Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Author Interview with Karen Hooper & Giveaway

Author Interview with Karen Hooper and Giveaway

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I have always loved writing, but in my school days I never imagined I'd be capable of doing it as a career. I figured only amazing, prolific writers could write "real" books. I'd write short stories, poems, journal entries, etc., but it wasn't until my late twenties that I even attempted writing a novel.
 
What inspiration did you have for writing The Kindrily Series and their characters?

I was alone baking cookies one night before Christmas, and listening to oldies music. Someone to Watch Over Me by Ella Fitzgerald played and BOOM--Maryah's story hit me like a freight train. (I didn't know her name was Maryah at the time.) I jotted down some notes on an envelope, realized it didn't have enough space, so I started typing out a scene on my laptop. I burned the cookies, became obsessed with writing more and more of the story, and three months later I had a very messy 150k rough draft. The kindrily hasn't left me alone ever since that initial night.
Grasping At Eternity and Taking Back Forever blew me away, What is the name of the third book in the series and when is the release date?
The third book is FIGHTING FOR INFINITY. I'm not exactly sure of its release date yet. I'm working on it now, and I'd love to have it released by this winter, but I have a book from my other series releasing December 1st, so it will be tough to juggle both projects. I promise, I am working on it almost every day! Hopefully, I'll announce a release date in the next couple months. (And maybe a cover. Yay!)
You have over 200 reviews on Goodreads, does it surprise you on how your first installment of The Kindrily took off?

Yes, it does. I'm SO grateful for all the readers, reviewers, and fans. The Kindrily characters are so near and dear to my heart. Therefore, any and all fans of them are near and dear to me too.
Tell me about your other series The Sea Monster Memoirs.

Ahh, my sea peeps! They are so much fun. Just like The Kindrily series, those novels are filled with romance and magic, but Tangled Tides (book 1) starred merfolk, selkies, sirens, and a few gorgons. I created some new takes on mythology and combined them with my love for the ocean. Dangerous Depths (book 2) is releasing this December. It will consist of mostly the same characters, but I added a few new fabulous ones too. I don't want to give away much, but I will say it's a wild ride with lots of twist and turns, and, of course, a very emotional love story (or two).
Do you have any works in progress now?

I'm writing book 3 of The Kindrily series while also editing Dangerous Depths. Juggling has become a new skill of mine. ;)
Who is your favorite author?
That's so hard to say. I love so many authors. One of my longtime heroes is Diana Gabaldon. I even show my love for her Outlander series by having Nathan and Maryah read those books together in Taking Back Forever.
I also adore just about anything Gayle Forman writes.
What is your favorite book?

That's like asking me who my favorite family member is. It's impossible. I love them all in different ways.

 


 
 


 
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/387ee91/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Emma: A Latter-Day Tale

Emma: A Latter-Day Tale

3 Stars

This Christian fiction book was fun, dramatic, and quirky at times.  The Mormon based play on Austen’s Emma did not disappoint.  I hate to admit this, but I have never read Emma or even seen the movie at that, but I did like this book so I imagine I would love Emma. 

This clean romance is filled with religious references and being Southern Baptist, myself, I appreciated this aspect.  I also like the eccentric Emma.  She is so clueless, nosey, and stuck in her head.  I love the fact that the life coach needs coaching.

I also liked Justin who stands by Emma’s side through thick and thin. 

Emma is trying top be a life coach and has found her next project in Harri, a new girl in town.  Instead of coaching Harri, Emma tells her what to do even giving her a makeover and choosing who she dates.  Emma has hang ups of her own including jealously and along the way thinks she is falling in love herself.

I thought that this book was a cute, short read and would recommend this book to girls 15 and over, Mormon or not.

 

The Corner of Bitter and Sweet

The Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Robin Palmer
 

2.5 Stars

This book could have been a homerun, but the characters made it a base hit at best.  I like the premise of this book and the Hollywood setting.  The characters flopped in my opinion.  I couldn’t rap my head around Annabelle’s relationship with her mother, Josie.  I think if I was put in that situation I would have hard feelings, or be mad. 

I had a hard time relating to the characters and the plot.  I felt like maybe the subject of addiction was too deep for the characters written into this plot.  The plot was a complex idea and the characters were almost too amateur for this story-line.  They would probably work for another scenario and plot, but didn’t quite fit for me.

I also had a hard time sticking with this book.  The beginning was so slow and drug on.  The pace in the middle was not much better, and the ending felt rushed.  I might be the right book for someone who had been exposed to addiction, or a reader between YA and NA, but I would not recommend for 17 or under.

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Annabelle Jacobs never asked to be famous, but as the daughter of Janie Jacobs, one of the biggest TV stars in the world, she is. Growing up is hard enough. Having to do it in public because your mother is a famous actress? Even harder. When your mom crashes and burns after her DUI mug shot is splashed across the internet? Definitely not fun. Then your mom falls for a guy so much younger than she that it would be more appropriate for you to be dating him? That’s just a train wreck waiting to happen.

From Robin Palmer, author of Geek Charming and Wicked Jealous, this is a novel about the most complicated relationship a girl ever has: that with her mother.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Feature and Follow Friday #2






This Weeks Question:

What do you do with your books when you are done reading them? Answer: Good question, if they are e-galley's I remove them from my device. I have a Nook, Kindle Fire, and tablet that I read on. I archive the read books from the Nook, save them on the cloud on the kindle, and delete from the tablet. I recycle my paper backs at this cute little book store in town that will give you half of the retail value of the book on your account and let you purchase books from that account, so basically free books after a few visits. I am so wrapped up in modern technology I can not sit and read a paper back these days but am slowly cutting back on my devices :)

  What do you do with yours....

I would love a follow with GFC or Bloglovin thanks!!!

Blog Hop July 26 - Aug. 1






This week's question:

How do you organize your books to be read?

I do it the old fashion way.  I have a notebook, as soon as I am approved to view an e-galley I write it down, hence the list started.  If I have an author request or a book that I am in love with and can't wait to read it goes to the top of the list.

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Hold Me Down Hard

Hold Me Down Hard by Cathryn Fox
 

This short novella was hot, not really long enough to have a plot, but was enjoyable none the less.  I think it was somewhere around 50 pages.

Jay and Eden are neighbors who have been lusting over each other until they take it to the next level.

Synopsis:

When Eden Carver, Iowa farm girl turned NY actress, decides to seduce the sexy cop next door, she begins to wonder if she’s bitten off more than she can chew.

The last thing Officer Jay Bennett wants is to cross a line with the sweet and innocent country girl—no matter how much he’d like to help himself to a nibble. Not only are they in the friendship zone, a na├»ve girl like Eden doesn’t belong in his dangerous world.

But when she asks him to help her rehearse lines, and things go from simmer to boil, he finds himself doing the one thing he swore he’d never do. He knows he needs to walk away from temptation, but when sweet little Eden bites back, it tilts his world on its axis. Because biting back changes everything.

Dalton Brothers Series

Bedding the Wrong Brother by Virna DePaul

2 stars

Bedding the Wrong Brother is the first installment in the Dalton Brothers series by Virna DePaul.  I was hoping for more in this book, and just didn’t get it.  I really would have like for Rhys to be a little more emotional. 

This book is about childhood love and second chances.  I think that the story line was original but missed the mark.  I think that Max’s story might be more interesting, and will probably stick with the series for his happily ever after.

Synopsis:

Melina Parker has always excelled in two things: research followed by hands-on application. She prides herself on being a lady in public, but after she's dumped yet again for being a lady in the bedroom, she's ready to go back to school.

Determined to find her inner sex diva, she enlists her childhood friend, Max Dalton, to tutor her after hours. Instead, she ends up in the wrong bed and gets a lesson in passion from Max's twin brother, Rhys Dalton, a man Melina's always secretly wanted but never thought she could have.

Despite craving the occasional adventure, Melina's a small-town girl who wants roots and a family. Rhys and Max, on the other hand, are celebrities who travel from one city to another, changing bed partners as easily as plane flights. Rhys is outwardly the more reserved of the two but, unable to believe his good luck when he finds Melina waiting for him, he gives Melina her first taste of multiples right out the gate. Come morning, she's so mortified that she threw herself at Rhys that she blurts out the truth about her tutoring experiment. Not about to let her get away from him, Rhys convinces Melina that when it comes to sexual lessons, he's more than man enough for the job. His biggest challenge is teaching Melina that when it comes to pleasure, the key to his own is hers.

Can a woman who's always longed for hearth and home find satisfaction with a man whose entire life has been about moving on to the next big thing?

Girls Most Likely To...Series

Most Likely to Succeed
by Kate Davies
Girls Most Likely To #1
 
Most Likely to Succeed was a short quick read.  I have never read this author before so I thought that I would give her a try.  This romance was not the plot type that I have read before and I really like that.  The grammar was not the best, but despite that this was a pretty good read.  It was just ok for me.




 
                           Cutest Couple by Kate Davies
Girls Most Likely To #2

 The second book in the Girls Most Likley To… Series, Cutest Couple, by Kate Davies takes us in the lives of Bree and Marc.  Right after graduation Marc announced to Bree that he was leaving for the military and consequently leaving her.  Two weeks later she found out she was pregnant.  Jump forward 10 years to their high school reunion, Bree has a 9 year old son and Marc has no clue he is a father.  How will the two that was voted “cutest couple” in high school handle this situation?
This book to me would be considered a novella; it was short, sweet, and to the point.  I like this series because it is so short and great for a quick read.  To read more of this series check out the first installment Most Likely To Succeed. 
 
 
Life of the Party by Kate Davies
 
Life of the Party is the final chapter in the Girls Most Likely To series.  I have followed this series from the start and I enjoyed this story the best.  This is a cute, short read that follows Tess in her quest to find herself and love along the way.  As in the first two books, we follow the girls at the reunion and if you have read the previous books you will see familiar scenes.  I love books written this way and Ms. Davies does a good job.
Synopsis:
Book three of the Girls Most Likely to…

In high school, Tess Bonham was the ultimate party girl. So it's ironic that building a successful party planning business has resulted in all work and no play. But Tess loves her job—most of the time. Planning her own ten-year reunion weekend promises to be the highlight of her career, even if making it perfect for her former classmates means she won't actually have time to enjoy it herself.

Hotelier Jeremy Wright has wanted Tess for years, and he's tired of never fitting into her overbooked calendar. So when she's short-staffed, Jeremy jumps at the chance to help out with her reunion during the day—if Tess surrenders the nights to him. He's got plans for a private party, and she's the guest of honor…

Tess should say no. But she really, really wants to say yes. Spending time with Jeremy reminds her just how much fun life can be. But she's not sure she can be "just friends" once she knows how amazing the benefits are…

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Come and Get It

Come and Get It by Keira Cole
 

After reading this synopsis, I thought that I would give this book a try; it fell flat.  I wanted to like these characters but the development just was not there.  I like the name Dixie Rose, but Quinn didn’t cut it for me.  His smugness immediately turned me off to his character.  I just could not connect with this one guys, sorry!

Synopsis:

Sexy Dixie Rose Bonifay has sunk her roots deep in the Texas hill country she calls home. Having dedicated her life to the one thing she loves most—cooking—she’s built her own successful mobile food business catering to the construction workers in the area, and she’s stirring up the appetite of every man around, in more ways than one.

When smug California architect Quin Halladay comes to town, he sets his sights on Dixie’s ranchland—and on Dixie herself. Confident and charming, he can’t wait to bed the alluring Dixie and add yet another notch to his bedpost. What Quin doesn’t realize is that Dixie can match wits with him every step of the way, and before Quin knows it the Texas beauty has turned the tables on him and he can’t get her out of his head.

As the two get down to business in a romantic Texas two-step, it’s a battle of wills and wits between small-town smarts and big-city arrogance. And with all the local men circling their wagons to protect the woman they’ve come to love and respect, Quin will have to prove himself and choose between the city life he knows and the Texas rose he’s come to love.

Torn Series by K.A. Robinson


Torn by K.A. Robinson


4 Stars
I quickly fell in love with Torn the first installment in the Torn series.  The characters are flawed to perfection, the love triangle was good and the plot thickens as the cast try to keep it together. 

I devoured this book in one day, and I have to say it was a refreshing read to the funk that I have been stuck in lately, picking the wrong books.  I love the NA genre and this book is a great addition to the mix.  It has a Jamie McGuire and Abbi Glines feel to it which made me like it even more.  I will definitely follow this series, even though I wanted to choke Chloe at times.  And your royal hotness Drake Allen does not hurt this series either.  I think I am in love!

Chloe starts West Virginia University with her BFF’s Amber and Logan after leaving her parting mother for college.  Not too long after Chloe starts school she meets Drake Allen.  Drake is a local singer in a band and resident bad boy, when sparks fly between the two and Drake pushes Chloe away she turns to her friend Logan, but will his love be enough?

Favorite quotes:

“Don’t worry, I’ll probably still be between the pages with a certain Mr. Maddox.  Lord knows I can’t put him down once I start.” -Rachel Could this be a certain Travis Maddox???

“Stick that tongue out again and see what happens.”-Drake Allen

“You know baby, if you wanted to get on top of me all you had to do was ask.”-Drake Allen

“No, not at all, I just figured you had better things to do than hand out on my bed. He grinned at me.  ‘Nowhere else I’d rather be.’”


Twisted by K.A. Robinson

4 Stars
Twisted is the second book in the debut series Torn by K.A. Robinson.  This series has quickly become one of my favorite series, and I hope just because Drake and Chloe have their happily ever after that the series will go on and we can see all the characters get theirs as well.  I devoured both of these books in one day (don’t hate I was recovering from surgery, what’s a girl to do).

This heart-wrenching story of love, disappointment, lies, and life will capture reader’s hearts and sweep them up in this rocker romance.  I liked this installment better than the first, with all the drama.  I started out in the first book wanting to choke Chloe, but after reading this book she redeemed herself and I wanted to slap Drake’s sexy butt, but in the end this duo made me smile.

This chapter picks up where Torn left off, and will not disappoint readers.  Just when you think that this couple can not go through anything else, the relationship is tested by a tour, ex’s, jealousy, drugs, lies, family, and love.  Buckle up and hang on this is one wild ride.

I did get my fix of Drake Allen in this book, but this is not enough.  I am begging you, Ms. Robinson, write more in this series, I have to know what happens to the band members, Logan, Amber, Danny, and Jordan.  Please don’t leave us hanging.

Favorite quotes:

“Who needed food when you had Drake?” – Chloe

“I’m in so deep with you, I don’t think I’ll ever surface.  But I’m okay with that,  If I’m going to drown, I want it to be with you’” –Chloe

“Do you know how corny we sound?  I think I just threw up a little.” – Drake Allen

“No one could ever compare to you” –Drake Allen

“I hope he’s enjoying the good life out in Los Angeles without me; I hope he finds some nasty groupie that gives him every STD known to man.” –Chloe

“No keep talking, I’d love to hear what else you wish upon my poor dick.  That kind of hurts, you know; I’m quite fond of that certain body part.” – Drake Allen

“Do you really want me to catch a bunch of sexually transmitted diseases?” – Drake Allen

Synopsis:

Chloe and Drake have found their happily ever after... Almost.

When Chloe's mother comes back into her life with a bang, it sets off a chain of events no one could have ever expected.
Everyone has their demons, and Chloe and Drake's hit them with a vengence.

Sex, drugs, money, a crazy ex, and Rock n Roll.... Can they survive it all?

Things are beginning to feel a bit... Twisted.


 

 

The Big, Not-So-Small, Curvy Girls, BBW Romance, Dating Agency by Ava Catori

The Big, Not-So-Small, Curvy Girls, BBW Romance, Dating Agency by Ava Catori
 

OK folks, I was once again drawn in by a cover and a title; I don’t know why I keep doing this to myself, but I do.  I liked the cover and the title.  I have been a big girl all my life and I thought this book would be right up my alley.  I was so wrong.  I have read a few books by this author and I have not liked any of them.  I did not like this one either.  The whole plot was just blah, the characters were terrible and the whole story felt rushed.  The ending left more questions than answers, leaving me with a story that felt unfinished.  This will be the last book I read by this author.  And the title is way too long for a book.

Synopsis:

Becky Holgate's lost her focus. It’s complicated...she didn’t mean to fall in love with another woman’s guy. How could she be a matchmaker for other people if all she could think about was her own heart? Determined to ignore her growing infatuation, she set her sites on building her career. Only Reed Amwell was making it hard to concentrate; every encounter left her breathless.

Reed didn’t mean to fall for the curvy girl, but she was carefree, silly, and fresh. Her soft curves and playful heart had him questioning his current relationship. Could he be with the wrong girl? He needed to figure it out fast, because his wedding day was getting closer by the minute.

With a laugh-out-loud best friend, an insane cat, and a business to run, Becky Holgate didn’t have time for guys like Reed Amwell...until time was running out.

The Awakening: Aidan


The Awakening: Aidan by Abby Niles
 

I am a true fan of paranormal book and especially shifter book, but this one left me on the fence.  I am torn on how to rate this book; I really like the mate for life.  I was not particularly fond of the wording in this book; it was almost like it was a play on J.R. Wards Black Dagger Brotherhood, which this book does not compare to.  I just couldn’t get into it the word play in this book.  The characters were ok, but nothing special.  I really enjoyed the author’s other book better, Extreme Love.

Synopsis:
Is the gift of eternal love a blessing or a curse?

After years of counseling grieving shifters, psychiatrist and half-shifter, Dr. Jaylin Avgar has become jaded on shifter mating. She wants to marry a human and forget about the love for eternity crap. Then she meets Aidan O’Connell, an infuriatingly laid back shifter who represents everything she doesn’t want. Yet, the more he pursues her, the more she craves a future with him. Only one thing stands in her way: death. Can she overcome her fear of losing Aidan to the one guarantee in life?

Millionaire consultant, Aidan O’Connell knows he’ll one day meet a woman who’ll awaken an unrelenting mating instinct. Unfortunately, that woman is Jaylin, who has no qualms about telling him that he and his so-called eternity can shove it. When she pushes him away, he takes a drastic step so she can no longer escape. The close proximity throws the instinct into overdrive. Can he control the need engrained in him until he’s certain she will reciprocate the bond, or will a moment of weakness doom him to hell on earth?

Monday, July 22, 2013

The Hitchhiker Strain Series

End Dayz by Kellie Sheridan


End Dayz is the prequel to the new series The Hitchhiker Strain released in early 2013.  This book follows four teens as the zombie apocalypse is just starting.  This short novella sets the pace for this series as we follow Peirce, Zack, Bella, and Alex.  Each character is documenting their own story via journals, letters, and diary entries giving a great back-story on each and setting this series up to be great.  I can’t wait to read Mortality, the first book in this series.
Synopsis:
It's month after the dead first began to walk. The miracle vaccine that was supposed to save us all has failed.

Now, four teens fight to stay alive as a stronger, smarter breed of zombie begins to appear, threatening to end humanity for good.

Four short stories, 11,000 words total.

Prequel to Mortality (March, 2013).



Mortality by Kellie Sheridan


4 Stars

Mortality is the second installment in the Hitchhiker Strain series; this book is considered book 1.  This Walking Dead meets Survivor YA will be a great addition to your reader if you are a fan or either series.  If you have not read End Dayz, the prequel to this series, it is not necessary but will give you valuable insight into this outbreak.

In Mortality, we see the same characters from End Dayz but follow some of the teens mentioned in the prequel.  Savannah has lost her family in one way or another and is alone and living with the rest of the survivors of her community at the local high school.  Wanting to fight back against the zombies and be part of the adult team she learns to fight and improves her survival skills.  When she happens across Cole while on a supply run he changes her outlook and direction on life.

Zarah is living in the middle of the outbreak zone in Ohio.  After no one picks her up form school after the initial outbreak Liam, the new kid in school, rescues her.  Moving away with her aunt, Zarah thinks all is well after a new vaccine is available until her aunt turns into an “uber Z”.  Once again Liam to the rescue fleeing with Zarah to find a safe zone.

Synopsis:

After surviving a deadly plague outbreak, sixteen-year-old Savannah thought she had lived through the very worst of human history. There was no way to know that the miracle vaccine would put everyone at risk for a fate worse than un-death.

Now, two very different kinds of infected walk the Earth, intent on nothing but feeding and destroying what little remains of civilization. When the inoculated are bitten, infection means watching on in silent horror as self-control disappears and the idea of feasting on loved ones becomes increasingly hard to ignore.

Starving and forced to live inside of the abandoned high school, all Savannah wants is the chance to fight back. When a strange boy arrives with a plan to set everything right, she gets her chance. Meeting Cole changes everything. Mere survival will never be enough.

Saturday, July 20, 2013

Skin

Skin by Donna Jo Napoli

 

2 Stars

 I am on the fence with this book.  I can appreciate the situation that the main character, Sep, is put in having difficulties coming to terms with her disease, but on the other hand her insecurities really got on my nerves.

The realistic factor of this book was spot on with the worries and issues of teens today.  I really like the fact that Sep was so relatable but the ongoing hang-ups were an issue for me; embrace yourself.  This book would be good for middle school girls if some of the scenes were toned down a bit.  I would recommend this for upper high school girls

Synopsis:

My lips are white. Sixteen-year-old Sep stares into the bathroom mirror. It's not some weird lipstick (she never wears lipstick). Her lips are just ? white. In a panic, she digs up an old lipstick and smears it on her colorless lips. But soon, more and more white spots begin to bloom, spreading their chalky tendrils across her olive brown skin. Does she have a disease? Is she turning into some kind of freak? Sep is usually the one who knows all the answers. With a quicksilver mind and a supple body, she's happiest when she's delving into the mysteries of animal biology or giving herself over to sweet, hot moves in Jazz Dance Club. Unlike her best friend, Devin, she's never been in a rush to get a boyfriend. But as the white blotches spread, her dating days ? like the endangered species she studies ? seem numbered. So when Joshua, a boy she's always liked, makes a flirty advance, she wonders: why not grab pleasure while she can? Frank, funny, and full of passion, this is the empowering story of a strong gifted teen who, as her life spins out of control, desperately tries to prove to the world ? and herself ? that she is deeper than skin.

Passion Potion

Passion Potion by Mary Beth Daniels

 


2 ½ Stars

 

Passion Potion is like Bewitched meets Alice in Wonderland.  I loved the way this book started out NA paranormal, but the author lost me in the portal jump into the spirit world.  Then it started to become a bad knock off of Alice in Wonderland with the magic mushroom and “eat me”.  I think I would have liked the book if that whole scenario was not written into it.  I loved the idea of Jet and Caleb and even Rah and Dei Lucrii and I will attempt to read the next installment in this series if it does not get too far fetched like certain parts of this book did.  If it gets too loopy I don’t mind putting it down. 

Like I stated above if there were more magic and romance instead of this spirit realm then I would have enjoyed this book.  I had no connections to the characters and the plot started strong and sunk quickly.  It was ok at best.  I think the cover was cheesy and it looked likes like there is a vibrator on the cover lol!

Synopsis:

Jet is a Nix, the daughter of an Enchantress who went outside her bloodlines. No one helps a Nix, and even though her father is in deep trouble with Dei Lucrii, a Dark Enchanter who paid her family an extraordinary sum to make a passion potion, Jet has no way to fix the powerful spell that killed her mother.

But someone is watching her. A very handsome someone whose face appears in a pewter bowl her mother always kept close by.

Could the boy be the secret to avoiding the curse of the Nix? Or is he the sort of distraction Jet REALLY can’t afford at a time like this?

Contributor

Contributor by Nicole Ciacchella
 

I have a confession to make, this book went in to the “did not finish” pile.  I really tried to connect to this book, but the plot and characters didn’t interest me.  I felt Dara to be living in her perfect world, but isn’t this a post apocalyptical/dystopian type book?  Jonathan got on my nerves and the bickering in the engineering program got on my nerves.  I just couldn’t connect.  I was also surprised at the high rating it got on Goodreads.

Synopsis:

One of only three students chosen for an elite, year-long apprenticeship, seventeen-year-old Dara Morrow is eager to excel in the high-stakes competition and prove herself a devoted Contributor. Success means a prosperous future with her Job Creator. Failure means losing her standing in society.

But Dara’s competition is ruthless, and her exacting master has little patience for her. When her mother is injured, Dara’s prospects become even more uncertain. If she can’t learn to navigate the hazards of the system, she risks not only her own safety, but that of all those she loves.

Friday, July 19, 2013

Freak House Series

The Wrong Girl by CJ Archer
 

 
So I guess I was The Wrong Girl for this book.  I read this synopsis and thought this would be a great read I was wrong.  The Wrong Girl is the first installment in the Freak House series.  I thought that the title was great for a series and this historical gothic YA just didn’t do it for me. 

I could not get into the short plot and could not connect with the characters.  I did, however, like the relationship between Hannah and Violet. 

This book had great potential but just fell flat.

Synopsis:

It's customary for Gothic romance novels to include a mysterious girl locked in the attic. Hannah Smith just wishes she wasn't that girl. As a narcoleptic and the companion to an earl's daughter with a strange affliction of her own, Hannah knows she's lucky to have a roof over her head and food in her belly when so many orphans starve on the streets. Yet freedom is something Hannah longs for. She did not, however, want her freedom to arrive in the form of kidnapping.

Taken by handsome Jack Langley to a place known as Freak House, she finds herself under the same roof as a mad scientist, his niece, a mute servant and Jack, a fire starter with a mysterious past. They assure Hannah she is not a prisoner and that they want to help her. The problem is, they think she's the earl's daughter. What will they do when they discover they took the wrong girl?

Dragonfly Series by Leigh T. Moore

Dragonfly by Leigh Talbert Moore

 

4 Stars
Dragonfly is the debut book in the Dragonfly series by Leigh Talbert Moore.   I first found this independent author this week and quickly devoured two of her books in four days.  I can only say be on the look out for her and this series, they are special.  If you are a fan of Abbi Glines, who I am obsessed with, then you will love Ms. Moore.  As soon as I started this book I thought the Sea Breeze Series meets the Vincent Boys, which in fact are two of my all time favorite series by Ms. Abbi.

Ok down to the book.  Dragonfly is definitely a YA to add to your “must read” list.  It has a beach setting, which makes it a great summer read.  I immediately fell into the whole story line and quickly became invested in this plot.  The characters are intertwined and flawed thus making them believable to readers.  I have always loved a good love triangle and this book does not disappoint.  I am on the fence as to whose team I am on.  I will have to read the next installment to pick Team Jack or Team Julian; although, I am leaning heavily toward team Julian at this point.

The author’s writing style is so descriptive that you can almost hear the waves rolling in, falling in love with the characters giving an emotional attachment, and getting swept up in the mystery of this plot.  This book blew me away.  I can not wait for the next chapter in the lives of Anna, Julian, Jack, and Lucy.  Additionally, I absoutely love the cover!

Synopsis

Three bad things I learned this year:
-People you trust lie, even parents.
-That hot guy, the one who’s totally into you, he might not be the one.
-Things are not always how they appear.
Three good things I learned this year:
-Best friends are always there for you, even when they’re far away.
-That other hot guy, the one who remembers your birthday, he just might be the one.
-Oh, and things are not always how they appear.
Anna Sanders expected an anonymous (and uneventful) senior year until she crossed paths with rich-and-sexy Jack Kyser and his twin sister Lucy.
Pulling Anna into their extravagant lifestyle on the Gulf Coast, Lucy pushed Anna outside her comfort zone, and Jack showed her feelings she’d never experienced... Until he mysteriously withdrew.
Anna turned to her internship at the city paper and to her old attraction for Julian, a handsome local artist and rising star, for distraction. But both led to her discovery of a decades-old secret closely guarded by the twins’ distant, single father.
A secret that could permanently change all their lives.



Undertow by Leigh T. Moore

 

4 Stars

And the mystery is solved leaving more questions...

 

I have been impatiently waiting for this release date.  I don’t think that I have been hooked this hard on a series in quite a while.  Leigh has a way of sweeping her readers up and leaving them wanting more with every book that she writes.  She has gone above and beyond with this particular series.

Undertow is the second book in the Dragonfly series and if you have not read the first book you might not keep up in this one, but if you have OMG what a ride.  I would suggest you read Dragonfly first and get sucked into this series; it is well worth the read. 

Being from Alabama and a southern gal to the core, I appreciate the southern setting in South Alabama.  All aspects of this book screams authentic southern charm from the cities to the dialogue and any southerner will love the references.  The Alabama gulf coast is one of my favorite places and I love books that use the coast as their setting.

I never would have thought that Ms. Moore would write the second installment as journal entries and I was not sure how I would like it, but after being swept up in the drama that happened so long ago I could not see the story playing out any other way.  I was quickly caught up in the mystery that Anna finds herself uncovering. 

We start off with Anna who is on the fence about Julian tiring to distance herself she starts reading the journals that Bill gave her in book one.  Anna then starts to put together the sequence of events leading up to Jack and Julian’s parents tangled web of lies, betrayal, and deceit. 

In the first journal we follow Meg from teenage years to her tragic death.  I found her to be annoyingly needy, insecure, and back-stabbing which is a great contrast to how I pictured her in book one.  Next we peek into the life of Alex which was very interesting since she was rather reclusive in book one.  I enjoyed her back-story the most leaving me feeling compassion for her and Julian.  The big shocker was the past life of Bill.  I loved being drawn into his world and finding out what has made him so bitter.  I also loved seeing him in this light and have faith that he can be happy once again.

The only disappointment I had with this book is I wanted more Anna and her love triangle.  I love how it was written and I feel the back-story was well deserved.  I can only hope for more Anna, Julian, Jack, Lucy, and Will in the future and a ton more books.   This series can not play out too soon in my eyes.  I can not wait to see where Leigh takes these beloved characters in the future.
 
Check out my picks for Julian and Jack (even though Jack is not in this book)


My Julian Joshua Brand
 


My Jack
 

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Get Caught in UNDERTOW and #WIN!







Undertow, the shocking sequel to Dragonfly, is OUT NOW!
Early Readers are saying...
"An incredibly powerful sequel to Dragonfly. I found myself riveted to the last page by the depth of feeling, loss, tragedy, and love in this gorgeously woven story. A definite must-read.--Jolene Perry, author of Out of Play "As far as a second book for a series goes, Undertow knocked it out of the park.--Jessica, Bend in the Binding reviews
"My God I am so emotional! I have to give a huge KUDOS to Leigh because she knows how to write a story like no one's business!" --Tee, Diary of a Book Addict reviews
"Undertow pulled me under and left me gasping for air and wanting so much more. I couldn’t stop thinking about these characters, and now I’ll never be able to get a shirtless Bill Kyser out of my head." --Magan Vernon, bestselling author of The Only Exception
"Amazing! The characters are lovely, but they're also flawed--that sort of 'realness' and honesty breathes life into them and is truly refreshing to come across as a reader. A fantastic story with a unique execution.--Kristin, Goodreads reviewer
Book 2 in the Dragonfly series
by Leigh Talbert Moore
On Amazon
Falling in love will pull you under...
-Bill Kyser has a plan to take the sandy farms of his hometown and turn them into a world-class tourist destination--and become a billionaire in the process. 
-Alexandra "Lexy" LaSalle has a plan to change her life by becoming a world-famous artist. 
-Meg Weaver has a plan to hold onto Bill no matter what she has to do.
Three friends, three dreams.
One fatal decision will change all their lives forever.
In Dragonfly, Bill Kyser gave Anna the three journals that held the story behind the powerful developer's seclusion and the damaged lives of his family members. 
Anna hopes to find a way for Julian to know the truth, but as she digs deeper into the tragic events of the past, she realizes silence could be the only option. 
Now she's in an alliance with the man she formerly feared. And if Julian finds out what she knows, she could lose for good the boy she's starting to love. Get Undertow TODAY! 
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo (Print copies available on Amazon | Createspace) * * *
"The characters were intriguing, the mystery and story were interesting, and definitely have ME WANTING MORE!!!!!!!" --Mandy, The Romance Bookie
"Great book to dive into poolside, but I will warn you may get so swept up in it you may end up with some sun burn so I STRONGLY suggest you invest in some sunscreen as well as a copy of Dragonfly." --Nichole, Book Addicts Not So Anonymous “Gossip Girl meets VC Andrews in this contemporary family saga. Love, lies, and betrayal become the new normal when Anna enters the world of Jack and Lucy Kyser.” –Magan Vernon, international bestselling author of The Only Exception
On Amazon
by Leigh Talbert Moore
Three bad things I learned this year:
-People you trust lie, even parents. 
-That hot guy, the one who’s totally into you, he might not be the one. 
-Things are not always how they appear.
Three good things I learned this year:
-Best friends are always there for you, even when they’re far away. 
-That other hot guy, the one who remembers your birthday, he just might be the one. 
-Oh, and things are not always how they appear.
Anna Sanders expected an anonymous (and uneventful) senior year until she crossed paths with rich-and-sexy Jack Kyser and his twin sister Lucy.
Pulling Anna into their extravagant lifestyle on the Gulf Coast, Lucy pushed Anna outside her comfort zone, and Jack showed her feelings she’d never experienced... Until he mysteriously withdrew.
Anna turned to her internship at the city paper and to her old attraction for Julian, a handsome local artist and rising star, for distraction. But both led to her discovery of a decades-old secret closely guarded by the twins’ distant, single father. 
A secret that could permanently change all their lives. Get Dragonfly for just 99 cents (limited time):
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo (Print copies available on AmazonCreatespace) * * *
As a special, THANK YOU! enter for your chance to #WIN signed copies of BOTH books, your own private journal, and fun swag~
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

 
 
*About Leigh T. Moore:

Leigh Talbert Moore is the author of the popular young adult romantic comedy *The Truth About Faking* , its companion *The Truth About Letting Go* , and the mature YA/new adult romantic suspense novel *Rouge* , a Quarter Finalist in the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. She is an award-winning journalist and editor, who has also worked in marketing and public relations for many years. Her writing has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the southeast and Midwest U.S., and she runs the popular writing-craft blog *That's Write* . A southern ex-pat and beach bum, she currently lives with her husband, two young children, and one grumpy cat in the Midwest.
  *Facebook* <http://www.facebook.com/LeighTalbertMoore>
Amazon Authorpage* <http://amazon.com/author/leightmoore>* |
Twitter<https://twitter.com/leightmoore>

 Tumblr <http://leightmoore.tumblr.com/> |
Goodreads<http://www.goodreads.com/leightmoore>




Read excerpts of her books on *Wattpad <http://wattpad.com/leightmoore> *
and *Figment* <http://figment.com/users/298269-Leigh-Talbert-Moore>!

Secret for a Song

Secret For a Song by S.K. Falls
 

Secret For a Song is not a NA for the faint of heart.  This book has to do with serious medical conditions, lying, and deceit.  I could not sympathize with the mail character in this book.  I can not ever call her a heroine because she is not.  Her lies and deceit had me almost putting down this book.

I know that Munchausen is a serious disease, but she should have just came out and said that is what she had instead of MS.  It took everything I had to get through this book because of Saylor.  I love the name though. 

Drew and his crew of misfits is what I read the book for.  The power to fight their diseases and the public opinion was inspiring.

The writing style was not bad, I just despised some characters and the plot but the cover was good.

Synopsis:

Saylor Grayson makes herself sick. Literally.

She ate her first needle when she was seven. Now, at nineteen, she’s been kicked out of college for poisoning herself with laxatives. The shrinks call it Munchausen Syndrome. All Saylor knows is that when she’s ill, her normally distant mother pays attention and the doctors and nurses make her feel special.

Then she meets Drew Dean, the leader of a local support group for those with terminal diseases. When he mistakes her for a new member, Saylor knows she should correct him. But she can’t bring herself to, not after she’s welcomed into a new circle of friends. Friends who, like Drew, all have illnesses ready to claim their independence or their lives.

For the first time, Saylor finds out what it feels like to be in love, to have friends who genuinely care about her. But secrets have a way of revealing themselves. What will happen when Saylor’s is out?

Forever First Series by RaShelle Workman

Touching Melody by RaShelle Workman
 

Touching Melody is the first installment in the Forever First series by RaShelle Workman.  This is a NA book with a YA feel, it’s good but not great.  Although I liked the twist and turns, this was not to write home to your mother about.  I didn’t have a stand out factor and I didn’t connect to Maddie. She was hot and cold about Kyle.  For her to have so many issues with him she sure didn’t waste any time falling head over heels.  I did, however, like Kyle’s characters and how nurturing and understanding her was.  I liked the twist at the end, but that was to be expected if you saw the foreshadowing throughout this read.

Overall it was just ok at 2 ½ stars.

Synopsis:

Maddie Martin's first weekend at college is nothing like she's used to. It's wild, like the wilderness on which the University of Bellam Springs sits. Roped into going to a fraternity party, she literally runs into Kyle Hadley. The boy she's loved since she was nine. The boy she promised all of her firsts to. But that was before his father killed her parents.

Determined to stay away from him, she throws herself into her music. Practicing piano eases her heavy heart, calms the sadness, and pushes away images of Kyle's face.

Until it doesn't.

Her music professor asks her to play a duet for their annual Winter Gala. Doing so means she'll be assured another full ride scholarship. It's an opportunity she can't pass up.

But Kyle is the other half of the duet. And that means hours and hours of practicing.

Weeks of seclusion - just the two of them. And it's more than just music. It's passion like Maddie never believed was possible.

The inevitable happens. She falls in love with him all over again.

But, will loving him be enough to erase all the hate in her heart for his father? Can she look at him, and not see the evil in his family tree?

And maybe it's all a set up. Maybe Kyle is only pretending to care so he can finish what his father started, and kill her too.

Finding Bliss

Finding Bliss by Dina Silver

 

Finding Bliss started off at a great pave quickly catching and holding my attention then fizzled out just as fast.  I think starting off this story in the NA genre was a great asset, but moving into the adult aspect killed it for me.  I thought that there was too much jumping in years and that threw me for a loop.  I wanted to know the details of the relationship better rather that left feeling rushed.  I mean, the couple went from pining over each other in college to moving in together after college in 2 pages; come on to make it believable I need deets.

We did see some character development in Chloe; I felt that she could have been more compassionate and relatable.  Tyler worked so hard for a relationship with Chloe to throw it all away, you never want to see this in a book, but that’s real life folks. I didn’t ge the ending either, so I was left wanting more.

This book would have been awesome if it would have stuck with the NA feel and not followed these two throughout their lives.

Synopsis:

  Chloe Carlyle has always longed for the perfect family.

Growing up with an alcoholic single mother, she has seen her share of heartbreak and disappointment, and is striving to build a new legacy for herself. After graduating from college, she takes a job working as a summer girl for the Reeds––a wealthy, accomplished family that personifies her American dream. Her summer takes an unexpected turn when the Reeds’ eldest son Tyler, the star quarterback for Notre Dame, shows up and turns her life upside down.

An ambitious young woman with a wry sense of humor, Chloe never imagined herself as the type to succumb to the looks and charms of the hometown hero, but she falls hard for Tyler, and is devastated when they part ways at the end of the summer. As she heads off to law school, Chloe tries to convince herself this was just a fling, but she can’t quite get over him. It’s not until Tyler contacts her out of the blue late one winter night that everything changes.

After doing everything in her power to build the perfect life, Chloe soon learns that there are things beyond her control. She must draw on inner reserves of strength as her life takes unpredictable—and sometimes heartbreaking—twists and turns, and she finds herself faced with decisions she never thought she’d have to make. Poignant, heartfelt, and emotional, Finding Bliss is a reminder that you don’t have to live a fairytale life in order to have a happy ending.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Leopard's Prey by Christine Feehan

Leopard's Prey




So, two book reviews in one day...I must be running a fever (oh wait, I am...a low-grade one, courtesy of my miserable, on-going summer of dental and sinus problems). I haven't completed many reviews this summer for those reasons, but I'm going to try to finish this one before my medication kicks in and sends me to la-la land. Oh, and as an aside, if you happen to know any natural cures for sinus problems, that don't involve antibiotics, feel free to leave me a comment. Would love to hear some!

Okay, so I've been reading Christine Feehan for years, and she is one of my favorite authors. I don't read all of her books, but I do read her Dark series and her Leopard People series. I tried to read the others, but I just can't get into them as easily. 

Leopard's Prey is set in the bayou of Louisiana, and I love books set in the bayou with good ole' Cajun boys. And I'm glad that we're getting to see more of the Boudreaux brothers, as well. Leopard's Prey is Remy Boudreaux's story. Remy, Remy, Remy is so dreamy...couldn't resist, but really, he is. Feehan can write a steamy story, and Leopard's Prey is no exception. Lots of smokin' hot scenes with a strong alpha male that doesn't back down from a fight, and particularly when it comes to his woman. One of her strong points is her smokin' hot scenes...and in my opinion, she needs to capitalize on that as frequently as possible (hehe).

Feehan can also write a fairly decent mystery, and a good crime scene, and she has good attention to detail. Some of the elements of the mystery with this one were a little contrived and predictable, but it was still a good story. Sometimes, she's a little long in the tooth and goes off on these tangents as she does with the Carpathian language stuff in the Dark series that I'm just no interested in and probably will never be interested in (as are a few fans that I know of, as well). With this one, there's a little overemphasis on rocks...seriously, rocks? Oh well, maybe it was just filler. At times, though, it almost feels as if she's just taken up a new hobby that she's overly eager to share: cooking, music, linguistics 101, etymology, rock climbing, mineralogy, etc. To be real, it can all be a little over the top...

I really enjoyed the first half of Leopard's Prey, but the last one-hundred pages, I started to lose a little interest, and by that point, there were a slew of bad guys to keep up with that it was exhausting. I think that I liked Saria and Drake's story better overall, but I would love to see Gage Boudreaux get his own story next. 

Blurb: From a tough stint in the armed forces to stalking the unknown as a bayou cop, leopard shifter Remy Boudreaux has been served well by his uncanny gifts. And right now, New Orleans could use a homicide detective like Remy.
A serial killer is loose, snatching victims from the French Quarter with pitiless rage and unnatural efficiency. But something else is drawing Remy into the twilight—a beautiful jazz singer bathed night after night in a flood of bloodred neon.
Sultry, mysterious and as seductive as her songs, she’s luring Remy deeper into the shadows than he ever imagined. And as their passions swell, his keen instinct for survival will be challenged like never before. By a killer-and a woman.
Leopard's Prey: 4 out of 5 stars!
Reviewed by Susannah;)))