dive right into this series head first.

In Post Mortem, we follow the same cast of characters from Dead Letter Office.  These quirky characters we love from the previous book are at it again.  Chasing ghost, mysterious men, and new friends make this plot as exciting as the first.  Tilley is still casting spell and making charms, Celia is still seeing ghost, and Donovan and Luc seem to be holding their place in the group. 

I thought this book was better than the first.  With all the twists and turns there was never a dull moment.  I would recommend this book to anyone who likes YA suspense and mystery.

Synopsis:

Autumn in New Orleans means Homecoming, romance—and murder. When a friend vanishes, Celia believes a desperate letter about an unsolved Civil War-era murder holds the key to unraveling the mystery.

As she searches for answers, Celia enlists the help of quirky witch Tilly, and either all-American boy Donovan or, enigmatic Luc–you get to choose.

As the gang follows the missing girl’s trail, danger turns up on all fronts. A vicious stranger threatens Celia’s family. Celia’s nightmares–about a shadowy, ominous villain–get worse. And a new ghost has appeared: beautiful Angelica, who shares a past with Luc.

It will take all of Celia’s will and wit, and the faith of her friends, to solve an unspeakable crime. And no matter which path Celia takes, she will discover that sometimes the past can come back to haunt you.

What’s Cool from Coliloquy:
Throughout the Parish Mail series, readers decide which clues to follow to help Celia unravel each mystery. You’ll even get to cast a vote for your favorite love interest. But remember: Choose carefully, or else the killer might just get away.

Phoning It In

Phoning It In by Anne Wentworth
 

This story was long and boring despite its simple concept.  The idea was ok, the delivery was ok, and the book was just ok. 

Melinda character tended to get under my skin with all her insecurities.  This got to be a little too much, borderline annoying.  Benoit should have not wasted his time with her.

I would also like to see less monologue, it tended to run on a bit.  Overall it was a ok book.    

Synopsis:

Melinda can summarize her life in a few words: dead-end job, nonexistent love life, and a contentious relationship with her older sister—not exactly the rosy picture she had of life at 25.

When Benoit enters the picture, she falls hard. Gorgeous, funny, and smart, he’s everything she’s ever wanted in a man and more, but she can’t fathom that he could possibly want a plus-sized girl like her.

Tired of going through the motions, Melinda tries to find the courage to pursue her dream career, but working for a publishing company would mean moving away from everyone and everything she knows and loves. Is she content to remain in her comfortable rut, or is it time to strike out on her own and seize her chance at getting what she’s always wanted?

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Georgetown Academy Series

Georgetown Academy: Book One
by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Embree Schwartz
Georgetown Academy book one is the start of a new series written about the sons and daughters of politicians and other political influences in Washington D.C.  I am always hesitant reading books written by more than one person.  They usually do not turn out well in my opinion.  I was on the fence with this one.

I think that starting out a new book and introducing multiple characters (I use the term multiple loosely because there so many characters that it is very hard to keep up with) is a sure fire way to loose readers and I found myself lost in this book.  Also halfway through this book you are asked to choose a character to follow.  I think that idea is odd and I did not like it at all.

The character I followed was kind of boring and I did not like the plot line that was made for her, but I assume that the review could go multiple ways depending on who you chose to follow. 

I found the way this book was written was quite confusing for a reader, but could also see it as a TV series and I would watch it.  I saw several reviews on Goodreads and thought the ratings were so high that I expected so much more from this book, but it was a big let down.  I am going to continue this series in hopes of it getting better, but if I do not see any progress in this series I will absolutely put it down.

Here I come book two I hope you do not let me down, because I really had high hopes for this series.  I give book one a 2 star review for the synopsis because it is promising and I am hoping book two is redemption for this series.

Synopsis

It’s the beginning of a new political administration. That might not mean much at most high schools, but at Georgetown Academy, Washington D.C.’s most elite prep school, January 20th means new alliances, new flings, and new places to party.
While freshmen—nicknamed “interns” for their willingness to jump into bed with anyone higher on the D.C. totem pole—navigate the not-so-friendly halls of GA searching for Algebra and Bio classes, the school’s lifers have other things on their minds.
For self-proclaimed D.C. royalty Brinley Madison (of those Madisons), the first day of school is all about establishing the social hierarchy and playing the part of perfect political wife to her boyfriend, the outgoing Vice President’s son. Too bad he has a wandering eye that puts Bill Clinton’s to shame. Can she keep him, and her own secret vice, in check?
Ellie Walker, Brinley’s best friend, floats through the halls on the arm of golden boy Hunter McKnight (the JFK of GA). But when her ex-boyfriend, Gabe, returns to town and her Senator mother’s political nemesis is reelected, Ellie’s life starts to snowball out of control.
Shy, quiet Evan Hartnett is more into books than beer, and her closet is full of t-shirts and jeans instead of Jason Wu and Jimmy Choo. No one’s ever really noticed her—but she’s been noticing them. When her star rises as an intern at D.C.’s most-watched political news show, she soon finds the two worlds colliding in ways that make her question what’s secret and what’s fair game.
New girl Taryn Reyes is all laid-back, California cool; with a father who’s in line to be the first Hispanic president, she’s ready to dive into the D.C. scene with an open mind. But when her fellow students turn out to be more interested in spreading rumors than making friends, she realizes that forging a drama-free path might be a lot harder than she thinks.
With so many new friends and former flames in the mix, things are bound to get a little heated. And while diplomatic immunity might keep the cops away, there’s not much it can do about the press.
In a town where one teenage misstep can turn into a national scandal, the students at Georgetown Academy will have to be on their best behavior—or, at least, they’ll have to make the world believe that they are.
Because there’s only one rule: whatever you do, don’t get caught.
What’s Cool from Coliloquy:
As the Georgetown Academy girls get ready for Follow the Stars, authors Alyssa and Jessica let readers decide which of the main girls to follow. You’ll see scandalous behavior, unexpected liaisons, and secret betrayals...all giving you a different perspective as events unfold.
Georgetown Academy Book Two
by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Embree Schwartz





 Georgetown Academy Book Two is the second book in this teenage drama series.  I was not impressed with the first book but I stuck with this series and I am so glad that I did.  The second book redeemed this series for me. 
As I stated in the previous book’s review I think that the choosing the character to follow idea is a little weird, I think that this idea is growing me. This book follows the drama that the GA crowd and their parents are currently going through.  From the scandals and back-stabbing to loving and leaving the action is not only for the students in this book but the parents too.  I absolutely loved this book.
I followed Ellie in the first book so I changed it up a bit and followed Evan in this one.  I thought that she had an interesting story line, but I really like Ellie.  I can’t wait for the next installment in this new take on a YA book.  I give this book a 3 ½ star review and I am so glad that this book was better than the first.
Synopsis:
In the halls of Georgetown Academy, gossip and rumor abound. But when photographic proof shows up on the front page of The Huffington Post? Then it’s a national scandal.
While Ellie tries to put her life back together, Evan just might get everything she’s ever wanted—the perfect boyfriend and her dream career. But her loyalties will be put to the test when it turns out to be the very people she’s closest to who are standing in her way.
Brinley is determined to find out who is behind the photo leak, all while her own dirty secret spirals out of control. And California girl Taryn is sick of being walked all over and ready to start playing by the rules of D.C., for better or for worse.
In a world where reputation and appearances are everything, knowledge is power. But you’ll have to learn how to use it if you want to come out on top.
What’s Cool from Coliloquy:
As the Georgetown Academy girls get ready for Follow the Stars, authors Alyssa and Jessica let readers decide which of the main girls to follow. You’ll see scandalous behavior, unexpected liaisons, and secret betrayals...all giving you a different perspective as events unfold.


Georgetown Academy Book Three
by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Embree Schwartz



 The Georgetown Academy Series had quickly become one of my newest favorite YA series.  This series is like Pretty Little Liars meets Gossip Girl and I love every minute of it. Book Three in this exciting new series is not a disappointment and is a great addition to this series.  This book draws readers into this series leaving them vested and wanting more.
The Students of GA are at it again in this installment and are on a retreat in Vermont trying to leave the drama in D.C. fortunately for readers the drama and mayhem follow the teens.  All the girls have new love interest and the webs are woven even tighter in this mysterious back-stabbing chapter. 
This series has quickly grown on me in each book that I have read.  The writing style and interactive ebook which I despised in this first book is something that I actually look forward to now.  Seeing all the girl’s in their own little world and then all together is something that I now look forward to.  I am becoming a diehard fan.
Synopsis
The frosty chill that’s settled over Georgetown Academy isn’t just from the winter weather—growing up in the D.C. fishbowl isn’t for everyone, but a break from the Beltway might just restore some sanity.
Ellie Walker’s suffered through a lifetime of scandal in a few short weeks, and now must watch her true love fall for someone else. But will a dose of fresh New England air—and an irresistible newcomer who plays by his own rules—provide the change of pace she so desperately needs?
Riding high after her smashing D.C. debut, Taryn Reyes hatches a plan to cement her relationship with Gabe. But she may get more than she bargained for when she enlists Brooks’ help.
Evan Harnett would do anything to protect her friends. But one moment of weakness, and now she’s on the outs with both Hunter and Ellie. Hot on the trail of a new story, she’s heartbroken to find it leads straight back to Ellie. Can she save her friend and their friendship?
Brinley Madison’s Clinton-esque downfall was bad enough, but between family obligations, protecting her friends, and managing local gossip, will she be able to regain her social standing without losing her peace of mind?
Privileged kids in a posh hotel with nothing to do but scheme and ski—and they thought D.C. was a pressure cooker? One thing’s for sure: what happens in Vermont definitely won’t stay in Vermont.

 

Georgetown Academy Book 4
by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Embree Schwartz

 The gang is at it again in the fourth book in the Georgetown Academy series.  From the first book to the last I have quickly fallen in love with the teens of Georgetown Academy.  I am so glad I gave the second book a chance. 

Brinley, Ellie, Evan, and Taryn are wreaking havoc in D.C. as the vice president steps down and two of the girl’s parents go head-to-head in the race for the seat.   The drama never disappoints readers as the characters find themselves in sticky situations.  With mishaps from boys to statements taken out of context this installment is sure to have readers hooked on this series. 

At the end of the last book Brinley left Shane in the snow, Evan started dating Hunter, Ellie and Gabe were trying to DTR, and Taryn and Brooks we flirting it up.  See which couple will make it or break it in this exciting next chapter in the GA series.
 
What's cool about this book is its interactive, meaning you can choose which characters to follow in certain events.  In previous books I have followed one or maybe two characters in the follow feature.  I am so vested in this series, this time I followed all the girls and I'm sure I will from here on out.
 
I can see this series make into a teen drama on ABC Family for sure.  It's like Pretty Little Liar's with a D.C. twist.

Synopsis:

 
When the vice president resigns and Ellie and Taryn’s parents emerge as the frontrunners, the girls find themselves back in the spotlight.

Ellie could not care less about becoming the Second Daughter, but she knows how much the opportunity to make history means to her mother – and women everywhere. With her family taking center stage, Ellie must decide whether she can put her feelings for Gabe on hold - again.

Taryn, so used to captivating the hearts and minds of everyone she meets, is unbothered by the increased media scrutiny. But an inopportune screw-up has her beholden to an unlikely – and unfriendly – source for help.

Overnight, Evan has skyrocketed from social pariah to Miss Popular. As she and her reluctant parents adjust to her new lifestyle, the last thing she needs is a front-page scandal.

Brinley can’t stop thinking about her Stowe-bound hook-up…until her father’s intern, Patrick, starts flirting. Is it time to abandon her fling now that she has a more appropriate suitor?

With the second highest office in the land up for grabs, everyone is picking sides. But where does the heart lie when duty, truth, and love collide
?
 
Gerogetown Academy Season One
 
You can now purchase your favorite D.C. girls in a bundle.  The Georgetown Academy books 1-4 are now available in a Season One package.  This series is a mash up of Pretty Little Liars meets Gossip Girl with a powerful D.C. twist.  Get your copy today!

A Terrible Love Series by Marata Eros


A Terrible Love by Marata Eros
A Terrible Love #1


4 Stars
A Terrible Love is the first book in the self titled series by Marata Eros (a pseudonym for Tamara Rose Blodgett)

As soon as I started this book, I fell in love with the characters, plot, and author.  That does not ever happen to me.  I often found myself thinking “How does this girl have so many hot guys in her life?”  At times it was almost unbelievable, and I seemed as the author was trying a little too hard.  This was not the case, for you skeptical readers like me that want believable plots; just stick with this book it all works itself out.

I really liked that the heroine, Jess aka Jewel, is a strong, independent woman who is not scared to face her fears.  She has been through the ringer and is flawed to perfection.  The heron Devin “Cas” Castile is a smoking hot, sex-on-a-stick, alpha male that gives the reader more questions than answers through most of this book.  His mysterious quality makes him all the more attractive.  He oozes sex, leather, and lust on his motorcycle that had be panting and fanning myself most of the book.

The plot is original for the brand new NA genre making it stand out from the rest of the books.  This series is sure to quickly become a fan favorite.

I went into the last few chapters feeling that this was a 5 star book, but the last part of the book felt rushed to me.  I liked that the book to a twist, but the transition was quite awkward.  Don’t get me wrong I still like this book, but would have liked the ending to flow better. 

I am glad that the author took the time to write loveable characters, a great plot, and sexy as hell males making this book a must read for any NA reader.  I also hope that the key characters get their own book.  I am especially looking forward to see a HEA for Brad and Brock! 

I have A Brutal Tenderness, the second book in this series, loaded and ready to go.

 

*UPDATE*

A Brutal Tenderness is a companion book to A Terrible Love.  It makes me love this book so much more and makes this series one on my all time favorites.  It also makes up for the rushed ending tying up all the loose ends.  This series is a 5 stars series without a doubt.

Synopsis:

Jess Mackey is living a meticulously fabricated lie of necessity. She's left the secret tragedy of her past behind along with who she was and is forging ahead with a clean slate. But Jess soon discovers that passion can't be left behind—neither her own, nor that of the one man who sees who she really is…and whose unexpected presence may breach the peaceful life Jess has painstakingly created for herself.

Devin Castile didn’t expect to meet a young woman who may be the missing puzzle piece to his existence…and who is also the victim of a heinous crime. Devin convinces himself that he can remain emotionally distant even while indulging his physical desire for her. But when Jess’s lies begin to crumble in the face of their undeniable attraction and the truth is revealed, one of them might pay with their life.




A Brutal Tenderness by Marata Eros
A Terrible Love #2 

4 ½ Stars
A Brutal Tenderness is a companion book to A Terrible Love.  I absolutely love this book.  It explained all the loose ends in book 1 and also added depth to the first book.  This book revealed all the mysterious situations and gave much needed insight into characters and pivotal plot changes in A Terrible Love. 

The POV is from Blaine/Devin “Cas” Steel.  It makes his character more sexy, loveable, and hot.  It also gives the reader details into the other agent’s lives, which I loved.  This gives the audience that extra spark that will draw them into this series. 

I absolutely love this series and can not wait for more from this series.  I want all of the characters to get a book.  I especially love Decatur, Luke, and Carlie.  I am giving this book a 4 ½ star review.  I liked it so much more than the first book, giving us more to the story.  This is a 5 star series. 

Synopsis:
 

There are two sides to every story. In this dark and sexy companion novel to the New York Times bestseller A Terrible Love, experience the sizzling passion and pulse-pounding suspense through FBI agent Cas Steele’s eyes as he hunts down a psychopath...and falls for the killer’s prey.

Cas has been charged with an unsavory task: manipulate the hauntingly beautiful Jewell MacLeod—a woman he has every reason to hate—and slowly gain her trust in order to use her as bait to lure in a killer. But as the killer draws closer, Cas realizes that he can’t deny the scorching chemistry that ignites between him and Jewell, even if giving into his physical desire for her means jeopardizing his mission...and opening himself up to the possibility of a real and terrible love...

Feature and Follow #5





Q: Share something you’ve learned about book blogging or just blogging in general in the last month.

A. I learned that author's really do read your reviews. And they really take your opinions to heart.  I have met some really great authors just by having my blog and posting book reviews.  But what suprised me the most is I had the chance to meet Abbi Glines a weeks ago.  She is my favorite author.  When I asked her if I could post a picture of us on my blog, she asked which blog and had actually heard of my blog.  I was so impressed and in awe!  I love blogging and I wish I had more time to blog. 


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers -- but you have to know -- the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools -- keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is our Feature. Each week we will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is our Feature today? Find out below. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow our Features and you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post. A lot of blogs are transitioning to Wordpress in which they do not have the luxury of GFC, so an RSS subscription is appreciated or if you choose an email subscription. If you don't have GFC please state in your post how you would like to be followed.





Tuesday, August 13, 2013

The Bookstore

The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

1 ½ Stars

I love books and I love bookstores, so I thought I would love this book…not the case.  The book started out “I, Esme Garland, do not approve of mess.”  I’m sorry Esme, but this book your in is a mess; a hot mess at that. 

This book was all over the place.  I felt Esme was boring, na├»ve, and a little ditzy at times.  Mitchell was a pompous ass and Luke held the pitiful story together.  Nedless to say, I do not recommend this book.

Synopsis:

A witty, sharply observed debut novel about a young woman who finds unexpected salvation while working in a quirky used bookstore in Manhattan.Impressionable and idealistic, Esme Garland is a young British woman who finds herself studying art history in New York. She loves her apartment and is passionate about the city and her boyfriend; her future couldn’t look brighter. Until she finds out that she’s pregnant.

Esme’s boyfriend, Mitchell van Leuven, is old-money rich, handsome, successful, and irretrievably damaged. When he dumps Esme—just before she tries to tell him about the baby—she resolves to manage alone. She will keep the child and her scholarship, while finding a part-time job to make ends meet. But that is easier said than done, especially on a student visa.

The Owl is a shabby, second-hand bookstore on the Upper West Side, an all-day, all-night haven for a colorful crew of characters: handsome and taciturn guitar player Luke; Chester, who hyperventilates at the mention of Lolita; George, the owner, who lives on protein shakes and idealism; and a motley company of the timeless, the tactless, and the homeless. The Owl becomes a nexus of good in a difficult world for Esme—but will it be enough to sustain her? Even when Mitchell, repentant and charming, comes back on the scene?

A rousing celebration of books, of the shops where they are sold, and of the people who work, read, and live in them, The Bookstore is also a story about emotional discovery, the complex choices we all face, and the accidental inspirations that make a life worth the reading.

Sunday, August 11, 2013

2 Busy 4 Love

2 Busy 4 Love by Lucy Hepburn

  


2 Busy 4 Love is a light hearted, funny read about mix ups and mistakes in today’s technologically driven world.

 Who can survive without their devices and phones these days?  Not Christy Davies.  She leaves her phone in the subway and the hot businessman, Will, comes to her rescue by picking up her phone and trying to get it to her before the train leaves.  He is unsuccessful and pockets her phone.  Christy’s I Phone is her life.  She has all her business contacts, planner, and apparently her brain in the device.  After a series of calls including several to Will to get her schedule, her day falls apart in every hilarious way possible.

I enjoyed this charming, funny glimpse into Christy’s world.  The idea of this type of books is genius.  The idea, plot, and characters were golden.

Secrets of the Eternal Rose Series

Belladonna by Fiona Paul

 

Belladonna is the highly anticipated follow up to Venom in the Secrets of the Eternal Rose series.  I am new to the author and this series, but read rave reviews about Venom and this series.  So, when I saw Belladonna on Netgalley I requested it.  I guess I should have read the first book before reading this one to get the jest of the plot.  I felt like I was missing something important and the back-story.  I went ahead and read this book regardless.


 This book was hard to get into.  The back-story and information was not there.  It was like starting a mini-series on the second night.  The setting was descriptively delicious and put me right in this historical book from the beginning.  The plot was thrilling with a gothic twist; and the hint of a love triangle was an added bonus.  I will have to go back and read book one.
My one complaint is the cover change.  It went form outstanding –I would buy this book just for the cover- to cheap I would have to read the blub and it would have to be a good one to buy it.  I would definitely rethink the cover change.  I will let you be the judge.