Saturday, November 30, 2013

Otherkin


Othermoon by Nina Berry

 

Let me start off by saying, I have not read the first book, Otherkin, in this series, but I could follow right along with the story line and plot.  Berry put a lot of thought into her characters and bringing their individual personalities to life.  This book was a surprising delightful read.

 

Synopsis from Goodreads

 

Everyone has secrets. I had no idea mine would lead me into shadow. Dez has found the place where she belongs. With the otherkin. With Caleb. Or so she thought. As the barriers between our world and Othersphere fall, a wall rises between Dez and Caleb, leaving her fiercest enemy her only friend.

And maybe something more.

Now Dez must make a devastating choice: keep the love of her life, or save the otherkin from annihilation.

Othersphere by Nina Berry
Otherkin #3

 
In this third addition Berry has opened the gates of love and loyality in this final installment of the Otherkin series.  This book is recommended to any YA shifter book lover.

Synopsis:

Dez thought she knew who her mother was, who she was. Thought she had friends, a boy who loved her, and a school where she finally fit in.

But across the veil linking our world and the next lurks a monster which can annihilate. . .or liberate her. Now she must confront it there with help from one boy who loves her and one who can't stand the sight of her.

Dez thought she understood her tiger form, her deepest self. But in this treacherous place, she'll have to choose between the two halves of her soul--and determine which world survives.

Othersphere is the third and final installment in Nina Berry's acclaimed young adult Otherkin series, which blends romance, fantasy, and action in a powerful story of friendship and self-acceptance.

 

Friday, November 29, 2013

Lakeview Novels by Stacey R. Campbell

Hush by Stacey R. Campbell

A Lakeview Novel # 1

hush

Hush is the first book in the Lakeview Novels by Stacey R. Campbell. 

This first installment held my attention and had me locked in to this book.  It felt like The Princess Diaries meets Gossip Girls so if you are a fan of these books then pick up this new series.

I liked the characters both primary and secondary.  I love a book that has a good supporting cast of characters.  A series has a better feel with a good cast.  I can also see this book being made into a series on TV.  This was a cute, sweet, YA book that has mystery and romance.

I highly suggest this book.

Of coarse, I liked Blakely and Max, but I also loved North.

Synopsis:

For small-town girl Blakely Henry, any hope of finding her biological parents died when she stopped believing in fairy tales and Disney princesses. That is, until she spots her boarding school’s new British exchange student, Max Ryder, staring at her. Why would a boy who looks like he stepped out of the pages of a magazine be looking at her? Because Max knows something Blakely doesn’t.
Following the tragic demise of one of Europe’s most beloved royal families, Max has stumbled upon information he thinks may lead to a lost royal heir, and now he is on a quest halfway around the world to see if he’s right.
Sworn to secrecy by his university professor and the headmaster of Lakeview Academy, Max is admitted into an exchange program with the sole purpose of finding out the truth. But will his personal feelings for Blakely get in the way?
When a stolen email surfaces, Blakely and her friends’ lives are threatened, and Max starts to question what he is really after.
From the exclusive rolling lawns of Canada’s most prestigious boarding school to the University of Saint Andrews’ hallowed grounds, Blakely’s quiet, unassuming life is turned upside down. Is she really who she thinks she is? Can she survive long enough to help Max unearth the truth?

Grounded by You

 

Grounded By You by Ivy Sinclair

Grounded

Grounded by You is the follow up book to Where My Heart Breaks by Ivy Sinclair.  I have to read the first book, but have it on my Kindle and will be starting it shortly. 

I absolutely loved this book.  The romance between the characters and the circumstances these two overcome is breathtaking.  And the ending…ooooh I loved it.  Grounded By You captivated me from the get go and held me the entire time.

Synopsis:

Carter Samuel Groveson.
His name is on the lips of every woman in the country who has a pulse. An actor plucked from obscurity to star in the most anticipated movie of the century, he’s an enigma to all. Everyone wants a piece of him.
Except her.
Amelia St. John isn’t about to follow the life plan that her father set out for her. She refuses to be tied down or commit to anyone. A year ago, she ran as far and as fast from Sam Groveson as she could. But when he reappears in her life and asks her to be the friend he needs to keep him tethered to reality in the midst of the chaos, she can’t say no.
Unfortunately for Sam, his big break comes with expectations that threaten his career if he doesn’t toe the line. In this high stakes game of love, everyone is watching.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Start-Up Series by Sadie Hayes

sc

The Social Code By Sadie Hayes

The Start-Up # 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

nbtThe Next Big Thing by Sadie Hayes

The Start-Up # 2

 

 

 

 

 

The Social Code is the first installment in The Start-Up series by Sadie Hayes with the follow up The Next Big Thing becoming the second addition to this series.

This series had me from the first chapter until the last sentence.  I loved the idea of the book.  The plot was geeky sheek with a little genius mixed in and I loved every minute of it.

I could easily see this book as a TV series with all the different plots and sub plot lines it’s like Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars with a techy feel.  I think that MTV actually did a reality show on a brother/sister team that was doing a start up, but I can’t remember the name of the show.

Anyhow, the characters were not only interesting you seem to be rooting for them the entire book.  The secondary character had just as much drama as the main characters an this made the book feel real.  I loved how  by the end of this book that the character were all linked in some fashion.

This series will quickly have you on the edge of your seat wanting to slap most of the characters at one point or another and loving them all at the same time. It has been forever since I have been so emotionally caught up in a series like this.

For sure this series is the start to something special.  I can’t wait for the next back-stabbing, drama filled installment.

 

Synopsis for The Social Code:

Eighteen-year-old twins Adam and Amelia Dory learned the hard way to rely only on each other, growing up in a small town where they understood the meaning of coming from nothing. But everything changes when both are offered scholarships to Stanford University – and catapulted into the dazzling world of Silicon Valley, where anyone with a good enough idea can skyrocket to fame and fortune in the blink of an eye…
Amelia is almost as pretty as she is smart – almost. A shy girl and genius, she is happiest alone in the computer lab, but her brother has other plans for her talents: A new company that will be the next Silicon Valley hit, and will thrust Amelia into the spotlight whether she likes it or not. Where Amelia’s the brains, Adam’s the ambition – he sees the privileged lifestyle of the Silicon Valley kids and wants a piece of what they have. He especially wants a piece of Lisa Bristol, the stunning daughter of one of the Valley’s biggest tycoons.
As Adam and Amelia begin to hatch their new company, they find themselves going from nothing to the verge of everything seemingly overnight. But no amount of prestige can prepare them for the envy, backstabbing and cool calculation of their new powerful peers.
Welcome to Silicon Valley, where fortune, success – and betrayal – are only a breath away...
Previously published as The Start-Up.

 

Synopsis The Next Big Thing:

The second page-turning installment in the Start-Up series, following twin college students Amelia and Adam as they attempt to make it in the competetive world of Silicon Valley.
Amelia and Adam’s new company, Doreye, may have won over Silicon Valley, but the trouble is far from over. After facing down skepticism, a meddler from their past and a saboteur who makes their app malfunction right when it matters most, drama suddenly seems to be brewing within the ranks. While Adam has money signs in his eyes and enough charm to win over the investors, Amelia decides she wants to give away their app for free, leading to discord and a separation of responsibilities—and power.
As if that weren’t hard enough on their relationship, Adam and Amelia are both keeping secrets from each other, the kinds of secrets that could change everything if revealed. As they grow farther apart, others grow closer together. Patty finds a new boyfriend—and a fascinating new job—to distract her from Chad; Adam becomes involved with an older woman who seems to be as interested in Doreye as he is; and TJ starts to notice that Amelia is more than just a computer nerd with the tensions running high, Adam makes a decision that topples Amelia’s carefully constructed life and sets off a chain of events that could threaten the future of Doreye. Can Amelia find a way to save their company before it’s too late?
Previously published as The Anti-Social Network.

The Boy from the Woods

The Boy from the Woods By Jen Minkman

boy

This emotionally gut wrenching book that has a whimsical feel.  It is obviously a book that is not set in the US or written by an American author.  This did not affect the book in any way.  Nevertheless, this book is one of the most compelling reads I have read in a while. 

When I first finished this book (I didn’t write my review right away because I was not sure how I felt about the book) I thought that the book had some weird scenarios like Michael seemed to be pushing himself on Julia and every corner she turns he is there.

After I thought on it a few days, I seemed to like the book even more.  I just chalked the unusual behavior to different cultures. 

I am not going to recap this book because I usually give away spoilers.  But with a unique plot and unusual character this book is sure to be a breakout book.

Synopsis:

Julia fell down on her knees next to his lifeless body, her heart filling with dread as she noticed the left side of his face was covered in blood. He had fallen off the motorbike, hitting his temple on a sharp-edged rock. His head injury looked really, really bad.
“Michael?” she whispered softly, putting a trembling hand on his forehead. “Can you hear me?”
Julia has been in love with Michael for years. He’s the hottest guy in school, and she can’t believe her luck when they finally hit it off during Senior Prom. Her dream doesn’t last, though: after a few dates, he callously dumps her out of the blue. Summer vacation starts with Julia feeling heart-broken and miserable.
But then she rescues Michael in the woods when he has a motorcycle accident in a heavy thunderstorm. From that point onward, her life is turned upside down. Michael has changed completely after the blow to the head that nearly killed him... and he wants her back. But why is he so different? And will she be able to trust him this time around?
Can the boy who broke your heart ever win it back again..?

Chronicles from the Applecross Series by Rebekah Turner

Chaos Born by Rebekah Turner

Chronicles of the Applecross # 1

CB1

Chaos Born is the first installment in the Chronicles from the Applecross Series by Rebekah Turner.

This first book is a lot to take in.  I love the paranormal/fantasy  genre and had high hopes for this book.  Unfortunately my hopes plummeted with this book.  I did like the plot and the idea for this series.  I also liked the story line.

Where I had the problem was this intricate world that Ms. Turner has woven.  There is too many characters and sub characters, realms and supernatural character for me to completely dive into this one.

Trying to keep up with all the species was more work than it was enjoyable.

I will try the second book in this series to make sure I have a good grasp on the author.  I never give a mediocre review and stop reading that author.  I am always willing to give a writer a second shot.

Synopsis:

Lora Blackgoat, smuggler and mercenary, has been lying low after a job gone bad made her a laughing stock in the industry. When a childhood friend turns to her for help, Lora leaps to restore her reputation and starts hunting a killer who is stalking the gas-lit streets.
She never expects that her path will lead her to the Order of Guides, a sadistic militant religious organisation - or to Roman, a deadly and dangerously attractive half-angel warrior who also hunts the killer.
When Lora discovers that the killer has broken fundamental laws of magic to enter the city, she also uncovers a conspiracy that leads back into her own dark past.

 Chaos Bound by Rebekah Turner

Chronicles from the Applecross # 2

CB2

Chaos Bound is the second installment in the Chronicles from the Applecross series by Rebekah Turner.

Aside from the first book in this series, the series has taken a turn for the better.  I guess it just took me to understand this world that Ms. Turner has created, but now that I am getting used to the writing style and supernatural characters I dove right into this book.

The plot is unique and the characters are fierce.  This  series is one to look out for!

Also, I really like the cover on this book.

Synopsis:

Lora Blackgoat — mercenary and smuggler — has only just recovered from the last threat on her life and hasn’t even begun to sort out the mess of having both a nephilim warrior and a reborn hellspawn as potential lovers. Work should be a refuge, but a job finding missing persons puts her in the crosshairs of a violent gang and a merchant with a taste for blood sport.
Reluctantly, Lora turns to the two men in her life for help. Roman — the nephilim — professes to be her soul mate and turns to her when he feels the darkness of nephilim madness descending. But though Lora is drawn to Roman, it is Seth, ex-lover and reborn hellspawn, who Lora must ultimately ask to protect those she loves. Can she trust Seth to save Roman and her adoptive family, or will this be a fatal mistake?

Monday, November 25, 2013

Be the First to Fall with Courtney Cole


 


 


Summary:
One dark moment was all it took to turn twenty-four-year-old Dominic Kinkaide's world black. On the night of his high school graduation, a single incident changed him forever, and he became a hardened man-famous in the eyes of the world, but tortured inside. Now all he cares about is losing himself in the roles that he plays.

At twenty-three years old, Jacey Vincent doesn't realize how much her father's indifference has affected her. She is proof that sometimes it isn't one specific moment that wrecks a person, but an absence of moments. She tries to find acceptance in the arms of men to fill the void-a plan that has worked just fine for her, until she meets Dominic. When jaded Dominic and strong-willed Jacey are thrown together, the combination of his secrets and her issues turns their attraction into the perfect storm. It could change their lives for good-if it doesn't tear them both apart…




Bio:
Courtney Cole is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives near Lake Michigan with her family. She's always working on her next project... or staring dreamily out her office window. To learn more about her, please visit courtneycolewrites.com



a Rafflecopter giveaway

  Prizes include a "Night Out with Dominic Kincaide" gift pack full of naughty and nice items reminiscent of Cole's hot new hero!

Buy Links:
http://amzn.to/1cIjaig
http://bit.ly/1bJf2gd
http://bit.ly/1aDVVrh
http://bit.ly/1jtbFhO

Social Media Links:
http://courtneycolewrites.com/
http://on.fb.me/I9iRo0
@Court_Writes<https://twitter.com/Court_Writes>
http://bit.ly/1bYxR2x (Goodreads)

Friday, November 22, 2013

Starbound by Amie Kaufman


These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman
Starbound # 1
 
 


OK don't hate, but I did not finish this book. I like the book, the concept was original and very likable. The characters were well written, but the pacing of this book was off. I felt the first few chapters were good. I didn't realize the setting started off in space at first.


Then it started to slow down. If I had to guess this book is like a journey with a slow build up, but at this time I wanted something faster paced. I will eventually pick this book back up and update my review.


Thank you to Disney for giving me a review copy of this book.


Synopsis:


It's a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they're worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other's arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won't be the same people who landed on it

Everything You Need to Know


Everything You Need to Know by HelenKay Dimon
 

 
Cute concept = check
HOT alpha male = check
Ambitious female = check
So this book has all the right qualities and a great plot. I really enjoyed the characters, banter, and website in this book. I am a new reader to Ms. Dimon, but can say that I liked this book enough to read her again.

I love a female character that can bring an alpha male to his knees and this book did it for me!


Synopsis:
Welcome to Need to Know—Because a Woman Can't Be Too Informed
Dating in D.C. is like navigating an apocalyptic wasteland populated by men in expensive suits with zero mating potential. Need to Know provides all the information a savvy single woman like you needs to avoid dating disasters.
By night, Jordan McAdam is the proprietor of a popular website that rates D.C.'s hottest bachelors—everything from how quick they are email you back to their skills in the sack. She's been burned once too often to accept any man at face value. By day, her job as an office temp puts her in the perfect position to do a little fact checking on her rich and powerful subjects. When her latest assignment brings her face to face with the sexy but mysterious Forest Redder, Jordan decides to do a little "hands on" research of her own. To Jordan, he seems like the perfect man – but she knows there is no such thing. Moreover, there's a big problem: Forest knows Jordan's the woman behind the scandalous site—and Jordan knows he knows. Will he expose her secret—or find his own posted on Need to Know?

London Undead Series by P.J. Schnyder


Sing for the Dead by P.J. Schnyder
London Undead # 2

 
In the second installment of the London Dead series entitled Sing for the Undead, we follow the characters Kayden and Sorcha.
The book started off in the middle of a zombie attack and the action packed book kept up the pace until the end. With a romantic twist this book had all the elements that I love.
However, I have not read the first book in the series and sometimes that hurts the read with the back-story. In this case I felt like the author could have given readers more insight into her paranormal world and a little more on the zombies, magic, and characters that engulf her story.
All in all, this was a good read.
Synopsis:
Book Two of London Undead

Kayden, a lone were-leopard allied with the London werewolf pack to keep the zombie infestation in check, is used to working solo—until he discovers a beautiful fae woman surrounded by the aftermath of battle. He's immediately drawn to Sorcha, but quickly discovers she's much more than a pretty face.

Half Bean Sidhe and half berserker, Sorcha trained over centuries to become the perfect warrior. She agrees to work with local weres to investigate a new type of zombie capable of coordinated attacks—and is partnered with Kayden. He's strong, darkly handsome and completely unafraid of her. And his kiss fills her with insatiable desire instead of bloodlust.

As Kayden and Sorcha work together, their attraction grows and their deepest scars are bared to each other. But with the force behind the deadly new zombies poised to overwhelm the city, Sorcha can only pray that the next time her bloodlust strikes, Kayden isn't among the fallen…

Fine Young Gentlemen


Fine Young Gentlemen by C.W. Slater


OK, let me start of by saying I loved animal house and I am not even from that generation. I am also a chick that has a sailor mouth and raunchy sense of humor, but this book was out of my league.


I read the blurb and thought to myself that I would like this book and find it humorous. WRONG! This book was beyond vulgar. I am scared to think that boys actually think like this. The subject content is alarming.


I had a hard time relating to the character and the plot which was not much to it. I had high hopes for this book, but unfortunately it fell flat on many levels.


Synopsis:
*CONTENT WARNING: coarse language, sexuality, graphic violence including murder, mature themes. Not for children*

Go inside the heads of three raunchy, impulsive sixteen-year-old boys at the elite Percy College School—where status-hungry moms blackmail students, and self-absorbed administrators will do anything to protect the school's reputation. Craig is the popular golden boy struggling to hide a terrible secret. Jacob is an emerging psychopath plotting to eliminate his rivals. Sex-obsessed Matt is desperate to lose his virginity. Dark satirical fun that dares to show what teenage boys really think. The first book of the upcoming series Fine Young Gentlemen.

Please note the content warning. This is not a Young Adult romance.

 

Stargazer Series by Jennifer Echols


Playing Dirty by Jennifer Echols
 Stargazer # 2
 
Playing Dirty is the second installment in Jennifer Echols' Stargazing series. This is one of my favorite authors and I love her Southern books!

Let me start off by saying that I live in Alabama and not too far from this books setting. Ms. Echols nailed Birmingham from the street names to the Vulcan's ass! This is the closest "big" city to us and in high school we used to take field trips to the Galleria shopping mall that is mentioned in this book. So the nostalgia in this book makes me love this book. Call it bias if you wish but I immediately fell in love with this one!

OK now to the nitty gritty, the characters in this book were authentic Southern characters from the crashing the party to the problem they have going on. So needless to say, these characters were flawed and likeable and just plain real.
 
I did feel like at times that the plot drug a little which is weird for me because I am a HUGE fan of Jennifer Echols, have read numerous books written by her and this has never happened before. But the pace quickly picked up and the story was good.

I am hoping this series continues and maybe more band member can get their HEA.
I didn't get a chance to read book one in this series, but this was a great stand-alone read. I will definitely go back and read book one.

Synopsis:
A public relations expert tries to prevent the breakup of a raucous country band and corral their wild—and very sexy—lead singer in book 2 of the Stargazer Series.

As an expert in public relations crisis management—that is, babysitter to the stars—Sarah Seville just spent nine months in Rio trying to keep rock singer Nine Lives out of jail long enough to record his new album…and barely succeeded. Now she needs a triumphant success so she can keep the Manhattan-based job she loves. Trouble is, her new assignment is to travel to Alabama to prevent the breakup of the raucous country band The Cheatin' Hearts, headed by sexy Quentin Cox. As she edges closer to Quentin, she discovers layers of secrets. It seems Quentin is taking the spin doctor for a spin.

The Cheatin' Hearts have stayed on top of the charts two years following three rules. Rule One, no drugs. Rule Two, no sex with other band members. Rule Three, no sex with record company spies. Quentin figures he'd better follow the rules, because he made them. And because if you break a rule, you're out of the band. But he can't resist the record company's beautiful PR agent, and inevitably he breaks Rule Three with hot Sarah Seville. As he falls for her, he finds out that she has plenty of secrets of her own, and one of them comes knocking on her door: what really happened to her in Rio.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

The Guardians Blog Tour

The Guardians
MORE # 2




Summary of The Guardians:

Ava’s life is . . . complicated.
After all, it’s not every day a girl learns she’s not entirely human, or unlocks hidden powers strong enough to make even the First Race sit up and take notice. After surviving an attempted kidnapping and standing up to the Race’s Ruling Council, Ava Michaels returns to college and what she hopes is a normal life. But Ava quickly realizes that for her, normal may not even exist anymore.
In fact, the Council wants her under their control, and they’re not the only ones. The mysterious Rogues have a plan of their own, and it turns out Ava’s a big part of it, whether she wants to be or not.
On top of that, her new relationship is tested in ways she never expected. Her boyfriend, Caleb Foster, has disappeared—accused of betraying the Race—and Ava herself stands implicated in a crime she didn’t commit.
Clearing their names will mean uncovering a web of deceit and intrigue with Ava woven right in the center. To unravel the strands, she joins forces with some unlikely allies; a Protector who once haunted her nightmares, a young girl with secrets as unexpected as Ava’s, and a group of rebel Guardians who have their own fight against the Council.
Together they stand in a battle to find the truth, bring Caleb home, and secure Ava’s freedom—not to mention save her life.








Author Bio:

T.M. Franklin started out her career writing non-fiction in a television newsroom. Graduating with a B.A. in Communications specializing in broadcast journalism and production, she worked for nine years as a major market television news producer, and garnered two regional Emmy Awards, before she resigned to be a full-time mom and part-time freelance writer. After writing and unsuccessfully querying a novel that she now admits, “is not that great,” she decided to follow the advice of one of the agents who turned her down—write some more and get better at it. Her first published novel, MORE, was born during National Novel Writing month, a challenge to write a novel in thirty days.

She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Mike, is mom to two boys, Justin and Ryan, and has an enormous black dog named Rocky who’s always lying nearby while she’s writing. Whether he’s soothed by the clicking of the computer keys or just waiting for someone to rub his belly is up for debate.

In addition to MORE and The Guardians, Franklin penned the Amazon best-selling short story, Window, as well as another short story, A Piece of Cake, which appears in the Romantic Interludes anthology.

Connect with T.M. Franklin

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads



Rafflecopter Giveaway - a Rafflecopter giveaway



 Buying links: TWCS - http://ph.thewriterscoffeeshop.com/books/detail/105



Monday, November 18, 2013

Back-Up Cover Reveal


Back-Up Cover Reveal
A_M__Madden_Ebook
Synopsis:
Leila Marino’s biggest dream is to become a rock star. A lucky opportunity has her auditioning with an up & coming rock band named Devil’s Lair. The band hires Leila as their back-up singer, signing her up for months in the studio and touring on the road with the sexy bunch.
Jack is the quintessential rock star…gorgeous…sexy…a walking orgasm. Jack Lair is the lead singer of Devil’s Lair and his dreams are becoming reality as his band climbs the ladder of success. He’s living the perfect life, and enjoying every minute of it. With a steady stream of sexual conquests that satisfies his raging libido, he thinks he has all he needs in life…until Leila enters it.
Jack is not prepared for the sudden pull he feels towards Leila, and struggles daily to deny his attraction is anything more. Leila finds falling for her new boss is constant torment. Both convince themselves friendship is their only option.
An intimate moment causes their willpower to collapse, and their erotic love affair to begin. Finding love was a bonus that neither Jack nor Leila anticipated. As they begin their tour together professionally and personally, life couldn’t be any better for the couple. Until a mistake from Jack’s past threatens their new relationship, and their perfect future together.   Back-up%20teaser%201   BIO:
A.M. Madden's debut novel Back-up is the first in a series of three. Book two, Front & Center and book three, Encore are both scheduled for release in early 2014.
A.M. Madden is a wife, a mother, an avid reader of romance novels and now an author. In Back-up she aspired to create a fun, sexy, realistic romantic story. She wanted to create characters that the reader could relate to and feel as if they knew personally.
A self proclaimed hopeless romantic, she loves getting lost in a good book. She uses every free moment of her time to write, while working a full time job as well as raising teenage boys. Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7203641.A_M_Madden
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/AM-Madden/584346794950765
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ammadden1
Website: http://www.ammadden.com
Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/Back-up-Series-ebook/dp/B00EK4LGCS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1380936530&sr=1-1&keywords=back-up
Smashwords:https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/340583
Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Back-up-by-AM-Madden?keyword=Back-up+by+AM+Madden&store=nookstore





Sunday, November 17, 2013

Crescent City Fae by Deanna Chase

Influential Magic
Crescent City Fae # 1
im
Influential Magic is the first book in the Crescent City Fae by Deanna Chase.  The opening of this fast paced paranormal series had me turning the pages.
The supernatural creatures in this series are great.  I love the world Ms. Chase has created.  The action packed plot has me interested until the end.
I can’t wait for the next installment.
Synopsis:
It’s tough being a faery in New Orleans, a city fraught with vampires… especially when their very existence drains your life-force.
Willow Rhoswen, owner of The Fated Cupcake and part-time vampire hunter for the Void is having a rough week. Four years after her twin brother’s mysterious death, Willow’s life is threatened and the director saddles her with a new partner—her ex-boyfriend, David. To her horror, he’s turned vamp, which causes her physical pain whenever she touches him… and any other specimen of the undead.
In order to save Willow’s life, David agrees to turn double agent against the most powerful vampire organization in New Orleans. Or so he says. And she’s convinced they know something about her brother’s death. Unsure where David’s loyalties lie, she turns to Talisen, her childhood crush, to help her solve the mystery.
Caught between two gorgeous men and a director who’ll stop at nothing to control Willow’s gifts, she’ll have to follow her instincts and learn who to trust. Otherwise, she risks losing more than just her life.

Irresistible Magic by Deanna Chase
Crescent City Fae # 2
Series. young blond woman posing on wall background
Irresistible Magic is the second installment in the Crescent City Fae series by Deanna Chase. 
I’m so glad I read this book right after the first.  I don’t thing I could have waited long to read it.  I liked the action in this series and the plots never let you down. 
I also wanted to know what happens on this highly anticipated date with Talisen.  I am also a fan of David!
I am such a fan of this mysterious paranormal series.
 
Synopsis:
 
Finding the perfect dress can be hell… especially when a stranger tries to gun you down in broad daylight.

Void agent and magical baker extraordinaire, Willow Rhoswen has been anticipating her first date with Talisen Kavanagh since she was sixteen. After eight years of waiting, there are only two things that can stand in her way—an assassination attempt and a new game-changing drug.

Talisen’s invented a new elixir that creates superhumans, ones that can rival vampire strength, and everyone wants it. Including the vampires. With Willow’s life on the line, he makes a deal with the devil, while she’s forced to accept the always-strings-attached protection from the most notorious vampire organization in New Orleans.

But when Talisen and his drug go missing, Willow will stop at nothing to find him, even if it means working with her vampire-ex, David. With souped-up humans, dangerous vampires, and more questions than answers, Willow has less than twenty-four hours to find him before everything changes forever.
 

A Werewolf BBW Shifter Romance by Aubrey Rose

Perfect Mate by Aubrey Rose

Werewolf BBW Shifter Romance #2

pm

Perfect Mate is the second book in the Werewolf BBW Shifter Romance by Aubrey Rose.  It says it is a stand alone but the stand alone quality is poor.  I would highly suggest to read the first in this series first, Blind Wolf. 

Starting out, I would have liked more back story on Julia and Damien for this to be a stand alone.  I was lost until about half way through.  It was not a bad read and once I caught on the pages seems to fly. 

On another note, I love this cover!

Synopsis:

The standalone romance novella which follows the #1 Bestselling Shifter Romance Blind Wolf!
Julia always thought that she was human. When the blind leader of a pack of straggling misfits claims her as his one true mate, she accepts that she is in love with Damien despite their radical differences.
But after another shifter wolf attacks them, he points to her as he dies and utters words that will change Julia's life forever:
"...she's not what you think she is..."
From New York Times Bestselling author Aubrey Rose comes a thrilling sequel to the #1 Bestselling Shifter Romance Blind Wolf that's equal parts romance and suspense. This werewolf shifter BBW romance novella is 24,000 words long, has some naughty language, and a lot of naughty sex. Be warned!

Random by Lark O’Neal

Random by Lark O’Neal

Random #1

random

Random is the first book in a new series by Lark O’Neal.  I really liked this one and it has a great title and cover! 

This book opens with a random situation that brings the main characters together and sets the pace for the book.  This book kept me interested the whole way through.  The pages flew by with a lot of romance and random situations, a few secrets, and some what ifs?  This book has it all. 

With this series opener, how could you not want to follow this series?  I can’t wait for book 2.

 

Synopsis:

Life is random…
19-year-old Jess Donovan knows better than most that life is random. Her mom is dead, and she’s on her own, patching together a living as a waitress when a car crashes through the restaurant where she works. In two seconds, she loses her job, watches her best friend hauled away in an ambulance…and meets Tyler Smith, one of the hottest, most fascinating—and mysterious guys she’s ever met.
Both for the good and the bad…
Within days, Jess is swept up into the mesmerizing force that is Tyler. Their every touch sizzles, every kiss dissolves them both, and the sex is…fierce. But there’s more to Tyler than his hypnotic eyes. He’s adrift, too, and his body—and his soul—are covered with scars. How can she find herself with a guy who is lost himself?
Until you take charge….
Jess is determined to find her way, and make a life that is better than the one she was given. But how?

Dear Rockstar by Emme Rollins

Lucky Girl by Emme Rollins

Dear Rockstar #2

lucky girl

Lucky Girl is the sequel to Dear Rockstar in the Dear Rockstar series by Emme Rollins.  Who doesn’t love a rock star?  I do! And I loved this book.

I didn’t realize this book was set in the 90’s until the playlist at the wedding reception.  The throw back music brought back a lot of memories.  I guess I would have realized this if I would have read this first book in this series.  Not reading the first book had not influence in this book, which in my eyes makes this a great stand alone book.  

The plot and characters were good and kept be interested until the end.  Oh, and I loved the twist at the end.

 

Synopsis:

~~DEAR ROCKSTAR SEQUEL~~
Who knew loving a real rock star could be so hard?
Sara is Dale Diamond's biggest fan--and one of his biggest secrets. Catapulted to fame, Dale and his band, Black Diamond, are learning to deal with the grueling realities of the music business... including frenzied groupies. Dale's agent, determined to preserve the musician's image as a sexy single man, won't let fans know he has a girlfriend.
All Dale wants is to make music and love Sara. But he's caught up in the demands of recording and touring, while Sara has graduated art school and found a job. She and her rocker boyfriend are starting down different paths. Sara knows she's the luckiest girl in the world to have Dale in her life--but luck is about to run out.
A lurking, dark past will come back to haunt them both, forcing two young lovers to face harsh realities about life and each other. When the weight of the world is on their shoulders, will Dale and Sara be able to hold it all together for the sake of their love?

Cake

Cake By Lauren Dane

cake

This smoking hot novella about artist and chemistry was a fast, fun, flirty read.

The characters were right for this spot on plot.  That makes for a great book.  And who doesn’t love a man who can speak a foreign language?

Synopsis:

She won’t be satisfied with just one bite...
Art student-slash-bike messenger Wren Davis pursues what she wants. And what she wants now is Gregori Ivanov, rock star of the Seattle art scene. With his tattoos, piercings and sensual sneer, Gregori is the ultimate bad boy. Wren’s gotten to know the man beneath the body art, too—and it only makes her crave him more.
But Gregori loves women like he loves cake and champagne—intensely, but only for the moment. And after Wren experiences just how scorching sex with Gregori is, she’s determined to show him that just one taste won’t be enough...

While You’re Away by Jessa Holbrook

While You’re Away by Jessa Holbrook
While You’re Away # 1
away
The self titled new series While You’re Away by Jessa Holbrook was a good introduction to this series.  These characters seem interesting enough for this short novella.
I liked the fact that Sarah, the female lead, is in a band, has a boyfriend and is hooking up with Will.  I like a girl who explores her options.  I also like that Will is a player who seems to really like Sarah.  My only complaint is that it ended abruptly.
All in all, a good quick read.
Synopsis:
Once a cheater, always a cheater?
From the moment Will and Sarah first set eyes upon each other, they know that what they have is special.
There's just one little problem . . . each of them already has a significant other.
After flirting with danger, it becomes clear their passion is too strong to be denied. But even if they make their relationship official, there are plenty of challenges in store. Will leaves for college at the end of the summer, while Sarah faces her senior year of high school in their small suburban town. Long-distance relationships always come with their fair share of troubles—mismatched schedules, jealousy, and temptation are only the beginning.
Can cheaters ever change?
WHILE YOU'RE AWAY is a steamy story about a love triangle, a long-distance relationship, and learning the true meaning of commitment.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Feature and Follow # 13


Feature and Follow # 13
FF
Q: Are there any book to movie adaptations where you think the movie is better than the book?

A:  For sure City of Bones.  I also like the Walking Dead even thought they are based on the comics there is something about seeing the walkers on screen that gets my blood pumping.  I also really liked True Blood based on the Sookie Shackhouse series by Charliane Harris even though they do not follow the books by any means but I love they way the show has turned out.
FF GFC-300x180

The Devil’s Reprise


The Devil's Reprise by Karina Halle
Devils #2

The Devil's Reprise is the second installment in the Devils series y Karina Halle. This author is new to me, but I love the rock star genre so I thought why not.
I was able to follow the plot well for not reading the first in this series. I did feel like I missed some of the romance aspect that happened in the first book, but that was not a distraction. The only thing that didn't appeal to me was that it was set in the 70's. I am a fan of classic rock and 70's music, but that was before I was born so I would have liked to seen it set in this era. But with good writing style and an interesting plot this was not a hindrance either.
I loved the characters and the journey they were on. I also liked Sage's character. Not only is this a rock star name, but his character was a hard core rocker and lived it up. I liked the vulnerable side to Sage too and that he took Dawn on his tour even thought he was not on his best behavior for her.
Dawn's character kind of threw me for a loop, but in the end I ended up liking her as well.

Synopsis:
Given a second chance, music journalist Dawn Emerson and guitarist Sage Knightly are reunited, only to have their lives threatened again by a demonic bargain. The sequel to THE DEVIL'S METAL, from USA Today bestselling author Karina Halle.

When Dawn Emerson got the chance to go on tour with her favorite metal band, Hybrid, she thought she landed the writing gig of the century. But what started off as a dream for the budding music journalist quickly turned into a nightmare that she and guitarist Sage Knightly barely escaped alive.

Now, months after they went their separate ways, Sage invites Dawn to accompany him on his first solo tour across Europe and write about it for Creem Magazine. But like the last tour, nothing is as easy as it seems. Sage is a broken man on the path to self-destruction and Dawn isn't sure if she's the right person to save him. And aside from having to pick up the pieces of their burgeoning relationship, they have to negotiate the mysterious new photographer assigned to Dawn's story, as well as vindictive promoters and demonic groupies they thought they'd never see again.

Because this time, it's Dawn who made a deal with the devil and the only thing worse than having to uphold a bargain with the prince of darkness is not remembering how you're supposed to pay it back.

It may be with their souls.

THE DEVIL'S REPRISE is the sequel to THE DEVIL'S METAL and the final book in this series.

 

Sunday, November 10, 2013

Jessica McClain Series by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Jessica McClain #1

1

Full Blooded is the first book in the Jessica McClain series by Amanda Carlson.  This series opener blew me away.  As a paranormal lover, this book was right up my alley.  It has action, adventure, and a hint of romance. 

I love the paranormal world that Ms. Carlson has created with Jessica McClain and her crew of misfits.  I love the adventures that the sups find themselves in.  I really liked this series starter and can’t wait to see where the series goes form here.

This is the best paranormal series I have read since Nikki & Michael by Keri Author and a great addition to any paranormal lovers “must read” list.

In the first installment of Jessica McClain, we meet Jessica who is the only female born into a werewolf pack.  Her father is the alpha and her brother, Tyler, is on track to take over the pack one day.  Then something unusual happens; Jessica shifts into a werewolf.  Trying to keep her secret under raps, while having the local detective on her tail is not easy.  Not to mention a high profile assassin who wants to meet her, this chick has a lot on her plate.

 

Hot Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Jessica McClain #2

2

The second installment of the Jessica McClain series entitled Hot Blooded pick up right where Full Blooded left off.  After fighting off the wolves, Jessica’s mate Rourke has been captured and Jessica is willing to do anything to get him back.

Jessica has yet again proven that she is a super freak and the sups of her world are out to get her.  Dealing with her father’s pack and going against her father’s wishes by making a pact with a vampire queen to help her find her mate, Jessica embarks on a mission to find Rourke.  With Tyler, Danny, and Ray (yes detective Ray) on her team and a few vamps to boot how could Jess go wrong right? 

The luck of this girl sucks.  The action and pace for this series is set so fast, if you blink you will miss something.  That is what I love about this series.

The strong female heroine and developed side characters make this series what it is.  I really like Ray, Danny and Tyler maybe they can all have a HEA. 

The only issue I had with this book was the fact that I waited quite patiently for Jessica and Rourke to hook up in book one.  That didn’t happen, so I thought for sure in book two the two would get down and dirty.  Sadly to say I am still waiting for the two to seal the deal.  Hopefully when they do the mating ritual it will be hot.

 

Cold Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Jessica McClain #3

3

Cold Blooded is the third installment in the Jessica McClain series by Amanda Carlson.  This series has quickly become one of my favorite series.  Right up there with Cat and Bones which happens to be one of my favorites.

Ok so far Jessica and her pack have faced wolves, a crazy Goddess and her followers, demons, and other sups but now she is up against a vampire queen and witches.  How does she get herself into these situations?  It seems like just when she return from one fight she is sucked into another. 

That is what I like about this series.  The action is not lacking.  The characters are great and the plot always thickens.  Each book is better than the last.  This series is a must read for me!

I really don’t know what else to say that I haven’t already covered in my previous review.  Just go buy this book and get hooked on this series as much as I am!

I am patiently waiting the next book in this series.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

All Fired Up Book Blitz

ALL FIRED UP BY KATE MEADER

 
 

 
ALL FIRED UP by Kate Meader (Forever E-Book; 9781455599622; November 5, 2013)
Her sweetest mistake . . .
Cool as a Chicago winter, private events planner Cara DeLuca is a model of self-control . . . until she meets the one temptation she can't resist: Shane Doyle. The sexy, Irish pastry chef is too hot, too sure, too young, and after a crazy night in Vegas-her new husband. While at first Cara wants nothing more than a way out of her sham marriage to Shane, she soon finds that beneath his farm boy demeanor lies a man who can match her drive, both in and out of the bedroom. How can the wrong guy feel so deliciously right?
. . . Tastes so, so good
Shane has carefully structured his career and life around one goal: connecting with the family that doesn't know he exists. Marrying a woman with more issues than a magazine stand wasn't part of the plan, but melting Cara's icy exterior is so worth the detour. Now as the annulment date nears and long-buried secrets are revealed, Shane will have to fight for the one thing guaranteeing the perfect life he craves . . . the current Mrs. Shane Doyle.
Buy Links for ALL FIRED UP:
Amazon<
http://www.amazon.com/All-Fired-Up-ebook/dp/B00AG0VOEU/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1379452929&sr=8-7&keywords=all+fired+up>
Barnes & Noble<
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-fired-up-kate-meader/1113785705?ean=9781455599622>
Bookish<
http://www.bookish.com/books/all-fired-up-kate-meader-9781455599622/fe1cb864-6d31-4c2d-bbac-4d899f2eafa5>
iTunes<
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/all-fired-up/id582086969?mt=11>

 

 
GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway
KATE’S TOP 5

Top 5 Reasons to Love Cara DeLuca

· She’s endured the pain of an eating disorder and come out the other side, stronger than ever

· Her loyalty and love for her family knows no bounds, though they don’t really get her

· She knows her faults and wants to change

· She’s not afraid of looking foolish (case in point: marrying a guy she just met in Vegas and letting him take her line dancing despite the fact she’s rhythm challenged!)

· Her heart was starving, now it’s full… and she wants that blarney-talking rogue, Shane!



 
About Kate Meader:
Kate Meader writes contemporary romance that serves up delicious food, sexy heroes, and heroines with a dash of sass. Originally from Ireland, she now makes her home in Chicago, a city made for food, romance, and laughter-and where she met her own sexy hero. When not writing about men who cook and the women who drool over them, she works in an academic library. Visit her website at
http://katemeader.com and follow her on Twitter @kittymeader
Social Media:
Facebook<
https://www.facebook.com/authorkatemeader>
Twitter<
https://twitter.com/KittyMeader>
Goodreads<
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6551743.Kate_Meader>
 
MORE IN THIS SERIES
FEEL THE HEAT by Kate Meader (Forever Mass Market; 9781455599592; January 28, 2014) **Also available in e-book
When famous British chef Jack Kilroy unexpectedly challengers her father to a cook-off in her family's Italian restaurant, Lili Deluca decides to seduce the tempting Brit. But after a video of them kissing goes viral, Lili fears she's cooked up a recipe for disaster. Jack knows they could be amazing together, but can he convince Lili to realize her own ambitions-and turn up the heat in his kitchen?
Buy Links for FEEL THE HEAT:
Amazon<
http://www.amazon.com/Feel-Heat-Hot-Kitchen-ebook/dp/B00B73T20S>
Barnes & Noble<
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/feel-the-heat-kate-meader/1113979896?ean=9781455575350>
Bookish<
http://www.bookish.com/books/feel-the-heat-kate-meader-9781455599592/65ebf6b6-2dec-44f9-b388-159f378b8cfa>
IndieBound<
http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781455599592>
iTunes<
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/feel-the-heat/id597501961?mt=11>




Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Wolf Sirens Series by Tina Smith

Forbidden: Discover the Legend by Tina Smith
Wolf Sirens # 1
Wolf
Forbidden: Discover the Legend is the first book in the Wolf Sirens series by Tina Smith.  The title explains this book the best; you discover the legend of the  wolves in a small town. 
This book gives great back ground and really pulls you into Ms. Smith’s paranormal world of her wolves.  This YA paranormal has mystery and romance to go along with the paranormal element.
I have to admit that this book started slow and introduced a lot of characters in the beginning, but the pave quickly picked up and the story developed nicely.
The characters were a little odd and quirky, but this made the mysterious quality better.  The main character, Lila, finds herself swept up in the world of wolves and wants to become a part of the pack. 
I can’t wait to see where the author takes this series!
Synopsis:
The Mystical Bond, the Fatal Allure ... of Hunter & Prey
Misunderstood seventeen year old Lila Crain unwillingly moves to the foreboding town of Shade, prepared to face her punishment - Shade High. But she can't begin to anticipate the life-altering events that lie in wait for her.
The dark and charismatic Reid has a wolfish grin and amber eyes that would make any girl blush and he has his sights set on the new girl in school.
Reid's stunning friends - including icy top dog Sam - invite Lila into their clique. Suspicious, yet flattered by their attention she answers the intriguing call like a moth to a flame.
Thrillingly introduced to the local nightlife by the enigmatic group, Lila finally feels like she belongs. But her newly found friendships threaten to turn sour when she unwittingly develops feelings for the leader's off-limits boyfriend, Sky.
Tensions rise further when a quirky local named Cresida warns Lila to stay away from the clique at all costs.
Undeterred, she is irresistibly drawn to uncover the truth behind their mysterious lifestyle.
Lila unwittingly starts off a chain of events that will forever alter fate for both hunter and hunted as she learns they have been waiting for her...
Inspired by the legend of the femme fatale goddess, Artemis, Wolf Sirens is a compelling gothic masterpiece of paranormal romance.
Forbidden, Fever, Night Fall and the soon to be released Dusk in Shade - all continue the tale of Lila Crain, the heroine with the chip on her shoulder, on an epic paranormal journey in which forbidden love threatens to destroy the underworld.


  
Fever by Tina Smith
Wolf Sirens # 2

 
Fever by Tina Smith is the second book in the Wolf Sirens series.  I really enjoyed the first book in this series, but this installment was lackluster and left me feeling confused.

At the end of book one I felt invested in this series and these characters.  I felt Lila’s pain and really fell in love with Sky.  I wish that the author would have taken this series in another direction.  I felt confused while I was reading this addition.  I wanted more resolve with Sky and this just left me feeling WTF.  And the whole legend added more confusion.

I was put off by the plot and felt bored most of the time.  The beginning and middle was so slow but I did start to enjoy myself at the half way mark.  It picked up toward the end but was still confusing.

All in all, I might continue with this series to see what happened to Sky and to see if I can get some answers.  I am really sitting on the fence with this one.   

Let me say that I really wanted to like this book because I enjoyed this first installment so much!

Synopsis:

Eternally Cursed to Love & Not Purely Desire…

Temperatures rise as the flames of longing still burn in the thrilling sequel to Wolf Sirens Forbidden. The legend continues. Apollo, god of deadly plague, conspires to undo his sister’s legacy. The wolves exist between two worlds, one in the town another in the forest.

Prophecy says hunters and wolves are cursed to a mutual attraction. Increasingly, each successive slayer becomes more alluring to the wolf. The predestined enemies struggle, to both resist and contain their fierce rivalry in a conflict powerful enough to tear two worlds apart.
A shadow has fallen over the heartlands of myth and reality. The chosen is reborn broken-hearted, in the scorching embers of grief. Devastated, Lila trains tirelessly as the assassin. She must submit to deliver justice and protect the innocent of Shade.

But is it love or revenge which motivates her?

Will the huntress or her heart prevail? Breaking away from the call of destiny and fearing betrayal, Lila makes a desperate escape in search of her lost beloved. The intensity between two ancient enemies ignites. The history of the wolf pack is revealed as devotion and desire in the underworld reaches fever pitch.

If The Bite Doesn't Get You, Then the Fever Will


Fever, the sequel to Forbidden further unfolds the tale of the heroine femme fatale, on her journey in the underworld between the lands of myth and reality.

The Grady Legacy by Leah Braemel

Slow Ride Home by Leah Braemel

The Grady Legacy # 1

srh

Slow Ride Home is the first installment in The Grady Legacy by Leah Breamel.  This series opener has it all.  From the hint of mystery to the almost erotic romance, this series is one to look out for.

I loved the idea of a second chance relationship, especially if one of the parties are pissed.  So this romance was right up my alley.  And who doesn’t love a cowboy.  The sex scenes are borderline erotic and I was quickly turning pages as I fanned myself. 

I especially loved that the side characters were well developed and interesting. I can’t wait to see who gets their HEA next.

This excellent start to The Grady Legacy has hooked me and is a great addition to any “cowboy romance” lovers device.

Synopsis:

Losing his father was hard enough, but now Ben Grady must face the fact that he and his brother may not be sole owners of their beloved ranch. To protect his family's legacy, he's forced to rely on the legal prowess of the woman who stars in his erotic fantasies: Allie O'Keefe. Ben's never forgotten the illicit encounter they shared fifteen years ago—or forgiven himself for letting her go.
Allie thought she'd moved beyond the scandal that cost her Ben in the past. But working so closely with the seductive rancher arouses the wild child within the cautious woman she's become. Though she tries to keep business and pleasure separate, Allie soon gives in to temptation, and discovers Ben's sensual skills surpass even her X-rated memories…
Allie has every intention of leaving Bull's Hollow forever after her investigation is complete. But there are a few complications. Not the least of which is that while saving the ranch, Allie's lost her heart.

Chance of Rain

Chance of Rain by Amber Lin

CR

This is the first book I have read from  Amber Lin, but after reading the blurb I had to read it. 

The cover caught my eye from the start.  Also being from a small town I love the vibe of a small town book.  And having the hero being a Navy SEAL who would not want to read this book?

This short sexy read will not disappoint.  The small town character were written to perfection and the idea of a second chance romance makes this book all the better. 

I give this book a solid 3 star rating.

Synopsis:

The only things Natalie Bouchard wants to change are the weekly specials in her Gram's diner. So when her high school sweetheart strolls back into Dearling, Texas, she allows herself to indulge in a little flirtation, but that's as far as it goes.
Navy SEAL Sawyer Nolan has returned to sell his father's land and get the hell out, no matter how enticing he still finds Natalie. Until a storm rolls over the Texas hills, stranding them together at the farm…and the memories of their steamy past lead to a reunion filled with hot days and long nights.
Soon Natalie's so far under Sawyer's skin he can't imagine being without her. But he has a lot of history in Dearling he'd like to leave behind, and Natalie is practically married to this town. If Sawyer wants to be more than just another person who leaves Natalie, he'll have to give his hometown—and himself—one more chance.

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Naked Werewolf Series by Molly Harper

How to Run Naked with a Werewolf By Molly Harper

Naked Werewolf # 3

naked weewolf

I don’t know how I have overlooked Molly Harper’s Naked Werewolf series, but somehow I have until now.  Ms. Harper is a new author for me and after this book I am a new fan!

How To Run Naked With A Werewolf is the third installment in Molly Harper’s Naked Werewolf series.

This installment of the Naked Werewolf series focuses on Anna and Caleb.   Caleb is a werewolf bounty hunter and Anna is on the run from an abusive husband. 

Anna has also been the resident werewolf doctor to Caleb’s pack unbeknownst to Caleb.  Caleb is also keeping his shifter status from Anna.

This book is so funny and the plot is great!  The werewolves in Ms. Harpers world are not only alpha males/females, but passionate and caring.

This book is not only paranormal romance but also has a  hint of suspense. 

I fell in love with this book and the wolves in Ms. Harper’s series.  I will have to go back and catch up on  this series.

This is series is a great addition to any wolf lover’s “to read” list.

Synopsis:

Caleb Graham is a werewolf by nature, a tracker by profession. He uses his “extra gifts” to find people, and not always in the most legal or ethical manner. He doesn’t care what they’ve done, or who wants them found, as long as his considerable fee is paid. He likes his life simple and uncomplicated.
Anna Moder, former physician to Caleb’s pack, happens across Caleb during a particularly violent “negotiation” that has left him bloodied and unconscious. She helps him, despite the fact that he’s cost her a car, so he insists that she stay with him on the road for a while. As they grow closer, Anna looks past the gruff exterior and and the questionable job to thoroughly decent werewolf underneath.
Anna – who is careful to edit her involvement with Caleb’s pack from their conversations – doesn’t talk about why a nice girl wants to live in the middle of frozen nowhere, but she’s obviously on the run from something. When Anna’s past collides with Caleb’s current assignment from one of his sleazier contacts, Caleb finally has to make a choice—protect his job…or his potential mate?

The Chrysalis Series by Elene Sallinger

Awakening by Elene Sallinger
The Chrysalis Series # 1

awakening
Awaking is the first installment in The Chrysalis Series by Eleme Sallinger.  This erotic series opener was a good start.  Not only was it erotic, but it had a story line and romance. 
The character’s banter was a great addition and the chemistry and sexual tension really made the book. 
I have only recently started reading erotica so I don’t have much to go on, but I really enjoyed this story. 
I will definitely be following this series.
Synopsis:
River Rock, Vermont, 2011. This is the story of Claire Ryan and Evan Lang. 35-year-old Claire joins a local book club for romance readers in order to get over the breakdown of her 10-year relationship, there she meets book shop owner Evan, a dominant man who has never recovered from the sudden death of his submissive wife. As their relationship develops and they embark on the path of Claire's submission, it becomes harder and harder for Evan to keep his emotional distance. Claire is open and responsive and he wants her badly, but refuses to let himself go. As Claire falls deeper in love with Evan, she realises that he is holding back and decides to end their relationship, forcing Evan to confront his own past and his feelings in order to save his new love.