Thursday, October 31, 2013

The Edge of Never Series by J.A. Redmerski


The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski
 
The Edge of Never # 1
 
Have you ever started reading a book and thought this will be epic? That is how this book started. From the first paragraph to the last sentence I was enthralled with this book. The characters were flawed to perfection. The plot was well thought out and the book was beautifully written.
This emotional roller coaster will have readers laughing and crying the entire book. The Edge of Never is a gut wrencher that readers will never forget. Written in both male and female POV greatly help readers understand the characters and takes the audience to new highs.
The coming of age journey is all about finding yourself and loosing yourself at the same time. I have not felt such a connection to characters in far too long. I loved every second of this book. I even cried. Yes me, the non-crier. I have not been this watery eyed since This Girl by Coleen Hoover.
I know I sound like a blubbering mess, but this book has my emotions on high alert, my heart on fire, my eyes filled with tears, and I loved every word! I greatly enjoyed The Edge of Never. Thank you, Ms. Redmerski for writing something so profound and heartbreakingly delicious. I can't wait for more. I am a fan for life!

Synopsis:
Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.

Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she's ever known, far behind.

With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.

But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she'd do. He shows her what it's really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew's dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?

Due to sexual content and language, this book is recommended for 17+ – Adult Contemporary Women's – New Adult Fiction




The Edge of Always by J.A. Redmerski

The Edge of Never #2
 
To be honest I liked this sequel, but didn't love it like I did the first book. Being the second installment in a series such as the The Edge of Never a follow up book is going to be hard. The profound first book in the series had my emotions on a roller coaster ride that I didn't want to end. It is hard to compete with a book so good.
Having said that, I did enjoy the continuation of Andrew and Camryn's story. I liked how the author took us back to the beginning of their saga several times and how the characters interacted with each other. I loved the heartbreaking situations that they faced and well as the strength they portrayed. I also loved their love. It was sweet, sad, and real.
I felt like the ending was a little rushed. This story would have gone a million different ways and I didn't see it ending the way it did. I thought that Ms. Redmerski would have ended it differently or at least given us fans more of this couple. But it is her work and not mine, so I read it and enjoyed it none-the-less.
Overall, this book was lacking something at the end but is a great addition to this series.

Synopsis:
He was taking the long road. She was taking the road to nowhere. It just so happened that they led to the same place…

When everything falls apart, love remains . . .

THE EDGE OF ALWAYS

Camryn Bennett has never been happier. Five months after meeting on a Greyhound bus, she and her soul mate Andrew Parrish are engaged—and a wedding isn't the only special event in their future. Nervous but excited, Camryn can't wait to begin the rest of her life with Andrew – a man she knows in her heart will love her always. They have so much to look forward to—until tragedy blindsides them.

Andrew doesn't understand how this could happen to them. He's trying to move on, and thought Camryn was doing the same. But when Andrew discovers Camryn is secretly harboring a mountain of pain and attempting to numb it in damaging ways, there is nothing he won't do to bring her back to life. Determined to prove that their love can survive anything, Andrew decides to take Camryn on a new journey filled with hope and passion. If only he can convince her to come along for the ride…



 

SIA



Sia by Josh Grayson

 
Sia by Josh Grayson is a great debut novel. The story captured my attention from the start. Yes, once you see where the story is going the book gets somewhat predictable. I think that the author did such a great job of grabbing me from the get go that this was not a problem for me. I liked to see Sia mature and turn around her former self. The story was about life's journey and was well written. This book also contained delicate subject matter and was addressed well.
Synopsis:
When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she's reunited with her family. At school, she's powerful and popular. At home, she's wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the "geek" she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she'll become the bully she was before…and if she'll lose Kyle.(

Saturday, October 26, 2013

Shelter Me

Shelter Me by Mina Bennett

 
I was really thrown for a loop with this book.  First off it should have been classed as NA religious not just NA.  Then the blurb really didn’t match the book. 

The idea was interesting, but the follow through was definitely a miss.  I felt this book drug on and on and on.  I stopped and started over and over.  Finally after a few good books I went back and powered through this one.  I can’t really give a non bias review because I didn’t like it.  I do commend the author for her effort.

I think that this book was supposed to be an epic coming of age story, but flopped.

On a brighter note, the cover is good.  But it does not fit this book.

Synopsis:

He's the only thing she has left to believe in...

Marissa was the first person to break Jacob's heart. When they were children, she made it very clear that she wanted nothing to do with him. She didn't mean to, but her mother had ordered her to stay away from her Sunday school crush: "He's a nice boy - don't you ruin him." So she kept her feelings hidden, telling herself that no matter how sweet he seemed, he'd still end up turning on her, like everyone else did.

Jacob never loved anyone like he loved Marissa. He knows he should try to forget about her, especially now that he's engaged and she's happily married - or so everyone says. Even though they've grown and gone their separate ways, in their tightly-knit community, that still means seeing each other at every Sunday service, church picnic and backyard barbecue. He swears that her eyes still have that sad, haunted look, but he manages to keep his distance.

Until one night, when everything changes.

With Jacob's relationship in shambles and Marissa pushed to the breaking point, they're drawn together by an unstoppable force. Temptation is irresistible. Giving in is unthinkable. But it soon becomes clear that nothing - neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation - can keep them apart.


The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Let me start off by saying Disney has been rocking the authors lately.  I know when you think Disney, you think cartoons but the books I have been reading lately have been great and The Naturals was just another added to the list. 

This YA/NA start to a new series has be wanted the next installment yesterday.  The fast paced, mystery with a hint of paranormal is like Criminal Minds meets Law and Order for the younger crowd.  With the twist and turns along the way, readers will be on the edge of their seats turning pages.  And with a hint of romance you get it all in this book.

I can’t wait to see where Ms. Barnes takes this series and characters in The Naturals.

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides— especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own.

Sarcastic, privileged Michael has a knack for reading emotions, which he uses to get inside Cassie’s head—and under her skin. Brooding Dean shares Cassie’s gift for profiling, but keeps her at arm’s length.

Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms closer than Cassie could ever have imagined. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

Olivia Twisted


Olivia Twisted by Vivi Barnes

 
 
Love a retelling?  Try Olivia Twisted.  This book was a cute, modern retelling of Oliver Twist.  This book has it all from romance and computer hacking to a darker side of the foster care system.  I really enjoyed this unique modern day interpretation to a classic tale.  And if you’re still not a fan of this book after you finish it, you will never look at your computer the same!  I really liked this one.

Synopsis:

Olivia

He tilts my chin up so my eyes meet his, his thumb brushing lightly across my lips. I close my eyes. I know Z is trouble. I know that being with him is going to get me into trouble. I don’t care.


At least at this moment, I don’t care.


Tossed from foster home to foster home, Olivia’s seen a lot in her sixteen years. She’s hardened, sure, though mostly just wants to fly under the radar until graduation. But her natural ability with computers catches the eye of Z, a mysterious guy at her new school. Soon, Z has brought Liv into his team of hacker elite—break into a few bank accounts, and voila, he drives a motorcycle. Follow his lead, and Olivia might even be able to escape from her oppressive foster parents. As Olivia and Z grow closer, though, so does the watchful eye of Bill Sykes, Z’s boss. And he’s got bigger plans for Liv…

Z


I can picture Liv’s face: wide-eyed, trusting. Her smooth lips that taste like strawberry Fanta.


It was just a kiss. That’s all. She’s just like any other girl.


Except that she’s not.


Thanks to Z, Olivia’s about to get twisted.

By Invitation Only Series by Kate McKinley

 A Duchess In the Dark By Kate McKinley
By Invitation Only # 1

 
A Duchess In the Dark is the first of the By Invitation Only Series by Kate McKinley.  This historical erotica is so much more than it sounds.  The short novella caught my attention and kept it the whole time.  I have recently become a fan of erotica and I love history so I thought why not right?  I am so glad I read this story and can’t wait for more of this series.

Synopsis:

When a well-bred young lady opens the wrong bedroom door at a Regency house party, she has no idea of the sensual delights that await her on the other side…

Miss Daphne Hayward is on the hunt for a safe, honorable husband and she has set her sights on the perfect target. He’s kind, titled, and miraculously single. She plans a full-scale seduction that will bring him to his knees, begging for her hand in marriage. But when she mistakenly climbs into another man’s bed, sparks ignite, threatening to send all her plans up in smoke.

Ashton Fitzgerald, Earl of Claymore, is surprised by the powerful desire that surges through him when he sees Daphne for the first time. So when he unveils her as his mysterious midnight visitor, he is determined to make her his…forever.

New York Leopards by Allison Parr

Running Back by Allison Parr
New York Leopards # 2
Running Back is the second addition to the New York Leopards series by Allison Parr.

I love the sports NA genre and I love series, so what’s not to love right.  Although this book meets most of my check list, I didn’t love it.  It was ok, and the writing style was good.  I didn’t really connect with the characters.

The plot was interesting.  The book itself started strong and the fell flat.  I had to power through the middle and the ending picked up again. 

I am going to give this one a solid 3 stars because I loved the first book in this series, and will read the next installment.  Maybe I didn’t get into this book as much is because I am used to this series as a sports theme and this book strayed from the game. 

Synopsis:

Natalie Sullivan is on the verge of a breakthrough most archaeology grad students only dream of: discovering a lost city. Her research points to a farm in Ireland, but to excavate she needs permission from the new owner: the Michael O'Connor, popular NFL running back.

On TV Mike seems so charming and good-natured that Natalie figures getting his cooperation will be a breeze. So she's not prepared to deal with the arrogant—and adamantly opposed—man she meets in person. Or the way one look from him sends shivers down her spine…

Determined to kick-start her career, Natalie travels across the Atlantic and finds herself sharing an inn with Mike, who has come to Ireland in search of his roots. She tells herself her interest is strictly professional, but the more she gets to know him, the harder it is to deny her personal attraction to the sexy sports star. And when Mike confides why he refuses to allow the dig, Natalie must decide if she can follow her heart without losing sight of her dreams.

 

The Nikki and Michael Series

Dancing with the Devil by Keri Arthur








In the first installment of the Nikki and Michael series Dancing with the Devil, Keri Arthur set the pace for the continuation of the series. This is paranormal at its best! Ms. Arthur is highly descriptive and knows hot to set the mood. The action packed plot is a winner and will have readers on the edge of their seats. The romance blooming Between Nikki and Michael leaves the audience with a hint of what is to come. With psychics, vampires, zombies, and things that go bump in the night this book is sure to be a hit.

Nikki James is a psychic private investigator with a tainted past. Michael Kelly is a vampire hunter with a secret. When they stumble upon each other sparks fly and people die. With a powerful vampire wanting them both dead, they have their work cut out for them.

Personally, I just finished this book and have the next installment on my reader to start as soon as I finish this review. I loved this face paced paranormal read. It is different than most of the other paranormal book I have read. I got on a paranormal kick a few years ago and read everything paranormal I could get my hands on and somehow missed this series. This series gives a different aspect on a genre that has taken off in the last several years. The cliff-hanger romance leave you wishing you had book two on standby.


Hearts in Darkness (Nikki & Michael #2)
 by Keri Arthur








Nikki and Michael are at it again in this fast-paced, action packed second book entitled Hearts in Darkness. Nikki is in the middle of an investigation that leaves Jake hospitalized and Michael turning to her for help despite leaving her in the hospital at the end of book one. The pair pose as newlyweds and goes to a resort to face a new evil. New supernatural beings are introduced as well as the good ole vamps we love. Between flame imps, new vamps, and Michael’s ex, Nikki can not catch a break in life or her ongoing case.

Keri Arthur is a new author to me and I must say that she has not been a disappointment at all. I am addicted to the Nikki and Michael series and have finished the first two installments in three days. If you want a new take on the ever so popular paranormal genre this is a great pick. And for all you paranormal lovers out there you can not go wrong with this author.

This book was good. It introduced new sups that I have never heard of; that was a nice take on this paranormal series. I love the budding romance between Nikki and Michael and the tension in their relationship. Can this couple get a break? All the twist and turns in this book leaves me wondering how it can get better. I can not wait to get my hands on book three. I give this series a 4 star review. This book was a little complicated with the storyline and the supernatural beings, but I give it a 3 ½ star rating none the less.

Chasing the Shadows by Keri Arthur



3 ½ Stars

You can’t go wrong with Nikki and Michael in the third book in their series entitled Chasing the Shadows.  I love this series and have quickly grown to love these two.

Between the budding relationship and the new case there is never a dull moment between these this couple.  I have to say the banter between them in this book is hot and heavier than in the previous book, which I love. 

The headstrong pair are off separately to San Francisco with Jake and Nikki sneaking off for another case.  Michael is sent on behalf of the circle and the drama begins, only this time hitting close to home.  We see a new villain and introduced to new powers that both Nikki and Michael have due to their bond.  As always we are also introduced to new supernatural elements. 

This series is a must for any paranormal lover

Synopsis:
Four wealthy women kidnapped. Three ransoms demanded and paid. Two bodies returned, mutilated and drained of blood. One man determined to avenge the wrongs of his past. Nikki James'partner and best friend, Jake has asked her to help him find the missing wife of an old friend. Michael Kelly has followed Nikki to San Francisco, not only to keep her safe, but because he fears the psychic talents she's beginning to develop and can't control. As the body count begins to rise, so, too, does the danger. When Nikki becomes a target, Michael demands that she leave, but Nikki wants him to realize she's either a full partner in his life, danger or not. But she has to pay a price for her stubbornness--the life of someone she loves



Kiss the Night Goodbye
Nikk & Michael # 4
 
Kiss the Night Goodbye is the fourth installment of the Nikki & Michael series by Keri Authur. 

In this addition to the series Nikk and Michael find themselves in another life threatening situation.  Ms. Authur changes up the plot a little in this book.  The action is not the front runner in this plot.  The villain has kidnapped Michael and wiped his memory and the only person who can save him is Nikki. Oh and did I mention that their wedding is fast approaching?

I really enjoy this series. It is one of my favorite paranormal series to read.  The plots are always new and refreshing. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Nikki and Michael.

Synopsis:

Sometimes the past not only haunts, but destroys... One hundred years ago, Michael Kelly hunted down and killed the sorcerer responsible for murdering his lover. Now the brother of that man is out for revenge, and he intends to destroy all that Michael holds dear in the process. Nikki James wants nothing more than to pass the Circle's strict entry exams so she can get on with the business of planning her wedding to Michael. But when one of the testers attempts to kill her, she realises buying a wedding dress is the least of her worries. Especially when Michael is shot and kidnapped. The trail leads her to the ghost town where Michael had once killed a madman. She's not surprised to discover that Weylin Dunleavy, the brother of that long ago murderer, has set in place events that will mirror the past in order to raise his brother's spirit from hell. Nor is she truly surprised to discover that a barrier of magic surrounds the old town, leaving her to battle Weylin with only her wits, strength and the one psychic gift she cannot fully control. The one thing that does surprise, the one thing she cannot accept, is the fact that Michael no longer remembers who she is...

 

Friday, October 25, 2013

The Edge of Always Excerpt and Giveaway





THE EDGE OF ALWAYS Excerpt:

“Get up, birthday girl,” Andrew announces from somewhere near the foot of the bed. I hear him slap the tabletop by the window with the palm of his hand repeatedly.

I roll over onto my side, putting my back toward the bright sun and then burrow underneath the sheets. A gust of cold air hits me when Andrew snatches the sheets off me.

“Oh come on!” I moan, drawing my knees toward my chest and pulling the pillow over my head. “I should be able to sleep in on my birthday.”

Suddenly my body is being dragged off the bed and my arms come up wildly, trying to hold on to the edge of the mattress. Andrew’s hand is wrapped firmly around my ankle. I kick and flail, trying to get away, but he drags me across the bed so fast and without much effort that I just give up. My butt hits the floor and the sheets tumble down and around me.

“You are such an ass!” I laugh.

“But you love me. Now get up.”

With my hair all tangled around my head, I look up at him and pout. He smiles at me and reaches out his hand. I take it, and he pulls me into a stand.

“Happy birthday, babe,” he says and pecks me on the lips.


Summary:

When everything falls apart, love remains . . .

THE EDGE OF ALWAYS

Camryn Bennett has never been happier. Five months after meeting on a Greyhound bus, she and her soul mate Andrew Parrish are engaged-and a wedding isn't the only special event in their future. Nervous but excited, Camryn can't wait to begin the rest of her life with Andrew, a man she knows in her heart will love her always. They have so much to look forward to-until tragedy blindsides them.

Andrew doesn't understand how this could happen to them. He's trying to move on, and thought Camryn was doing the same. But when Andrew discovers Camryn is secretly harboring a mountain of pain and attempting to numb it in damaging ways, there is nothing he won't do to bring her back to life. Determined to prove that their love can survive anything, Andrew decides to take Camryn on a new journey filled with hope and passion. If only he can convince her to come along for the ride...


THE EDGE OF ALWAYS Buy Links:

Amazon – http://amzn.to/1dnGDto
Barnes and Noble – http://bit.ly/1gLjh0A
iTunes - http://bit.ly/1hcuQOm


J.A. Redmerski’s Social Network Links:

Website - http://jessicaredmerski.com/
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/J.A.Redmerski
Twitter - https://twitter.com/JRedmerski
Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5437976.J_A_Redmerski



Author Bio:

Born November 25, 1975, J.A. (Jessica Ann) Redmerski is a New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. She lives in North Little Rock, Arkansas with her three children and a Maltese. She is a lover of television and books that push boundaries and is a huge fan of AMC's The Walking Dead.

This may contain confidential material. If you are not an intended recipient, please notify the sender, delete immediately, and understand that no disclosure or reliance on the information herein is permitted. Hachette Book Group may monitor email to and from our network.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The Mephisto Covenant Series by Trinity Faegen

 
The Mephisto Mark/Only You by Trinity Faegen
The Mephisto Covenant # 3

 
Let me start my review by saying I would not read this book without reading the first books in this series. I should have known that when I opened the book and the glossary of terminology was right in front. The only other series I have seen with this is the Black Dagger Brotherhood which I love; but are not great stand-alone material.
Having said that I kept flipping back to the front for the definitions and a who's who of the series. I didn't not like the book but rather, felt lost in translation.
The idea is good and I liked the plot line but felt as if I was missing a chunk of back-story. I think I would have loved this if I would have started from the first book in the series and after reading this book will probably go back and catch up on what I have missed.
The title and cover have changed recently. Although I like the new cover I feel like it does not fit with this story line and looks like every other NA book on the shelves and my kindle today.
The old cover was more intriguing and interesting and I felt like fit the story better.

You can decide for yourself!

 

 

 


















Synopsis:

Orphaned at six and sent to live with abusive relatives in Bucharest, Mariah learned early in life to box up violent, agonizing memories and put them in permanent mental storage. Now almost nineteen, she has a paying job, a tiny apartment, and a plan to attend university. She loves her independence and is steadily overcoming her past, but when an enigmatic stranger walks into the pub where she works and the trajectory of her life changes yet again, she begins to wonder if she'll run out of mental shelf space.

The only females unafraid of the Mephisto brothers are the extremely rare Anabo, born without Original Sin. Over one hundred years ago, Phoenix was first to find one, but he made a fatal mistake and she was murdered by his oldest brother and enemy, Eryx. Phoenix soldiered through the next century wrapped up in grief and guilt, his only outlet planning takedowns of those who pledged their souls to Eryx. When one of his brothers brings Mariah to Mephisto Mountain, he's torn between his instinctive, powerful need to pursue her, and his certainty that he can never have her.

Drawn into the world of the Mephisto, Mariah sees the pain and misery Eryx unleashes on humanity, and the boxes in her mind begin to fly open, one by one. All that keeps her from slipping off the edge is her unlikely, sexually charged friendship with Phoenix. He's incredibly screwed up; she's completely broken. It would take a miracle for them to find happiness. Then Eryx brings the war for Hell to a whole new level, forcing Mariah and Phoenix to make a choice that will bind them together for all eternity, or rip them apart forever.


 


Just a Couple Ex’s Exposed

Exposed by S. Anders
Just a Couple Ex's
Just a Couple Ex's Exposed by S. Anders is the second installment in the Just a Couple Ex's series. I read the first one in the series and now the second.
I like the second one better than the first, but I do feel the unrealistic situation these people go through is a stretch. I didn't buy the fact that the cheaters got caught and the no cheaters just spend the night together. I have never been put in this situation, but I don't think I would go to a guy's house whose wife was cheating with my husband on the night they got caught. I would rather sleep in the car than go to someone who I didn't know. But hey, people bond different ways.
Other than this distraction, the book was surprisingly good. I liked that the character's leaned on one another during this time of betrayal. And the sex scenes were HOT!
Synopsis:
Nia doesn't know why the TV show Dirty Rotten Cheaters is asking her questions. That is until they show her video of her husband cheating, then strong arms catch her before she faints.

Jack can't believe the woman in his arms is the wife of the bastard screwing his wife.

Nia and Jack confront their spouses together. Then when Nia's cheating husband throws her out and hides all their money, Jack rescues her. Jack and Nia are forced together and forced to deal with their cheating spouses, but slowly an attraction builds between them that they cannot ignore.

This is a story of two people finding each other under the strangest of circumstances and against all odds, falling in love.

It is a standalone novel, but part of the themed series Just a Couple Ex's about the spouses of cheaters finding each other and falling in love.

Anchor Island Series by Terri Osburn

Up to the Challenge by Terri Osburn
Anchor Island # 2
 Up to the Challenge is the second installment of the Anchor Island series by Terrri Osburn.
This author is new to me, but I loved this book. So much so, I want to go back and catch up on what I missed in the first book.
In this book we focus on Sid and Lucas. Sid just so happened to get a second chance at the love of her life when he strolls back into town to help his family. Sid has also volunteered to help out with the family crisis and didn't realize Lucas would be there.
The sparks fly in this addition to the Dempesy family saga.


Synopsis:
Opposites attract in a sexy tale of unexpected love

When the Dempsey patriarch suffers a heart attack, Lucas Dempsey steps up to keep the doors of the family restaurant open. The proverbial prodigal son returns home to Anchor Island—putting family first and his quest to make partner at his high-powered law firm on hold. Sporting a bruised ego after losing his fiancĂ©e to his older brother, Lucas would rather walk on glass than spend six weeks within spitting distance of the happy couple. But family duty calls. And that duty includes working side-by-side with a tantalizing spitfire intent on driving him mad.

Tough-as-nails boat mechanic Sid Navarro is happy to trade her tools for an apron to help the Dempseys in their time of need. That is, until she realizes she'll be working alongside Lucas, the man she's loved from afar since she first laid eyes on him in high school. Lucas could charm the paint off a schooner, but Sid knows she doesn't fit his girl-next-door type. To show her true feelings would mean certain heartbreak, but the temptation of Lucas in her bed might be more than she can resist.

After a rocky start punctuated by verbal barbs and exasperating arguments, things heat up between them—big-time—but their steamy affair turns more than casual in a matter of weeks. Sid's life has become the dream she's always wanted, and Lucas has fallen hard for the last woman he ever expected to love.

But this affair has an end-date, as Lucas must return to his life and career in the big city, a place where Sid would never fit in. When the end comes earlier than expected, walking away turns out to be a challenge neither of them wants to win.

Up to the Challenge is a sexy, fast-paced, romantic story of family, island life, and finding love in unexpected places.

Duality Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal
DUALITY


Title: Duality (The Hitchhiker Strain, #2)
Author: Kellie Sheridan
Publisher: Patchwork Press

Release Date: December 31st, 2013

The Blurb: The end of everything came quickly, but the road back is endless and full of heartbreak.

After months of only death and loss, Veritas may be the answer everyone has been searching for—a cure. Savannah wants nothing more than to begin rebuilding, but with both the Initiative and the United Militia vying for power, there are no easy answers. Ending the threat for good could mean becoming something far worse than the monsters she is fighting against.

The infected will not go quietly. For Chelsea, the choice to step back into the world of the living is anything but simple. No miracle can erase the memories of the things she saw or the people she killed. While the girl she was struggles against the beast she became, Chelsea must make a choice—succumb or fight.

Links:
DUALITY on Goodreads
Kellie Sheridan's Website
Follow Kellie on Twitter
Like Kellie on Facebook

Also check out my review for this series here http://bsreviewers.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-hitchhiker-strain-series.html

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

OWEA by Tiffany Allee

Lycan Unleashed by Tiffany Allee

This third installment Lycan Unleashed: From the Files of the Otherworlder Enforcement Agency series was an interesting take on the lives of the supernatural/paranormal.  I have not read the two previous books in this series, but that did not take away from the story line at all. Actually, I think I will go back and read the rest of the series in order to make sure I have not missed anything.  I really enjoyed this short read.  My only complaint was that it was not long enough.  It has everything you could want in a book crime, mystery, twists, and romance.  3 out of 5 stars.

From Goodreads

Detective Astrid Holmes is a sensitive, a human capable of feeling the energy of otherworlders. When she is dispatched to the horrific murder scene of a local vampire, she expects it to be just another day on the job. But when evidence is stolen on her watch, she is removed—not only from the investigation, but from her job as a member of the Chicago police department’s paranormal unit.

Astrid’s only hope of reinstatement lies with her ex co-worker and almost-lover, Lycan Mason Sanderson. But convincing the OWEA agent to let her assist with the investigation isn’t nearly as difficult as staying alive when the murderer realizes that Astrid may hold the key to unlocking his identity.

Fighting to take down a killer could have deadly consequences for Astrid and Mason, but working together puts their already fragile relationship in jeopardy.

Vampire Games by Tiffany Allee
Files of the Otherworlder Enforcement Agency # 4

Vampire Games is the fourth installment in the OWEA. This book mostly contains a mystery as do all the books I have read in this series.  If you are looking for a traditional vampire type book, this is not the book for you.  If you are looking for a paranormal suspense book, then give this book a try.

Synopsis:

She’s seen the past…

OWEA Agent Beatrice Davis is haunted by the death visions that help her solve crimes. When Detective Claude Desmairis, her vampire ex-lover, asks for her assistance on a case, she’d rather help him than take the mandated leave to stave off her burn-out.

The truth won’t stay buried…

Pressed to solve a series of crimes before the perpetrator blows the vampire world apart, Claude turns to a woman he thought he’d been able to leave behind. But he was wrong, and his feelings for her will only bring trouble in an investigation this dangerous.

As their passions reignite, they see a possible future together. Until her visions show her the face of the murderer—a man Claude can never betray.

 

 

Redemption Series by Cara Marsi

Logan’s Redemption by Cara Marsi
Redemption # 1
 

Logan’s Redemption is the first book in the Redemption Series by Cara Marsi.  I really didn’t know what to expect in this book.  The cover had a hot guy but kind of looked generic, but the blurb sounded good, and I love a good redemption.

In this book we meet Logan Tanner and Doriana Callahan who have had a tainted past together.  When Logan is called in to work Dori’s fathers company Logan jumps at the chance to see her again.  Logan, owning a security firm, is called in undercover and ends up being Dori’s assistant.  Feelings from the past are jolted into the present, and with a job to do Logan is having a hard time focusing on the job at hand.  When Dori’s life is threatened and secretes are unveiled the couple are faced with life changing decisions.

My Thoughts:

I love the idea of redemption and my all time favorite are characters that have a redeeming quality.  The concept of this book was through the roof.  It kept me reading and interested in the plot and characters.  The alluring mystery paired with the idea of rekindled love captured me from the start.  The chemistry the characters had had me fanning myself at times.  *SPOLIER ALERT*  I also love the first love idea and pair that with unknown love child was genius. 

Synopsis:
Doriana Callahan's life is unraveling. Someone is stalking her and sabotaging her father's company, her teenage son is rebelling, and Logan Tanner is back in town. For sixteen years, she's kept an explosive secret from Logan, a secret he soon discovers. Logan never belonged in Doriana's world, but a long time ago he allowed himself to dream of a future with her, until the awful night he was forced to run. Now he's back and he needs her forgiveness, but first he must forgive himself. Despite the fact that Doriana kept the existence of his son from him, Logan vows to protect her. He races against time to stop the culprit threatening Doriana and works to forge a bond with his son. Can the love and passion that still burn between Doriana and Logan overcome old lies and new danger?


Franco’s Fortune by Cara Marsi
Redemption # 2
Franco’s Fortune is the second addition to the Redemption Series by Cara Marsi. 

This is a great addition to the Redemption series.  These two characters were set up well at the end of the first book Logan’s Redemption.  I couldn’t wait for this book. 

The chemistry in this book was good, but I think I enjoyed the mystery better.  I like the characters together, and their banter was humorous. 

Overall, this book was a winner. 

Could Anita and Harris be next?  We can only hope.

This is a great series, despite the cover.  I would love to see a new cover for the books in this series.

Synopsis:

"When a female bodyguard is hired to protect a rich playboy, she finds saving his life is easier than protecting her heart."

When the past and present collide...

Somebody wants rich playboy Franco Callahan dead. When security expert Josephine Fortune arrives on his doorstep thanks to his sister Doriana, Franco finds it hard to refuse. He's had a secret attraction for the diminutive bodyguard since they met at Doriana's wedding five years before.

But attraction is all it is. Combat boot-clad Jo is not the kind of woman Franco usually loves and leaves. Which makes the ruse that Jo is his new live-in girlfriend just that until Jo gets a makeover. Suddenly seduction is on his mind and Franco has all the time in the world to pursue it—and Jo.

Martial artist Jo can take down men twice her size without blinking, but Franco's appeal outmaneuvers her emotional defenses. Jo's tough exterior hides a dark past, and Franco seems determined to learn her every secret. But he has secrets of his own.

The more Franco gets to know Jo, the more he realizes he needs her in his life, and not as his bodyguard. But as the threats to Franco escalate, Jo must use every one of her combat skills to protect him.

Can Jo keep both Franco and her heart safe, or will they pay the ultimate price for love?

 

Monday, October 21, 2013

Club Sin Series by Stacey Kennedy


Claimed by Stacey Kennedy
Club Sin # 1

Claimed is the first installment in the Club Sin series by Stacey Kennedy.   This book was a good read.  It centers on a girl that is broken because of a bad break-up.  Presley is trying to make her way in the world after she moves cross country to be with her fiancĂ© only to find out that he has been cheating on her.  Instead of packing up and moving back home, she decides to stay in Las Vegas and make a go of it. She also decides to make a life changing decision to join an upper class BDSM club and be a submissive.

This book was erotic with a plot line, which I loved.  I like the hot alpha male who feels like he can never be loved and the quiet shy girl who doesn’t want love.  These two characters are great together.

Synopsis:

Presley Flynn is ripe to experience her secret fantasies . . . and Dmitri Pratt wants nothing more than to fulfill them. Once inside the elite Club Sin in Las Vegas, Presley is nervous but excited—and determined to surrender to her every desire. Dmitri is her Master, and his touch is like fire. With each careful, calculated caress, he unleashes her wildest inhibitions, giving her unimagined pleasure.

Presley is different than the other submissives Dmitri has mastered. The BDSM lifestyle is new to her, and so are the games they play at Club Sin. From the start, Presley stirs emotions in him far beyond the raw purity between a dom and the perfect sub. For the ecstasy they share goes beyond the dungeon igniting a passion that claims the very depths of the heart.

The Secret Life of Amy Benson Series by Lisa Renee Jones


Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones
The Secret Life of Amy Benson # 1
Escaping Reality is the first book in The Secret Life of Amy Benson series by Lisa Renee Jones. The author says that this will be a two book series, but if Ms. Jones does not tie up a whole lot of loose ends in the next book then yes folks we might have a series on our hands. I know if we all beg for more, we might get our wish.
In Escaping Reality we meet Amy who is running from something or someone. What we have no clue? Someone (still no clue) has told her that she must move form NY to Denver because she might be "found out". Is she in witness protection? Is she running from the mob or some other type of criminals? Maybe an ex? Who knows? Ms. Jones does and she is keeping it a secret.
Amy grabs all she can and heads off to the airport for her next destination with new identity in hand. Her plane is full and she is delay to another flight until she frantically pleads with the airline attendant that it is very important that she be on this fight to Denver. Ironically, she gets moved to first class (no charge) and is sitting next to millionaire hunk Liam and instantly feels a connection.
The pair are off to Denver both for work and automatically become obsessed with each other (insert hot steamy scenes). From there multiple come in Amy's life and she does not know who to trust. Who is friends and enemy? …take a guess and read book 2 for more answers.
OK, I usually only give the blurb on the book for my summary because I am horrible with secrets hence I give away the plot lines and spoilers in my reviews. I can review this book because there is nothing to give away. I fell in love with Ms. Jones writing in her Inside Out Trilogy and can't wait for more of Amy Benson.
This book was OMG good! The intriguing way the Ms. Jones set up Amy's life secret was so much of a mystery not only to Amy but to readers.
The characters were fantastic. Liam being the sexy hot alpha male was just enough to capture readers, but not enough to put us off. Amy is such a clever character in her willingness to survive anything that is thrown her way.
The writing style was brilliant. Well done Ms. Jones! Thank you for writing something worth reading. The mysterious quality had me hooked.
And Holy cliff hanger, why oh why do we have to wait so long for answers? I love a story that you have to wait for. It makes the release date so sweet and the best books come in series. So hats off to you Ms. Jones.

Sunday, October 20, 2013

His Southern Temptation

His Southern Temptation by Robin Covington
The Boys are Back in Town # 2

 
I knew from the first paragraph that I was going to love this book.  It was so good.  I am a southern gal and Ms. Covington has really impressed me with this one.

The characters were good and the steam factor was better.  I can’t wait for more of this series.

Synopsis:

Some women are bad. Some women are a bad idea. The best ones are both...


A former Black Ops assassin, “Lucky” Landon has had more near-misses than a man should ever have. Now he’s out of that business and settling into the simple life in his small hometown. So the last thing he ever expected was to end up at gunpoint. Or that the woman holding the gun would be his best friend’s little sister and Lucky’s on-again/off-again lover.

Taylor Elliott is Trouble, and she likes it that way. And seeing Lucky again? Well, he’s been her dirty little secret for the past few years and everyone knows that secrets in a small town are almost impossible to keep. But Taylor has bigger problems on her plate. Like the local mob boss who wants her dead.

And right now the only thing standing between Trouble and disaster is a hottie named Lucky...

Love to the Extreme Series

Extreme Love by Abby Niles
Love to the Extreme # 1
I am so pleasantly surprised by Extreme Love By Abby Niles.  One of my favorite genres are men who fight, especially MMA.  Travis Maddox is one of my favorite book characters.  So going in I had high expectations.  This book didn’t disappoint. 

I connected with the characters.  They were believable.  The plot was sweet.  Overall, a good read.

Having lost a lot of weight myself, I can only wish I could meet my own Dante.

Synopsis:

New body. New clothes. New men.

Used to the average Joe, Caitlyn Moore is overwhelmed when the supremely masculine Dante Jones walks into her life and expresses an interest in her. At first she pushes him away, refusing to encourage the attention of a cage fighter. Then she learns Dante has a love ‘em and leave ‘em reputation. What better way to fine-tune her non-existent flirting skills than with a male who won’t stick around? But Dante has no intention of being a practice dummy; he’s out for all or nothing. Now Caitlyn must accept Dante—violent career and all—or let him go.

Dante “Inferno” Jones has one goal: win the Welterweight Championship. At a time when focus is crucial, the last thing he needs is a distraction. Yet Caitlyn Moore becomes a challenge he can’t resist. When the light-hearted pursuit shifts to a battle to win her heart, his focus is shot. Faced with losing the biggest match of his career, Dante must decide if his extreme life also has room for Extreme Love.

The Dream Thieves

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
The Raven Cycle # 2

 
The Dream Thieves is the second installment in The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater.   I was introduced to this series by my co-blogger and BFF Susie.  She fell in love with this series, so I gave it a try.  I read The Raven Boys and didn’t love it, but as a reviewer I have had some ruff goes with the opener of a series.  I try to read the second installment of the series I don’t care for to see if it was just me or I really don’t like the series.  I didn’t get into The Dream Thieves. 

Ok, so don’t throw rotten tomatoes at me.  I have read the review and they are outstanding.  I am not going to pick this book apart.  The writing style is through the roof spectacular.  Ms. Stiefvater has an unusually technique or writing in which every word she writes means something.  I have never read another writing style like hers. 

The plot was good and well thought out as well as the characters.  I just couldn’t get into this book.  I know it is me not the author or the book.  I can’t put my finger on why I didn’t get engulfed in this one.  I really wanted to because of all the rave reviews and the writing style, but unfortunately it was a big miss in my book.

Synopsis:

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after...

More Series by TM Franklin

More by T.M. Franklin
More # 1
More is the first installment in the self titled series by T.M. Franklin.  This sci-fi/paranormal world of the Race is a one-of-a-kind delight.  Franklin does a great job of pulling readers into this world of supernatural beings.  With her descriptive writing style it is hard not to get wrapped up in the adrenaline pumping plot.  The characters are well thought out and able to capture reader’s interest.  All in all a great read.

Synopsis:

Ava Michaels used to think she was special.

As a child, she fantasized about having magical powers . . . making things happen. But Ava grew up and eventually accepted the fact that her childish dreams were just that, and maybe a normal life wasn't so bad after all.

Now a young college student, Ava meets Caleb Foster, a brilliant and mysterious man who’s supposed to help her pass Physics, but in reality has another mission in mind. What he shows Ava challenges her view of the world, shaking it to its very core.

Because Caleb isn't quite what he seems. In fact, he's not entirely human, and he's not the only one.

Together, the duo faces a threat from an ancient race bound to protect humans, but only after protecting their own secrets—secrets they fear Ava may expose. Fighting to survive, Ava soon learns she's not actually normal . . . she's not even just special.

She's a little bit more.
 
The Guardians by T.M. Franklin
More # 2
 

The Guardians is the second installment in the More series by T.M. Franklin.  As in the first book, the writing style will have readers sucked into this paranormal world. 
The plot thickens in this addition, leaving readers on the edge of their seats. Just when you think you have the series figured out Ms. Franklin throws a wrench in the plot and sends readers into a new and exciting direction. Having a mysterious quality and adding new characters, The Guardians is a “must read” for anyone who loves this genre. 
My Take:
I have quickly fallen in love with these characters and series.  Ms. Franklin has managed to suck me into the world of the Race and left me wanting more.  The plot is unique and gets better with each book in this series. I liked the banter between Ava and Tiernan and how it added a light side to this book.  I also like the mysterious quality The Guardians brought to the More series.  I love the relationship between Ava and Caleb.  I hope their relationship becomes a bond in the next installment.  I cannot wait to see where Ms. Franklin takes this series in the future.
Synopsis:
It’s not every day a girl discovers she’s not entirely human and unlocks hidden powers strong enough to make even the First Race take notice. Then again, Ava Michaels is no ordinary girl.

Now, the Race’s Ruling Council wants her under their control, and that’s just the beginning of her problems. Her boyfriend, Caleb Foster, has disappeared—accused of betraying the Race—and Ava herself is implicated in a crime she didn’t commit.

Clearing their names will mean uncovering a web of deceit and intrigue with Ava woven right in the center. To unravel the strands, she joins forces with some unlikely allies; a Protector who once haunted her nightmares, a young girl with secrets as unexpected as Ava’s, and a group of rebel Guardians who have their own fight against the Council.

Together they stand in a battle to find the truth, bring Caleb home, and secure Ava’s freedom—not to mention save her life