Friday, June 28, 2013

Immortals Book Trailer




I can not wait for this series!  It is one of my favorites.  Oh, and the author is pretty cool too! <3 ednah="" nbsp="" p="" you="">
 

This Girl

This Girl by Coleen Hoover

 
5 Stars
This girl loved this book.  This girl cried in this book.  This girl is a great ending to the Slammed series. Colleen Hoover did it again with This Girl.  The amazing written, emotionally charged finale to Will and Lake’s saga had me laughing, crying, smiling, and ultimately happily.

This Girl is an untimely classic that will leave readers touched in many ways.  The strength that this couple has from the situations they have been put in is inspiring and uplifting. Giving readers insight into Will’s world and adding much more to the story from his point of view will have the audience hooked.

   I have read Slammed and Point of Retreat and loved them, but the combined stroies and future told from Will’s point of view had me crying not once, but twice by the time I was 20% into the book (and I have only cried in 2 books in my life…well 3 now).  I know the story, I have read the books, but Will’s view hit me in the gut.  This story will stick with me forever.  I thought when I started reading this book that it would be a companion book, but it was so much more.  I can not say enough about This Girl.  Readers get out your tissue, you will need it. I could go on and on about This Girl, but I wanted my review to be a classic as the book. Colleen Hoover you are a genius end of story! 

Summary:

 Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.
In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

Dark Protectors Series

Twisted by Rebecca Zanetti
3 1/2 stars
Twisted is number 5.5 in the Dark Protectors series by Rebecca Zanetti.  This is the second book that I have read by this author; the other was the Maverick Montana series which I love.  I love an author who can cross genres and not miss a beat.  Since paranormal and romance are my two favorite genres I love her even more.  I will have to go back and read this series at some point.

This action packed tailspin was lacking nothing.  I felt like starting this series at book five would be a disadvantage, but I was quickly swept into the story and into the lives of Zanetti’s shifters. 

I give the stand alone factor of this book props because I was not lost at all while reading.  Maggie is funny with her clumsiness.  Where so you start with Terrent?  I had Joe Manganiello pictured in my head for his character (maybe this is beacuse True Blood is back this summer).  Smoking hot is the only words that come to mind and leaving me speechless is hard to do, congratulations Ms. Zanetti.  Needless to say I liked this book because of Terrent.  It just makes me wonder what hotness that I am missing in this series. 

Synopsis:

 Maggie is a wolf shifter who was captured and experimented on by the Kurjans. Now that a cure has finally been found for shifters (although not for vampire mates or witches), she can concentrate on creating a new life for herself and finally accepting that her memories are gone forever. Most memories, that is. Sometimes in the hazy world between dreams and dawn, she hears a Scottish voice, dark and deep, that sounds suspiciously like wolf-shifter Terrent Vilks. A man she happened to anger by kidnapping a few years back. Hey, it was for a good cause.
Terrent Vilks knows more than he’s let on for the past several years. After digging for answers, he knows exactly why the demons want Maggie dead. And he remembers his past with Maggie…very well. She is finally where he wants her. Now all he has to do is discover what exactly the Kurjans did to her, beat the demons into so much submission they leave her alone, and get her to fall in love with him. Again. Good thing he’s used to wrangling monsters.

You tell me if Joe is Terrent...
 

White Trash Trilogy

White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

5 stars

White Trash Beautiful is the debut in Teresa Mummert’s White Trash Trilogy.  My blog co-host and BFF Susannah read and reviewed this one for RT Magazine and told me to BOLO it for the summer.  I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this one and I am speechless.

Wow…just wow.  This book blew me away.  I was hooked from the first lines in this book. “I’m not na├»ve.  I know I don’t get the happily ever after.”  You know you are in for some drama with an opening like that; and I do mean DRAMA.  I didn’t know that I would be so connected to this story. This emotional riveting masterpiece had me on the edge of my seat.  I did not put this book down until the last period.  This is going in my top 20 ”must read”list.  I have never heard of Teresa Mummert, but I will be looking for her books to add to my reader ASAP.  I need more!

This book follows Cass as she is beat down, pushed around, and struggling with the hand that life has dealt her.  From her addict boyfriend to her dead in job and trailer park home this girl can not catch a break.  Until…Tucker White.  A mysterious stranger walks into her section in the diner where she is a waitress.  He shakes up her world and wants to protect her from her life and abusive boyfriend.  She reluctantly pushes him away and finds out he is a super star singer for a famous band.  She sneaks around and sees Tucker every chance she gets, but does not think she deserves better than the life she has.

Cass’ character is flawed and I found myself wanting to protect her, shake her to wake her up, and cry for her all at the same time.  She is given opportunities to remove herself from her life, but is loyal to her family.  I loved her character.

Tucker White is so HOT!  I’m not sure what to say about him.  He is a devoted bad boy rocker, with a sensitive side.  He is doing all he can to remove Cass from her terrible life and give her better; she keeps turning him down.  Tucker come and save me, I won’t say no!  I think Tucker White is giving Travis Maddox a run for his money in the book boyfriend department. 

Think of this book as a mash up of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, Defying the Odds by Kele Moon, and Thoughtless by SC Stephens.  I can not wait to see what’s in store for us in the next installment.  I would even read about the rest of the band.  I really am interested in the Twins; they would make a great addition to this series or heck, give them their own!

I am giving you a standing ovation Ms. Mummert.  Please keep up the good work!

On another note I am a huge Maroon 5 fan (ask Susannah I drug her to their concert a few months ago) and I might be dreaming but I thought there were several M5 references such as: One More Night “The lyrics were beautiful, talking about staying with the person he no longer wanted for on more night.” Beautiful Goodbye or Sweetest Goodbye (I’ll let you pick) “He sang about having to say good-bye, a surprisingly upbeat tune given the subject.” Come Away to the Water “When he sang, “Come away to the water,” I couldn’t help but feel as if he were singing to me.”  Wipe Your Eyes “I’m here to wipe your eyes…’ His eye’s locked on min, and my heart fluttered and kicked into high gear in my chest. I won’t let you down.” I also remember reading (but forgot to highlight so I can not quote) tap on my window, knock on my door, I want to make you feel beautiful.
 
Synopsis
 
Cass Daniels isn’t waiting for her knight in shining armor. She knows that girls like her don’t get a happily ever after. Not if you live in a trailer with your mom, work at a greasy spoon diner, and get leered at by old men. Maybe that’s why she puts up with Jackson—her poor excuse for a boyfriend, who treats her like dirt. Cass has learned to accept her lot in life. That is, until he walks into her diner. 
His name is Tucker White, and he’s different from any man Cass has ever known. Tall, tattooed, and bad-ass gorgeous, he’s the lead singer of the rock band Damaged. From the moment they meet, Tucker sees something in Cass he just can’t shake. Something beautiful. Something haunted. Something special. And he’s determined to find out what it is—if only he can get her to open up and let him in. . . .

Rouge

Rouge by Leigh T Moore

3 stars

Rouge is the first installment in the Cheveux Roux series.  I personally can not get into books written in different eras, and honestly did not know when I started this one that it was, but I enjoyed the unique plot of this book.

The setting was descriptive and I felt like I was right there with Hale.  I loved every heartfelt character in this book.  But I just find it hard to read this period style romance.  I will not be reading more of this series if it was my syle I would be all over it, but if you are a fan of historical romance then this is the series for you!

Synopsis

Romance, velvet, sequins, and murder...
Hale Ferrer is the rising star of the hottest cabaret in New Orleans. And her one goal is escape. Escape from the lies, from the crime, and from her growing fear that one day she'll have to earn her living in the secret back rooms, where the dancers do more than dance.
But she won't leave behind Teeny, the orphan-girl she promised to protect.
Freddie Lovel is rich, handsome, and in love with Hale, and he's ready to sweep her away with him to Paris. But her heart is captured by Beau, the poor stagehand with eyes as blue as Louisiana iris flowers.
Denying her fears, Hale is ready to choose love and a life with Beau, until a predator hidden in the wings launches a chain of events that could cost her everything--Teeny, their one hope of escape, and possibly even her life.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Quality Candy

Quality Candy by Ava Catori
 
 

 2 stars

Quality Candy is a new adult romance by Ava Catori.  I don’t have a lot of good things to say about this one folks.  Sorry.  I felt the premise was good but the delivery was bad.

The main character Candy was flawed beyond belief, and I just could not connect with this story.  It also felt repetitive; the plot lagged and seemed detached.  This book was mediocre at best.  I did, however, love the cover.  The best I can do on this one is 2 stars and one star is for the cover itself.

Synopsis:

Candace Brown had a past, one that she kept well hidden. Now that she had snagged a promotion at work, she was feeling pretty good about herself - that is until Ryan enters the pictures.
Ryan Gentry knows Candy's past. In fact, she's the one who took his virginity ten years ago. Only seeing her unexpectedly throws him off of his game, and he finds himself attracted to the girl he once knew.
Avoiding Ryan becomes Candace's goal, until he lands smack in her office. Can she continue to push him away when chemistry starts to brew? Accepting Ryan into her world means accepting her past, and that's one thing she's still running from.
How far would you run to escape your past, and what would you sacrifice to keep a firm grip on your future? Candace Brown is about to find out.

Cityscape Series

Come Undone by Jessica Hawkins
4 ½ stars

Come Undone is the first installment in the Cityscape series and what a HOT series it is.  The only problem that readers might have with this story-line is it is about an extra marital affair.  This is the books only downfall.

I, as an open minded happily married woman and mother of two, can see where temptations can come into marriages; I also do believe if you are tempted to stray then get divorced and do what makes you happy.  I also am a fan of this book, it is fiction and it is romance and it is steamy.

It only has one sex scene, but the chemistry these two have is off the chain.  I wish Olivia had this with her husband but he seems to be over looking her.  I also wanted Bill aka the husband to do something like have an affair or get wacked by the gang so Liv could be with David.  Does that make me a bad person?  I hope not.

I think that this scenario happens with a lot of married couples.  They just get into a routine, a rut if you will, and do not know how to get out of it.  Life just happens.  Thank God that I met my David at sixteen and are still going strong after eighteen years (seven of marriage).  But if Channing Tatum ever comes back to Cullman, AL, or Adam Levine, Ian Sommerhalder (or any of the VD male cast) or Tyler Hoechlin comes knocking on my door I might change my mind.  Just kidding I think…

This book is a serious cliffhanger.   I can not believe Ms. Hawkins left us hanging like this.  All I can say is that I hope she continues this series and Liv and David get their happily ever after for such a cliffhanger. 

Synopsis

Olivia Germaine has already found love. Devoted wife, loyal friend, determined career woman - she’s created the life she always envisioned.
But when Olivia locks eyes with a handsome stranger across a crowded room, he peers a little too closely and sees emotions she thought she’d buried long ago.
David Dylan, alleged playboy and eternal bachelor, challenges Olivia to confront the life she’s built and to make decisions that could either lead to happiness . . . or regret.
Will Olivia be able to draw the line between lust and love?
And can David respect that line?
 
 
Come Alive by Jessica Hawkins
 
4 1/2 stars
 
Come Alive is the second book in the Cityscape series and continues the love triangle of Olivia, Bill (the husband), and David (the affair).  I devoured both books in one day and I am waiting patiently on the next chapter.
I can not get over this series and the emotional journey that we are one while reading Cityscapes.  I did, however, find Liv kind of annoying in this one. The stupid decisions she makes and the depth of her deception make me want to shake her. Stop stringing David along if you want him and leave Bill.  Just pick one already and stop being greedy. I think that she is so broken and ashamed in the beginning that she is not rational.  She thinks if she does not think about her affair (in book one) and acts normal that it will just go away.  She does not see that in by doing this she is not acting normal and shutting everyone out.  I also think that this guilt trip that she is on is believable and well written.  Her flaws capture readers and draw them into her world.
And what can I say about David he is rich, hot, and totally in love with Olivia.  He is her rock and she tells him things that she does not tell her husband.  He is a demanding, passionate, playboy and a fool to coming running back every times she calls.  Bill on the other hand is a hard working, loyal husband that wants to give Liv the house, kids, and future.  I feel sorry for Bill in this book, but he does not see the signs on the rocky relationship he has and if he suspects anything he does nothing to fix it.  I wanted to slap some sense into him and give him a wake up call.
I liked the first book but the emotion in this book is so unbelievably heartfelt that I was swept into the story and my heart broke for these characters.  The cast in this book are more passionate thus captivating the audience.  The ending was what I had hoped for and I can’t wait to see what come next.  This book is on my “must read” list.  I give this book 4 1/2 stars and I love the cover!
Synposis
Determined to move on with her life, Olivia Germaine has vowed to forget David Dylan. Struggling to keep her head above water, she focuses on her new promotion and refuses to drown in the memory of their night together.
But when Olivia realizes what life without David means, she must decide if she is willing to risk everything for him . . . and if she is ready to reopen the wounds of her past.
Can Olivia move forward with her marriage despite her feelings for David?
And can David stay away like he promised?
 
 

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Ghost Huntress: The Journey

Ghost Huntress: The Jouney by Marley Gibson

 
This is the sixth installment of the Ghost Huntress series is The Journey is a sizzling addition to the series.  I have never read the rest of this series, but the author does a great job of giving back-story information and sets the stage for this book.

Kendall and the gang are at it again and are in Europe for this book.  Between boy troubles, famous ghost and a teenage boy wonder physic to boot the group are in for a wild vacation.

I can not give a review without spoilers so I will go somewhat generic with this review.  I loved the descriptive back-story setting this book up.  It really helps for readers like me who are just starting out the series.  The characters are really interesting and I love the hint of romance.  Oh and Jason is who I an rooting for!

Synopsis
Teen psychic Kendall Moorehead is about to embark on the most dangerous and shocking ghost hunt of her life. After all, it isn’t every day that the ghost of Princess Diana steps in as a personal spirit guide. But Shy Di isn’t the only surprise awaiting Kendall and her team of teen paranormal superstars as they begin a whirlwind tour of Europe with renowned TV medium Oliver Bates.
As soon as Kendall sets foot on British soil she immediately encounters her first specter—a meeting that raises many questions, and sends her hot boyfriend Patrick rushing to help with the mystery…and to comfort in the way only a boyfriend can. Surely the trip to Paris and Rome will be even more romantic than this first day in London. That is if Kendall’s ex-boyfriend Jason stays out of the way.
But love problems and eerie British ghosts aren’t Kendall’s only problems. Team leader Oliver has brought along Scottish teen psychic Christian Campbell, a rising star with a sinister aura about him—literally. When Christian starts dabbling with a Ouija board during their paranormal investigations, things turn dark, as a potentially demonic entity named Dojo emerges. This being torments Kendall, making her doubt her mission and calling as a psychic. Kendall races to battle not only Christian and his shadowy methods, but also Dojo…wondering if both m

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Confessions Series

Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend by Louise Rozett


The second book in the Confessions series by Louise Rozett is a heartfelt coming of age novel that follows the maturation of Rose Zarelli.  The book focuses on real situations that are believable and teens struggle with today.

Rose is a high school sophomore that is insecure with herself, grieving her father’s death, and lashing out in her own way even though she does not realize it.  She is also feeling sorry for her peers who are bullied, falling in love with a guy who is on the fence with his feelings, and trying to find herself.

This story contains raw emotional narration and dialog that I could not ignore.  It is beautifully written and believable.  The author captures a moment in time where situations could make or break you and this heroine rises to the occasion and overcomes.  The triumph and revelations on Rose’s journey to finding herself is a masterpiece.  I was rooting for her the entire book.

As for Jamie, what can I saw about him…make up your mind and stop stringing Rose along.  I love his flawed character and his tenderness toward Rose, but get with the program and realize what you have in front of you. 

The ending was spot on, I loved that Rose found what she was looking for.  The full circle that went have gone on with this character was endearing to say the least.  I am happy that Rose is on the road to finding herself.

For all my followers out there, you know that I am hooked on series and I can not wait for the next chapter in the Confessions series.  I (and everyone else who has read this book) want to know what happens to Rose and Jamie; I am rooting for you two.  And not to forget Tracy, Peter, Holly, and Conrad we want more. I am rating this book 4 star and I love the cover!

Synopsis

Rose Zarelli has big plans for sophomore year—everything is going to be different. This year, she’s going to be the talented singer with the killer voice, the fabulous girl with the fashionista best friend, the brainiac who refuses to let Jamie Forta jerk her around...
...but if she’s not careful, she’s also going to be the sister who misses the signals, the daughter who can only think about her own pain, the “good girl” who finds herself in mid-scandal again (because no good deed goes unpunished) and possibly worst of all...the almost-girlfriend.
When all else fails, stop looking for love and go find yourself.

Coveted Series

Coveted by Shawntelle Madison
 
3 stars

 For me this book was a quick read and the first installment in a new YA paranormal series.  This book has it all werewolfs, wizards, hoarders, necromancers to name a few.  It starts off 5 years earlier and goes into the present.  The romantic tension can be cut with a knife and the plot is well thought out.  I will be looking forward to the second installment in this series. 

 

Natalya Stravinsky is a lone werewolf from South Toms River, NJ who left her pack.  She is now working at a flea market selling antiques to finicky magical and supernatural creatures.  Five years ago her oh so hot boyfriend, Thorn Grantham, left her and Nat’s world fell apart.  She is now a hoarder and a rouge wolf estranged from her family.  Thorn is back taking over the pack as alpha and has his hand full.  Natalya has been targeted by a rival pack but no one knows why.

 

OVERVIEW

 

For werewolf Natalya Stravinsky, the supernatural is nothing extraordinary. What does seem strange is that she’s stuck in her hometown of South Toms River, New Jersey, the outcast of her pack, selling antiques to finicky magical creatures. Restless and recovering from her split with gorgeous ex-boyfriend, Thorn, Nat finds comfort in an unusual place: her obsessively collected stash of holiday trinkets. But complications pile up faster than her ornaments when Thorn returns home—and the two discover that the spark between them remains intense.

Before Nat can sort out their relationship, she must face a more immediate and dangerous problem. Her pack is under attack from the savage Long Island werewolves—and Nat is their first target in a turf war. Toss in a handsome wizard vying for her affection, a therapy group for the anxious and enchanted, and the South Toms River pack leader ready to throw her to the wolves, and it’s enough to give anybody a panic attack. With the stakes as high as the full moon, Nat must summon all of her strength to save her pack and, ultimately, herself.




Bitter Disenchantment by Shawntelle Madison

This prequel to the Coveted series gives the reader an insight into the life of the favorite character Agatha before she moved in with Natalya in South Toms River.

From reading Coveted the reader gets a hint of the past life of Aggie, but fans have no idea what this beloved character has gone through until they read this novella.  This installment gives readers the glimpse into Aggie’s pre­-arranged marriage and the reasons she left her father high and dry and turned her back on her pack.

I loved this prequel and Aggie’s strength.  I loved her in Coveted, but her humor and sexual innuendos were not in this book.  It revolved her struggles, trials, and tribulations.  I really respect her character after reading this and do not think of her as the snarky and witty sidekick to Nat.

Synopsis:

Werewolf Natalya Stravinsky's outspoken sidekick, Aggie McClure, is featured in this prequel novella. Before Agatha set foot in South Toms River, New Jersey, she had the fight of her life to face. Destined to be the alpha female over her Manhattan pack, Aggie was fully prepared to take on her role until her father arranges a marriage without her consent. She wants out–but the only way is with money–something her new controlling husband won't give her to escape. But such odds never kept a wolf like Aggie down. To sever the twisted tie, she finds herself pitted against raging wood nymphs and backstabbing brownies in an underground supernatural fighting ring. With every victory, the sweet taste of freedom is closer, but her husband isn't willing to let her go that easily. Until the very end, Aggie must fight for the one thing she's never had: a choice.

 

Author Interview with Kate Meader

Interview with Author Kate Meader
 
 

BS Book Reviewers were fortunate enought to get an exclusive ineterview with author Kate Meader of the HOT new series HOT IN THE KITCHEN. 


Did you always want to be a writer?

Funnily enough, no! I’m not one of those writers who had voices in her head demanding that their stories be told. I didn’t write long stanzas of terrible poetry in high school or fill pages of writing journals with my deepest, innermost thoughts. But I was approaching a certain milestone birthday a couple of years back and I started to thinking that maybe I’ve been watching too much TV and perhaps, I have a book in me. Everyone thinks this, I believe. Some people start and give up. Some people never start at all. But I knew I had at least one book in me and that anything I wrote would probably be on the lighter side because that’s what I like to read – funny banterfests like Julie James or Janet Evanovich. So in November 2010, I began to write my first book during National Novel Writing Month and the rest, as they say…

                                                               
What inspiration did you have for writing Feel the Heat?

I’m a big fan of chef memoirs, cooking shows, and culinary romance. There’s something about a strong, in-charge leader in the kitchen becoming undone by love, and any guy who knows how to seduce with food—and a few well-chosen words—just sets my heart aflutter. I also wanted to examine the perils of fame and how the anonymity of the Internet allows consumers a weird measure of ownership over people they don’t know. That all sounds very serious, but Feel the Heat is really a funny take on a love affair played out in the public eye. With pasta.


Will Feel the Heat be the start of a new series? If so which character will be featured in the next book?

Feel the Heat is the first in the Hot in the Kitchen series about an Italian-American restaurant-owning family and the sexy, sizzling chefs who love them. Book 1 is about Jack Kilroy, celebrity chef, and Lili DeLuca, artist-photographer and all-round regular gal. Book 2, All Fired Up is about Cara DeLuca, Lili’s buttoned-up sister and Shane Doyle, a hot Irish pastry chef. These two have secrets and issues galore that will be resolved with the help of mouth-watering lemon tarts and decadent chocolate ganache-iced cakes. The final book in the series is Hot and Bothered, which is about Tad DeLuca, the bad boy cousin of Cara and Lili. It’s a friends-to-lovers story and his soul mate is Juliet Kilroy (sister of Jack from Feel the Heat), a reformed bad girl who harbors cooking ambitions in the kitchen.

What are you working on now?

Right now, I’m finishing up Hot and Bothered, Book 3 of the Hot in the Kitchen series and am about to start edits for All Fired Up, Book 2. The release date for All Fired Up was originally August, but has been pushed back to November. I don’t have a release date for Book 3 yet. I’m also finishing up a novella about Laurent, Jack Kilroy’s French chef pal, rival, and wingman in Feel the Heat. I’ve had a few people tell me his story needs to be told!


Who is your favorite author?

Oh, so many! I read mostly contemporary and historical, so my favorites are across the board. I love Jenny Crusie, Victoria Dahl, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Julie James, Beth Kery, and Ruthie Knox. In historical, I’m a big fan of Julie Ann Long and Tessa Dare.

What is your favorite book?

Probably Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie. It’s hilarious and romantic, and it’s got lots of drooling over food.

*************

 


GIVEAWAY FOR FEEL THE HEAT

Kate is giving away a signed trade paperback copy of FEEL THE HEAT on Goodreads. You have until June 25th to enter: https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/55543-feel-the-heat

*************


FEEL THE HEAT by Kate Meader

Hot in the Kitchen, Book 1

IF YOU CAN'T STAND THE HEAT . . .

Photographer Lili DeLuca spends all her time managing her family's Italian restaurant, instead of following her dream of getting an MFA. When famous British chef Jack Kilroy unexpectedly challenges her father to a cook-off, Lili decides she's tired of playing it safe and vows to seduce the tempting Brit. But once a video of her and Jack kissing goes viral and her luscious butt starts trending on Twitter, Lili fears she's cooked up a recipe for disaster.

. . . GET INTO THE BEDROOM

Jack Kilroy's celebrity has left him feeling used and used up. While Lili's oh-so-sexy moans when she tastes his delicious creations turn him on, he's even more aroused by how unimpressed this beautiful, funny woman is with his fame. He knows they could be amazing together, if she could only see past his bitch fork-wielding fan base. Now, as he's about to start a new prime time TV cooking show, can Jack convince Lili to realize her own ambitions - and turn up the heat in his kitchen?


 

About Kate

Kate Meader writes contemporary romance that serves up delicious food, to-die-for heroes, and heroines with a dash of sass. Originally from Ireland, she cut her romance reader teeth on Catherine Cookson and Jilly Cooper novels, with some Mills & Boons thrown in for variety. Give her tales about brooding mill owners, oversexed equestrians, and men who can rock an apron, and she’s there. She has a bachelor’s in law (useless), a master’s in history (not as useless), and another master’s in library and information science (yay, using). When not writing about men who cook and the women who drool over them, she works in an academic library. Her stories are set in her adopted home town of Chicago, a city made for food, romance, and laughter – and where she met her own sexy hero. For news, excerpts, and recipes, check out her website at http://www.katemeader.com.

Links
Contact: kate.meader@gmail.com

Website: http://katemeader.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorkatemeader

Twitter: @kittymeader

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6551743.Kate_Meader

Blog: http://katemeader.com/blog/

 

 

Monday, June 24, 2013

Zane

Zane by Brenda Jackson

 
So the Westmoreland family is a great family to write about and this story was not a disappointment.  I really love a good cowboy romance and this was right up my alley; but unfortunately was lacking something that I could not put my finger on.

The character Zane was a little to average and I can say that I could care less weather this couple got together or not.  This story was almost lackluster and boring.  I would have rather read about the other brother.

I give this book a 2 ½ star for concept but follow through was lacking.  I really wanted to fall in love Zane I just couldn’t connect.

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author Brenda Jackson— the first of a new trilogy starring three Westmorelands who are impossible to resist: Zane, Canyon and Stern.
No woman walks away from Zane Westmoreland. But when Channing Hastings does just that, it leaves the rancher reeling— and then she returns to town, engaged! Zane will do whatever it takes to show her that there is no man for her but him.

Sunday, June 23, 2013

Sunshine

Sunshine by Nikki Rae

 
I got this book from my Goodreads group to read and review.  I like to do these from time to time and give myself a change up and introduce me to a new author.  I started reading this book with no expectations, but finished wanting more.

This book is most definitely a YA because there was only one kiss in this book, leaving me hoping there was more; the further I read the more I was hoping for more romance but I didn’t get it.  That did not change the fact that the plot was interesting and the characters developed well.  The book lagged at times, and needed some good editing, but was overall a good read.  I assume there will be a sequel; I hope it goes into detail more than this series starter did. 

I would have loved to see more romance, action, and clarity in the plot lines; but overall I was happy with this book.  I give it 3 stars!

Synopsis

 18 year old Sophie Jean is pretty good at acting normal. Sure, she’s not exactly happy, but happiness is nothing compared to being like everyone else. She can pretend she’s not allergic to the sun. She can hide what her ex-boyfriend did to her. She can cover up the scars she’s made for herself. Ignore anything. Forget anything. Then Myles enters her life, and he has more than a few secrets of his own. When accident after accident keeps happening to Sophie, she can’t help noticing that he’s everywhere. That he knows too much. That she’s remembering too much.
It’s one thing covering up her own dark past, but does she really need to worry about people finding out just how much Myles likes her? Or that despite how much she doesn’t want to repeat past mistakes, she kind of likes him back? Not to mention the fact that she now has to conceal that Myles drinks blood-that he says he’s about four hundred years old.
She almost forgot about that part.
But Sophie has no plans to ruin the normal life she has created for herself. She can deal with this little glitch, no problem. Even if word has gotten around to the wrong vampire about Sophie and Myles, even if she’s putting the few people she loves at risk. Suddenly, those who were monsters before are just people, and the monsters? They’re real. Now being a normal human being is the least of her problems. Now she has to stay alive.

Friday, June 21, 2013

Living Dangerously

Living Dangerously by Dee J. Adams
 

Living Dangerously by Dee J. Adams is the fourth installment in the Adrenaline Heights series and I loved every word of it.  I did not know and could not tell that this book was part of a series.  The stand alone factor was through the roof.  I did not feel the need to go back and read the first three books or get lost in characters.

This is the first book that I have read by Ms. Adams and it will not be the last.  I loved this book so much that I did not want to put it down.  I felt connected to the hero and heroine in this story and could put myself in their world.  The setting in this book is hot and the romance is even hotter. 

I can not wait until the next book, in the mean time I will be going back and reading the first three in this series. 

Synopsis:

Julie Fraser, Hollywood's newest "it" girl, arrives on the red carpet to more than just the flashes of the paparazzi's cameras. A sniper's shots leave her bleeding and in the line of fire. Her life would be over if it weren't for the bodyguard who comes to the rescue—taking a bullet in the process.
Troy Mills, a P.I. working undercover, couldn't stand by and watch an innocent woman die, but now he's torn. How can he tell her that he's not a bodyguard, but a P.I.? A P.I. hired to prove that Julie is sleeping with the movie producer he's pretending to protect.
When a second attempt is made on Julie's life, Troy realizes that keeping her safe is more important than any supposed affair. And in order to keep her safe, he'll have to keep her close. But desire and danger are hot on Julie's heels. Who could have guessed that protecting an A-list actress would not only put Troy's life in jeopardy, but his heart as well?

 

Musical Ink

Musical Ink by John Blacker
 

This book is a coffee table style book that will be a great conversation piece.  Now matter if you are tattooed or not, you will love this book.  The photographer interviewed and took pictures of musician’s tattoos.  The musicians are not just heavy metal as you would think; this book contains every musical genre from opera to rockabilly. 

Not only did the tattoos wow me, but the stories behind the ink are really interesting.  I really enjoyed this book and so did my husband and neither of us have tattoos and we have different taste in music too.  Musical Ink needs to be on coffee tables across America.

Monday, June 17, 2013

Immortal Cover Reveal


Immortal Cover Reveal



Release Date: August 5, 2013

Publisher: Firetrail Publishing




Synopsis:

Nothing can stop Raine Cooper when she wants something…

Raine finally knows that her gorgeous neighbor, Torin St. James, is a legend straight out of Norse mythology but that doesn’t stop her from falling hard for him. Torin is crazy about Raine too, breaking the one rule he lives by: Never fall for a mortal. The problem is he no longer remembers her or that she saved him by making a deal with Norns—Norse destiny deities—the same Norns who have now erased his memories of their past together to punish her.

So Raine comes up with a plan...

She will make Torin forget his one rule a second time and fall in love with her all over again. But before Raine can put her plan into action, the Norns return. This time, they demand she protects Eirik Seville, her best friend since childhood, from an evil so dark even the Norns are scared.

But you know what they say about well-laid plans…

Caught between protecting Eirik and convincing the stubborn, cocky Torin St. James that the two of them are meant to be together, Raine's life slowly unravels. Friendships are tested. Enemies become allies. Desperate, Raine makes choices that could not only tear her and Torin further apart, but lead to the destruction of everything and everyone she loves.
Check out Ednah at:


On a personal note I love Ednah and I abosutely love this series.  I am counting down the days to this release date!

Saturday, June 15, 2013

Heart of Dixie Writers' Luncheon

 I recently had the pleasure of attending the Heart of Dixie's annual writers' luncheon and I had such a great time that I wanted to give a shout-out to those Southern gals with the Heart of Dixie! There are some incredible writers with the Heart of Dixie chapter, and if you're anywhere in the area next June, make plans to attend this event. In fact, I'm going to try my hardest to be in attendance myself. Here is a link to an article that I wrote for RT Book Reviews covering the event:

http://www.rtbookreviews.com/rt-daily-blog/southern-authors-celebrate-romance-heart-dixie

*As an aside, that's my Mom with J.T. Ellison. She happened to win the book poster. Additionally, I won one of the author baskets.

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Project: Boy Next Door

PROJECT: BOY NEXT DOOR
L.K. Madigan
4 stars 

Project: Boy Next Door, published posthumously, is a true gem deserving of a voice in the YA literature world. Smart, heartfelt, and with wonderful characterization, Madigan's latest, unmistakably, as all the makings of a great story. Being true to oneself is the theme and the even pacing throughout means there is never a dull moment, while the teenage dialogue is very on point. Additionally, readers will be touched by the backstory as the book appears to have been a true labor of love. Don’t miss out on this one!
Summaries: Melvin Pepper, teenage son of a famous mogul, wants to experience the one thing that he’s never experienced before: anonymity. To do so, he creates an alter ego for himself, enrolls in a public high school, joins a radio club, and takes a job as a busboy. It doesn’t take long for him to realize that maintaining two separate identities is a lot harder than he imagined. As he struggles between the two separate worlds, he finds out a lot about himself, while making a discovery that will bring both of his worlds colliding.  (May, 199 pp.)

Reviewed by: Susannah Balch



This review can be seen in its entirety by following this link:

Friday, June 7, 2013

The Assassin's Series

Taking Shots by Toni Aleo

Taking Shots is hot new book starting off the Assassins Series.  This series is about the boys of the Assassins hockey team located in beautiful Nashville, TN.  Being a southern girl myself, yes I live in good ole’ Alabama, and living just over an hour south of Nashville I saw all the charm this book has to offer.  Nashville is a good day trip for me and I will be sure to be checking out some of the locations mentioned in this book.  Finally a book set in the south with southern charm and slang.  I love the authenticity of this book and will be devouring the rest of this series one at a time.

This book is a little lengthy, but around every corner was something new so it didn’t take away from the read that much.  I did, however, find myself at some points asking when will it end?  Like I already stated I loved the southern setting and that the female protagonist in this book was definitely a southern belle.  The fact that she had major flaws and not just your everyday stick skinny leading lady was refreshing.  But the major character flaws and over analyzing was a bit much, at times even nerve-racking.  I can say that in several scenes I just wanted to shake her and say “really wake up girl”, thus leaving me invested in this book which is somewhat hard to find these days in a southern romance.

The male lead, on the other hand, was a hot, sexy playboy who exudes confidence.  This is a nice balance with the flawed female. The character development of this guy comes full circle in his emotions as well as his lifestyle.  He does things like cry, serenade, and profess his undying love in front of thousands of hockey fans.

I loved that this story had playlists in it.  It helps to bring the scenarios to life and set the mood.  I love that it is a mix of country and pop.  Overall, I give this book a whopping 4 star review.

Shea Adler is the captain of the Nashville Assassins hockey team; he is also the resident playboy who usually gravitates toward the blonde Barbie type.  So when a team photo shoot leaves Shea looking at a different type of woman his interest in piqued.

Elli Fisher is first and foremost a photographer, but she is also a girl with a jaded past.  Her past relationship was a bust, she has a medical condition that has her feeling less than sexy, and her family is horrible.  On the plus side, she loves her job as a photographer and she is set to shoot the team shots for the Nashville Assassins; being an avid hockey fan and never missing a game this is a dream come true for Elli.  Her favorite hockey player happens to be Shea Adler; she has even named her dog Adler after him. 

Shocked when Shea asked her out after the photo shoot, Elli accepts thinking this will be a friend’s zone relationship.  But when Shea wants to pursue a relationship with Elli she feels not worthy leaving Shea wanting more. Through ups and downs, wins and losses, breakups and make ups can this couple can withstand the drama and win the game of love?



Trying to Score by Toni Aleo

 This review contains spoilers.

 Trying to Score is the second edition in The Assassin’s Series and it is sure to be a hit.  This book is exciting and introducing new characters as well as the characters we love from book one.

In my opinion this book is better than the first book.  Don’t get me wrong I loved the first book, but this one blows it out of the water.  If you are a fan of the series you know that the setting is in Nashville, TN and this time we have a transplant from California. 

The story line is different but the concept is the same with a broken female and a cocky hunky male.  This time it is a couple that were hot and heavy in college that broke up and are now working in the same arena years later. 

Move over Elli, Fallon is in town.  I have to say that I liked Fallon’s character better than the lead, Elli, in book one.  I felt like Fallon’s flaws were much more believable and realistic.  Ms. Aleo is so descriptive in her internal dialog that you feel like you are right there with these characters and struggling right along with them.  I was so invested in this story line that I wanted to bitch slap Fallon at times to open her eyes to what a great man Lucas is. 

Lucas Brooks, sigh, what can I say about this exquisite piece of man candy?   He is hot and cocky despite being dyslexic, loves to fight and bite, has been in love with Fallon for years and has a son that he has on idea about.  Lucas is definitely going on my list of book crushes.  He has abs to die for, a sweet side, and aggressive in bed; what more can a woman want.  The redemption factor that this character has along with the sexiness leaves you rooting for him all the way.

Fallon Parker runs her family business Rocky Top Wines who have an establishment in the Luther Arena which is also home to the Nashville Assassins hockey team and Fallon is friends with the owner Elli Adler.  She finds out the newest team member is Lucas Brooks.  The name alone brings back memories that Fallon has been trying to forget.

How can one night change your life?  This is the question that Fallon Parker has asked herself everyday for the last nine years.  Lucas Brooks walked into her life, gave her two good years and then threw it all away by sleeping with her college roommate.  Fallon feels betrayed and leaves California pregnant for her hometown of Nashville, TN.  Raising her son, and running the family wine business is difficult but with her sister’s Audrey’s help she makes it work. 

When Lucas finds out that the love of his life works in the arena, he pulls out all the stops, even befriending Audrey, to try and win Fallon back.  When that doesn’t work he follows her home to find a seven year old boy, mirror image of himself, at her house.  He immediately knows that Aiden James Parker is his son.  Crushed and wanting to know more, Lucas pursues a relationship with his son and Fallon.  Can Fallon get over the past to live in the present?

 
Empty Net by Toni Aleo
 The third book in the Assassin’s series is no doubt to be a hit.  The exciting next chapter in the Nashville Assassins hockey team really brings this team to light, showing not only a team but a family as well. 
This installment focuses on Tate Odder and Audrey Parker.  It also has beloved characters from previous book as well as new characters that tie into the family.  I absolutely love the promise of this story and could not wait until Audrey got her own book.  She was such a strong character in the last book, thus deserving her happy ever after. 
I did have a few issues with this book.  It starts off that Tate has broken English since he is from Sweden, but his dialog was spot on.  And the fact that he calls Audrey “love” makes him sound more British than Swedish. 
On the plus side, I did find it endearing that Tate was quite a bit younger than Audrey, and that he too had issues of his own.  This is the first male protagonist that Ms. Aleo has written in this series that has not been perfect; and the fact that he is still hot and sensitive makes me root for him more. 
I also felt that the issues Audrey had were believable making the character believable and the relationship realistic.  Her character flaws were not redundant making her a great addition to this series.  I don’t know if I could have handled another flawed female with an excess of issues.  That was kind of getting old. 
The foreshadowing this book was impressive.  The little hints along the way had me thinking to myself ok this is not over and what is coming next.
Overall, this was a great addition to this Assassins series and I couldn’t have asked for a better story line.  I can’t wait to see whose addition is next.  I hope Anderson get’s his chance, I would like to see him get knocked on his butt and taken down a notch or two.  I am giving this book 4 stars.
Tate Odder is a rookie goalie brought up in from the Assassins farm team in Florida.  He is from Sweden and has no family and friends in the US.  Lucas Brooks takes him under his wing and is showing him the ropes.  He is out one night and a girl takes his breath away.  He hits on her and the next thing he knows he is waking up in her hotel room.  She leaves before he can get her name.
Audrey Parker is a consult at her family’s wine business.  Her sister is getting married and she is stuck in love with a looser.  When she gets dumped at her sister’s bachelorette party, she finds herself sleeping with the first guy that comes along; but is on a downward spiral and doesn’t even want to know his name.
When either of them can not stop thinking about their one night stand and realize they are neighbors, the sparks fly.  But is Audrey strong enough to say away from her ex Levi and is the 7 year age difference too much for the twosome? And Tate is keeping a big secrete of his own.

 

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Love Rehab

Love Rehab by Jo Piazza

 

 

OK so when saw this cover, which I loved, and read the blurb I thought that I would give it a shot and a change up from the long string of endless romances that I have been reading (thanks Susie…I’m beginning to miss my vampires and werewolves).  Being chick lit and not my genre I didn’t really know what to expect, but I started reading and then laughing, continued reading and then rolling on the floor laughing.

This book was so funny and the situations that these girls find themselves in are so funny and so believable in today’s society of women need to be married by 25.  The story did lag in spots but stick with the 12 steps and it will be worth your reading pleasure. 

Sophie and Annie have been friends since they can remember.  Both are in need of a lifestyle makeover.  Sophie gets dumped by cheating Eric and starts cyber stalking him, calling and texting, and finally gets drunk and starts a blog with some of his past sexts; yes she devotes a blog to his junk.  Annie gets drunk and steals a police car, after being sentenced to AA and loosing her license Sophie takes responsibility and drives her to the first meeting.  Sophie soon realized she is in dire need in a love intervention because she is addicted to love. And Love Rehab is born.

This is a book about friendships, love, and support with hilarious stories, bad karaoke, and life lessons along the way.