Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The Selection
               What initially drew me to this particular book was the beautiful cover of a pale, redheaded girl in a gorgeous light blue dress with layer upon layer of ruffles, standing in front of a mirror. It’s a gorgeous dress, and I could easily picture some young, beautiful starlet wearing this dress to the Oscars. Overall, it’s just a very eye-catching cover.
               After reading about an incident involving the author, her agent, and some reviewers, I was a little hesitant to read this story. Nonetheless, being a fan of The Bachelor and dystopian novels, the premise of the book intrigued me. Therefore, I wanted to see just how the author would be able to take this premise and make it work in a story, without it coming across as a cheesy satire or reminiscent of the The Bachelor spoof, Burning Love. If you haven’t seen that show and are a fan of The Bachelor, it is hilarious. Spot on, too, although the humor can be crude and raunchy, at times.
               The short of it: this book had so much promise, as well as a hoopla of pre-advanced marketing and hype, not to mention the possibility of a TV show spin-off on the CW, but the execution was off the mark. This book is what one might characterize as being a light, fast read. Without question, I could see older middle school, junior high, and possibly high school girls, enjoying this book. To me, it was more on a juvenile fiction level, rather than young adult, and although slight at times, there is an actual difference between the two. For one, this story is not real deep and it’s not real dark, either. This book is more sugary-sweet, on a Disney type, fantasy level. The dystopian aspect is also rather meager and more told than shown, comparatively speaking, with other popular dystopian stories out right now.
               There is a love triangle, and overall, as a romance reader, I tend to like triangles. Currently, I am Team Maxon, one of the more well-rounded characters in the story, and I don’t foresee that changing. This is one area though, that I feel that the author could improve on in the next book. For example, the two males had only one small scene together and it was inconsequential, at best.  Aspen, the other hero, came off as rather two-dimensional. Additionally, America’s sudden turnaround near the end of the book felt forced and contrived, and was actually a little bit of a turnoff for me, in regards to her character.
               There is a random decision made near the end that seems abrupt, and was a definite game changer in the storyline. The ending is slightly anticlimactic, as well, but I do want to see where Cass goes with the story in the next one. I’m interested in finding out more about the Rebels and what their true intention is, both sides. In my mind’s eye, I kept picturing the North and the South rebels, in terms of the Civil War’s North and South. Whether intentional or not, an interesting historical parallel can be drawn. And then there was the backstory of China invading us because we couldn’t pay them what we owed them…I really shouldn’t have laughed at that one. There’s a plot for the next Red Dawn remake, or a great political scare tactic in our current economical climate. Take your pic.
               I do plan on reading the next one in the series, but if the characters aren’t given some more depth and the writing style hasn’t improved some, I might skip out on a third one. 

Reviewed by Susannah;)

The Reece Malcolm List

The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding

Amy Spalding’s debut novel The Reece Malcolm List is brilliantly written. The YA genre has another hit with this book. Readers will love all the nerdy, quirky, musical references and, of course, the drama. This captivating read will have the audience drawn in and wanting more. The journey the heroine takes leads her to self discovery, and more. The Reece Malcolm List is sure to be a top read of 2013. I give The Reece Malcolm List a solid 4 star review.

Deavan Mitchell is a sixteen year old Midwestern girl whose father just died and is now being shipped off to live with the mother she has never know famous writer Reece Malcolm. Devan is thrown into her mothers world in LA; the only things Deavan knows about her mother are things that she has found on GOOGLE. Devan is enlisted in a private school with an emphasis on musical theater her one true love. She is enrolled as Devan Malcom and rolls with it. As she learns more about her mother, including her new boyfriend, she also grows into herself and meets so cool people along the way.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Take It Off!

Take It Off!
By Taylor Cole & Justin Whitfield

This hilarious biography by two of Ellora’s Cave cover models gives the details on the male stripper industry. Some of the details from these two are too much and not enough. The reencounters had me laughing so hard I almost choked. If you every wondered what goes on back stage at a male strip club this one is for you.

From Goodreads

Ever wonder what goes on behind the scenes in a male strip club? Are those guys gay? How do they stay so ripped? Do they stuff their trunks? How did they get into such a business? How much money do they make? Do they have wild sex every night?

This book takes you backstage and into the lives of two successful male strippers over a span of twenty years in the business. From their rookie days to their wild sexcapades and practical jokes, Take It Off! is a laugh-filled, action-packed joyride.

Justin Whitfield and Taylor Cole are the stage names of male exotic dancers who have performed for women in Europe, the Caribbean, South America and Canada, as well as at various casinos, on cruise ships and in hundreds of clubs across the United States. Both have been featured on television and radio, as well as in newspapers, calendars, and magazines. Both are also official Ellora’s Caveman cover models and appear on our erotic romance covers and at our conventions and tradeshows.

Monday, February 25, 2013


Riptide by Lindsey Scheibe

Scheibe paints an excellent picture of the surfing world. You can close your eyes and imagine yourself at the beach with her descriptive writing techniques. The sweet story of two best friends in a world of sand and surf; who face their own obstacles, will have readers rooting for their success.

From Goodreads

For Grace Parker, surfing is all about the ride and the moment. Everything else disappears. She can forget that her best friend, Ford Watson, has a crush on her that she can’t reciprocate. She can forget how badly she wants to get a surf scholarship to UC San Diego. She can forget the pressure of her parents’ impossibly high expectations.

When Ford enters Grace into a surf competition—the only way she can impress the UCSD surfing scouts—she has one summer to train and prepare. Will she gain everything she’s ever wanted or lose the only things that ever mattered?


Blaze (or Love in the Time of Supervillians) by Lauire Boyle Crompton

  First let me start off by saying the cover stands out and I love the pink hair! They synopsis drew me in. This believable teenage story will capture teen readers. The beginning of the book lags a little, but stick with it, it gets better. Quirky teen Blaze is chauffer to her little brother, and serves as his surrogate mother while their mother is at work. She is attracted to his soccer coach Mark, who is also Mr. Popular at her school. Everything goes down hill when she “sext” him a picture. The plot is realistic for modern aged teens. I do not think you will be disappointed with this one.

From Goodreads

Blaze is tired of spending her life on the sidelines, drawing comics and feeling invisible. She's desperate for soccer star Mark to notice her. And when her BFF texts Mark a photo of Blaze in sexy lingerie, it definitely gets his attention. After a hot date in the back of her minivan, Blaze is flying high, but suddenly Mark's feelings seem to have been blasted by a freeze-ray gun, and he dumps her. Blaze gets her revenge by posting a comic strip featuring uber-villain Mark the Shark. Mark then retaliates by posting her "sext" photo, and, overnight, Blaze goes from Super Virgin Girl to Super Slut. That life on the sidelines is looking pretty good right about now...

The Twisted Window

The Twisted Window by Lois Duncan

The Twisted Window is geared toward advanced JR high/high school aged people. It was short, and the plot was interesting. Some of the ideas were a little juvenile for a young adult reader; nevertheless, I would recommend it to anyone who loves Goosebumps.

From Goodreads

Tracy, a high school junior, becomes embroiled in the problems of a strange boy, who asks her assistance in "snatching" his half-sister from her father who has allegedly kidnapped her.

Sunday, February 24, 2013


Sharon Sala
3 stars  HOT

Sala’s third and last book in the Rebel Ridge trilogy continues with the Walker family, as Ryal and Quinn’s sister, Meg Walker, gets her own chance at happily-ever-after. Sala’s vivid descriptions and engaging characters will draw the reader in from the beginning, but the story soon becomes weighed down by a lengthy setup. The building of the romance takes a bit as the hero and heroine are finally reunited past the one-hundred page mark. From there, the story picks back up as emotional intensity abounds, and concludes with the series drawing to a nice finale.
Summary:  It has been nearly twenty years since Lincoln Fox was wrongly convicted of killing his father. After nearly losing his own life in a freak accident, he decides to go back to his family home at Rebel Ridge to find out what really happened that fateful night. Things take an unexpected turn, though, when he finds himself rescuing his high school sweetheart, Meg Walker. She is not only the one woman that he has always loved, but she is also the one person who has always believed in his innocence. With Meg now beside him, he must face the demons of his past for them to have a future together. (MIRA, Mar., 384 pp., $7.99)
Reviewed by: Susannah B.

This review can be seen at RT Book Reviews, by following this link:


Juliana Stone
4 stars  HOT

Stone’s first book in her new Bad Boys of Crystal Lake series is a definite crowd pleaser that has lots of heart. There is something here for every contemporary romance reader, and those that pine for those rocker bad boy heroes will especially not want to miss this one. The prodigal son returns and other transient themes of forgiveness and second chances are at the forefront of the story. With superb characterization and a cast of secondary characters that will have you salivating for the next book, Stone’s new series is off to a resounding start.  
Summary: After ten years away, a tragedy has brought rock star Cain Black back home to Crystal Lake. With the past haunting him, Cain has no immediate plans to stay long-term, but one stolen moment with Maggie O’Rourke has him thinking otherwise. Maggie, a single mother with her own secrets, has no plans for love, but that was before the prodigal son returned. With the support of their family and friends, will they be able to move beyond each of their pasts and find unexpected love in Crystal Lake? (Sourcebooks, April, 360 pp., $7.99)
Reviewed by: Susannah B.

This review can be seen at RT Book Reviews, by following this link:

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Sweet Shawlettes

Sweet Shawlettes by Jean Moss


This book will be a great addition for those of you that knit. After browsing Sweet Shawlettes, it makes me want to take up knitting.  There are a lot of neat ideas in this book.  For all you knitters out there, this one is a definite must have.


From Goodreads

Shawlettes are the new socks! These hugely popular, fashion accessories are worn about the shoulders and meant for showing off. They’re not only stylish but these budget-friendly pieces make for perfect portable projects. International knitwear designer Jean Moss knows this best and has pulled together a wonderfully creative collection of 25 knitting patterns for shawlettes, mini-wraps cowls, collars, and more. The garments are grouped by style: Country, Couture, Folk, and Vintage, and feature gorgeous yarns of varying content, including wool, silk, cotton, and sustainable fibers. Knitters of all levels will draw inspiration from the gorgeous four-color photos. Additionally helpful are illustrations, charts, schematics and an appendix with instructions for special stitches. Shawlettes can be endlessly reinterpreted in beautiful ways as this book shows. It’s one that will capture knitters’ imaginations for years to come.

Friday, February 22, 2013

Out In Blue

Out In Blue by Sarah Gilman

I usually don’t read Angel and Demon books, so I thought outside of the box on and gave it a go. I thought the book was ok, it has it all, romance, action, and twists. I was really intrigued by the romance story line and hoped it would be good. I was let down, I have read YA that had more romance than this book; it was mild to say the least. I did, however, like the action packed plot, but this book was just ok.

From Goodreads

In a violent world where fallen archangels are hunted for their valuable plumage, Wren knows one thing for certain: the human woman who saved him from a poacher attack will die if she stays with him. The demon responsible for his parents' gruesome deaths two decades ago pines for the chance to rip apart any woman who stands under Wren's wing. Wren doesn't expect Ginger to stay by his side once she discovers his ability to drain life with a mere touch, yet she lingers. When an unusual talent of her own reveals the location of Wren's father, Wren's isolated world implodes. With the help of the demon protectors he's sworn never to trust again, Wren risks everything to rescue his father, confront the demon who stalks his and Ginger's every step, and claim his eternity with the most courageous woman he's ever known.

Falling for Her Finance

Falling for Her Finance by Cindi Madesn

I love a good contemporary romance.  The idea of falling in love with your best friend is so romantic. Cindi Madsen pulled off this idea off wonderfully and also adding a fake engagement into the mix. I really enjoyed this book and finished it off in one setting.  If you are looking for a sweet, enjoyable, quick read then check this one out.

From Goodreads:

Danielle and Wes have been best friends since college, so when Wes needs a date for his sister’s wedding and Dani needs a partner for her company’s retreat, they devise the perfect plan: a fake engagement to get through both events unscathed. Adrenaline-junkie Wes can prove to both his ex and his family that he’s well and truly moved on, and serious-minded Dani can prove to her boss that she’s worthy of the promotion he seems to only want to give to a family-oriented employee.

But amid the fake swoons, fake kisses, and forced proximity, neither expects the very real feelings that develop. There’s nothing more dangerous than falling for your best friend…but what if the landing is worth the fall?

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Fix by Force

Fix By Force By Jason Warne

This book missed the mark for me. I was really excited when it came out for a read to review and I saw how many 5 star reviews it was given. Let me say, that this book was written well, but I had a problem with the plot from the start. I think what hindered it for me is I work for a school system. The misbehavior of the characters in this book at school and after school activities are real situations, but are portrayed in the wrong light. I know myself and the teachers I work with would never turn our heads to these types of behavior. I also know that some situations are not caught, and bulling and drug use are real issues, regardless, that took away from the book for me. May this plot was just to personal for me to give a nonbiased review.

From Goodreads

Spencer doesn't have a choice.He can't choose to be different than what he is--the son of the town's worst enemy, the weakling who can't stand up for himself, the loser without friends.He can't change the way things are.Or maybe he can.Immediate confidence.Rapid change.Instant hope.These are the things Spencer believes he needs to fix his life, and that is what the steroids promise--a quick fix.But promises can be broken and shortcuts are often treacherous, and Spencer must decide if those risks are worth the perceived rewards--if "artificial" hope is strong enough for him to be fixed, by force.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Star Crossed

Star Crossed by Kele Moon

Kele Moon has done it again with the second installment in the Battered Hearts Series, Star Crossed. This series has got to be one for the history books! The hero and heroine, with all their twist and turns, plots and sub plots, plus the characters from the fist book, give this title everything it needs. I love that the second book has all the characters from the series we have grown to love and introduces need characters to the mix. The trials and tribulations that the characters face have an interesting twist that will leave you wanting more. I can not wait for the next installment; it will definitely be on preorder!

From Goodreads

Heavyweight MMA fighter, Romeo Wellings comes from the hard streets of New York where his family ties to the mafia cause him nothing but pain. His life takes a surprising detour when he crosses paths with the twin sister of his long time enemy. After a steamy one-night stand, he faces the fight of his life, but it’s not in the cage. The secret relationship that blooms between Romeo and his real life Juliet has him battling his family and a dark past rather than let her go.

The only lawyer in her hometown of Garnet, Jules Conner is also a volunteer Sheriff’s deputy and co-owner of a successful MMA training center. Strong and dependable, Jules is always there for those who need her. Until one forbidden night in Las Vegas with Romeo leaves her feeling so alive she can’t stop reaching out to the sexy, bad boy of MMA, even knowing the forbidden love affair could jeopardize everything.

As the tide rises against them and the people they love work at keeping them apart, Romeo and Jules hold onto a dream for a better life together and vow to go down fighting rather than accept a tragic ending.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Defying the Odds

Defying the Odds by Kele Moon

Wow, wow, wow! That’s all I have to say about the first book in the Battered Hearts Series, Defying the Odds. Some books you read and the next day you were thinking what was the name of that book or who were the characters, not with this one. After reading this scorching, hot novel, I can say that I will definitely not forget Clay and Melody. They are the type of characters that really stick with you and this book you will never forget. It is a must read; and not just on the team, but a starter. If this book sets the pace for the series, I will be a reader for life. The odds that the characters overcome in this plot have you rooting for them all the way. I hope all the characters in this book get their own story. Folks, this is one to get excited for.

If you like Beautiful Disaster, Noah, Perfect Chemistry, or 12 Rounds this one is for you! My only complaint is that it was not long enough, it could have been 1500pp and it still would not have been long enough!

From Goodreads

When struggling waitress Melody Dylan gives a handsome, lonely stranger a simple gift she has no clue her life is about to take a drastic turn.

The stranger ends up being Clay Powers, a famous UFC heavyweight fighter. Clay’s large build and dangerous fists have always intimidated. People in his hometown keep their distance and Clay is fine with that. Everything changes when a new waitress at the local diner buys him a piece of pie on thanksgiving. Touched by the gesture when it’s obvious she can barely afford to survive, her warm smile and lush body churn up powerful feelings that leave Clay wanting more from her than pie.

Melody is running from her past and the small, country town of Garnet is the perfect hiding place. With an ex-husband after her and scars from her abusive marriage etched deep, the last thing she expects is to fall for a man who makes a living with his fists, but she can’t resist Clay or the tender connection they share.

Finding love in the most unlikely of places, the passion is undeniable, but Clay and Melody know their haunted pasts and unpredictable futures leave the odds stacked against them.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual situations, graphic language, and material that some readers may find objectionable: violence.

Sunday, February 17, 2013


Hooked by Liz Fichera
 I am totally hooked on Hooked by Liz Fichera.  This new young adult series Hooked had me from the first chapter.  The cover is hot and the book is even better.  This first installment has set the bar for the following books in this series.  The conflicts, racial encounters, and every day teenage drama are an intriguing part of this book and will draw readers in.  I will absolutely be reading this rest of this series.  This was a fun refresting read.  4 out of 5 stars.
From Goodreads
When Native American Fredricka ‘Fred’ Oday is invited to become the only girl on the school’s golf team, she can’t say no. This is an opportunity to shine, win a scholarship and go to university, something no one in her family has done.

But Fred’s presence on the team isn’t exactly welcome — especially not to rich golden boy Ryan Berenger, whose best friend was kicked off the team to make a spot for Fred.

But there’s no denying that things are happening between the girl with the killer swing and the boy with the killer smile...


Friday, February 15, 2013


Temptation by Kathryn Barrett

This is the first time I have read an Amish type book, after reading the synopsis I thought I would give it a try.  I always seem to enjoy the Hollywood type books or books that involve actors of so sort.  This book cover was cute.  It caught my attention right off the bat.  The story was just ok for me, don’t get me wrong it was a sweet story but didn’t really draw me in.  I don’t know a lot about the Amish, but the story was believable.  The dilemma that Jacob and Lauren face seem real, but I didn’t get the wow factor I was looking for.  For a sweet Christian fiction, this would be a good choice, but there is some mild sexual content.  2.5 out of 5 stars.


From Goodreads

 Laura Hayes has been acting since she was an infant, making Hollywood the only home she has ever known. But when she moves to Pennsylvania's Amish country to film her next movie, she discovers there's more to life than a pair of Jimmy Choos and a Marie Claire cover.

Intrigued by the Amish simplicity, she's soon gardening and baking plum pies—and enjoying it. And when her neighbor turns out to be the local heartthrob and a talented furniture maker, she realizes that what's missing from her life might be the love of a good man—not to mention the perfect heirloom tomato.

Jacob fights the urge to question the teachings of his Amish beliefs—despite his desire to create furniture that is beautiful as well as useful—and struggles with his longing for the sexy stranger who makes him feel truly alive for the first time. As his attraction grows, so do his doubts, until he's forced to face temptation and decide once and for all what is truly worth the fight.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

A Taste of Trouble

A Taste of Trouble by Gina Gordon

Gina Gordon has done it again with A Taste of Trouble, and is making her way up the ranks of authors I love. This yummy cover caught my attention, and the story drew me in. Who doesn’t love a smoking hot man and cupcakes? Olivia Crawford is a bartender/cupcake baker with ambitious dreams of owning her own bakery. Jake Miller is the next big PR marketer who is working his way up the corporate ladder. Sparks fly at a not so chance encounter, but can the sparks turn into something more? Check out this steamy romance if you like hot, sweet treats!

From Goodreads

When Liv Crawford decided to pursue her dream of owning her own bakery, it was no surprise that she forgot to add “maintaining a serious relationship” to her business plan. Not when she believes a cupcake can fix anything, even loneliness.

Jake Miller isn’t concerned about being lonely. He’s cast aside his playboy lifestyle to pursue something more meaningful, his passion for photography. So, when his boss asks him to pursue a beautiful woman and coerce her to his office for a disguised meeting—no matter what it takes—in exchange for the opportunity to turn his hobby into a career, he jumps at the chance. At first sight, Liv awakens his long-buried desire for commitment, but his secret mission could ruin his hopes of keeping her.

Despite Liv’s commitment to swear off relationships to run her bakery, Jake quickly becomes her number one distraction. Yet, even her misgivings can’t tame the heat as they straddle the line between love and ambition

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Prophecy Girl

Prophecy Girl by Faith McKay

There are some books that just stand out and you can’t forget this book was not one of them.  I’m really not sure how I feel about this book.  I was slow, to say the least.  I was expecting big things form this book as it has 4.5 stars on Goodreads, for me, it was a flop.  I loved to hate Sam’s horrible mother and was hoping the father would step up, but he was useless and the mother was psychotic.  I loved Violet and her prayers.  I also like the concept of Sam and Nick’s relationship, but are they just friends or not?  I can’t say that I would read a sequel to this book.  Maybe it was just me, but this book was not something that I would remember or recommend. With that being said, the writing style and wording was good.

This was a read to review from Goodreads
Ever since Samantha Winthrop's mother moved them to Lacuna Valley, supposedly in search of better weather, the list of strange questions she has no answers for has been growing out of control.

Does her little sister, Violet, have the ability to make things happen just by "praying" for them? Are Sam's dreams really predicting the future? Is she destined to marry the boy she just met, and what is the mysterious orb that he's guarding? Why does she get the impression that there are dangerous creatures watching from the woods?

While Sam should be focusing on answering those questions, there is one other that makes them seem almost irrelevant: Is her mother planning on killing her and Violet?

Monday, February 11, 2013


Wanted! By Caroline B. Cooney

This book was ok. It is definitely juvenile fiction. It does involve murder and a young child running away because she is a suspect in her father’s murder investigation. The book was well written and the plot was ok, but like I said it is geared toward a young audience. I did some skimming, but overall a good way to pass a boring afternoon. I would recommend it to high school teachers for assigned student reading. 2 out of 5 stars.

From Goodreads

Alice Robie's father has been murdered, and the police have an e-mail message in which Alice confesses to the crime. When her own mother suspects her, Alice has no choice but to flee in the hope of proving her innocence.


Gift by Andrea J. Buchanan

Gift by Andrea J. Buchanan was an unexpected pleasant read. From the synopsis, a girl who can manipulate electric waves sounded good so I gave it a go. The plot has it all YA, paranormal, a hint of romance, and of course, a twist. This book kept me on my toes, with the dreams and hint of mystery. I think it is geared toward a younger audience, but yet still a good read. I thought it could do without the illustrations, they were kind of cheesy. Overall 3 out of 5 stars.

From Goodreads

Daisy has an electrifying secret that could save her life—or kill her

High school sophomore Daisy Jones is just trying to get by unnoticed. It doesn’t help that she’s the new girl at school, lives in a trailer park, and doesn’t even own a cell phone. But there’s a good reason for all that: Daisy has a secret, unpredictable power—one only her best friend, Danielle, knows about. Despite her “gift” (or is it a curse?), Daisy’s doing a good job of fitting in, and a gorgeous senior named Kevin even seems interested in her! But when Daisy tries to help Vivi, a mysterious classmate in a crisis, she soon discovers that her new friend has a secret of her own. Now Daisy and her friends must deal with chilling dreams and messages from the beyond. Can Daisy channel the power she’s always tried to hide, before it’s too late? Extra features include:• A short graphic novel telling Vivi’s story• Danielle’s journal, revealing her deepest thoughts

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Reached by Ally Condie
               Let me preface this by saying that Mrs. Condie is an excellent writer, and she’s able to give the most beautiful descriptions in her stories without being excessively wordy. When I read Matched, the first book in the Matched trilogy, I just knew instinctively that a) she either had an English degree, and/or b)she was an English teacher/professor. I was right in my assumption because she was an English teacher at one time. She definitely has a firm grasp on the English language/grammar. I admire the way that her writing is so poetic, so lyrical, and how she incorporates poetry and how she accomplishes all of it with such fluidity. I imagine that it’s very hard for a writer to do all that and still maintain pacing and have an interesting story, as well. Her writing style reminds me a lot of Maggie Stiefvater, who I think is an absolute fabulous writer.
               Reached is the last book in the trilogy, and I’m glad that we’re able to see Cassia, Ky, and Xander’s stories come full-circle. Now, having said that, I would have to say that Reached is my least favorite book in the series, and it didn’t quite reach the potential that I had envisioned in my mind. For one, there just wasn’t enough of Ky, additionally Ky and Cassia, in the story for me. And, what we do see of him, is not the same, strong Ky from previous books (some of it’s understandable). If you are a fan of Xander though, then you will probably enjoy this book the most, because there are a lot of chapters in it from his point of view. The story is told from alternating points of view by Xander, Ky, and Cassia.
               Spoilerish: There is a resolution of the love triangle, but for a good bit of the book, they are all three doing their own thing, separately, as members of the new Rising that has infiltrated the Society. Even without the triangle, the romance, in general, feels almost secondary to everything else going on, and I wish that the author had done a little more in that direction, as opposed to it feeling obligatory. That is a big reason for why I felt that this book was missing something, in relation to the others.
               I do appreciate that Mrs. Condie did wrap up all of the loose threads, and every question posed since the first book, and there were quite a few. Some things I did have predicted correctly, but there were also many surprises. If you liked The Hunger Games trilogy or if you just like dystopian novels, you might want to give this one a try.
               As an aside, the covers to this series are some of my favorites. Love these covers! And it’s interesting to note, how there is a theme of green, blue and red in the novel, as well as on the covers. The covers match the story perfectly, and how’s she able to weave everything together like that, with such continuity, is amazing. 

Reviewed by Susannah;)

Friday, February 8, 2013

Keeping Secrets in Seattle

Keeping Secretes in Seattle by Brooke Moss

Keeping Secretes in Seattle’s quirky, sweet characters had me from the first paragraph. Readers will love the strong, resilient heroine and the “love at first sight” theme. This well written romance with a twist will make for a good weekend read.

Violet Murphy, a quirky hairstylist, has just found out that her best friend, Gabe Parker, is getting married to “Ms. Perfect”. To top it off, he wants her to be his best man. Violet meets hot motorcycle man, Landon, and quickly starts a relationship while secretly in love with Gabe. With secretes haunting her will Vi stay with Landon or risk everything for her best friend?

From Goodreads

Seattle hairstylist Violet Murphy always knew the day would come when her best friend Gabe Parker would want to settle down. She’d secretly wished it would be with her, but now that he’s chosen someone else—the prim, perfect Alicia—he wants Vi to be his best man.

Healing her broken heart isn’t easy, but when Violet meets Landon Harlow, a man who isn’t fazed by her funky style and less-than-delicate attitude, she takes a step in the right direction. Until Gabe’s fiancé’s gorgeous façade begins to crack, and Violet’s disturbing past comes back to haunt her, that is. Vi now finds herself armed with a series of lies that would break Gabe’s heart—and his engagement—if he knew their truth, and a secret from their childhood that could change everything.

With the wedding looming, her relationships unraveling, and the bachelor party of the century to plan, Violet must choose between a fresh start with Landon, or confronting her painful past and risking it all for a chance at a future with Gabe.

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Just One of the Guys

Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins

Just One of the Guys was a really enjoyable book. Readers will can relate to the heroine, Chastity, the only girl in a family full of guys and  looking for love. Through her everyday struggles, she finds herself.  I enjoyed the whole cast of characters in this book and how they develop.  I can see it as a series, as well as a stand alone. Over all it was a good read.

From Goodreads

Being one of the guys isn't all it's cracked up to be...So when journalist Chastity O'Neill returns to her hometown, she decides it's time to start working on some of those feminine wiles. Two tiny problems: #1--she's five feet eleven inches of rock-solid girl power, and #2--she's cursed with four alpha male older brothers.

While doing a story on local heroes, she meets a hunky doctor and things start to look up. Now there's only one problem: Trevor Meade, her first love and the one man she's never quite gotten over--although he seems to have gotten over her just fine.

Yet the more time she spends with Dr. Perfect, the better Trevor looks. But even with the in-your-face competition, the irresistible Trevor just can't seem to see Chastity as anything more than just one of the guys....

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Sometimes Never

Sometimes Never by Cheryl McIntyre

Sometimes Never is great book with teenagers attempting to overcome tragedy.  Cherly McIntyre touches on taboo subjects in a delicate manner.  I, for one, could sympathize with the character’s trials and tribulations because of the way the book was written.  To think that even one child has gone through similar situations gives me chills.  With that being said, I really liked this book.  McIntyre has thought out characters, that grow into themselves, with realistic situations, and has knocked it out of the park with Sometimes Never.  This is one book that I will always remember, and that says a lot!  If you are looking for a highly emotional gut-wrenching story, this one is for you.

From Goodreads
Hope didn't have the best role model when it came to relationships. She’s content with her current no-strings-attached extracurricular activity with the lead singer of her band. She’s never believed in love and commitment.
Mason starts his eighth school in five years anticipating nothing more than the usual—boring classes, fighting more than making friends, and girls happily willing to succumb to his easy smile. He’s never put much stock into love at first sight—until he sees her.

Regardless of their painful pasts, Hope and Mason discover that sometimes never can become forever.
*This is a mature young adult. Recommended for 17+ due to sensitive subject material, harsh language, and sexual situations.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Playing the Part

Playing the Part by Darcy Daniel

Darcy Daniel had me at hello with this witty, romance. The story is set in Australia, as an American, that was not a distraction for me. The chemistry between the characters is unbelievably sultry, compassionate, snarky and well written. For anyone who loves Romance, this is a must have. I can easily see this book as a big screen movie!

From Goodreads:

Anthea Cane is a successful actress—well, action star. Her films are mostly about how hot she looks silhouetted by fiery explosions. But Anthea is determined to prove she's more than just a body. With the role of a lifetime up for grabs—a serious adaptation of her favorite novel—Anthea sets off to her small hometown in the name of research.

Cole Daniel is a blind farmer with no patience for divas, especially one who mercilessly teased him as a young boy. When Anthea shows up using a fake name and pestering him into letting her stay, he can't pass up the opportunity to torment her just a little.

But Anthea won't let the stubborn farmer deter her from her goal, even if he is hotter than any man she's ever met. Cole finds his form of payback less than satisfying when Anthea keeps turning the tables on him, proving her mettle and gaining his respect. Will Anthea's research land her a man, as well as the part?

Monday, February 4, 2013

Pretty Unlikely

Pretty Unlikely by Emily Hodson


This book was a read to review from Goodreads, after seeing the blurb I decided I would give it a try.  I was not expecting much from this book, and didn’t get a lot out of it either.  The first part of the book captured my attention, and piqued my interest.  It started off good and I enjoyed the most part of the back-story.  Where I got lost in this story was who was making the “noises” and the whole let’s be friend’s part.  It was elementary, to me.  I like paranormal, but this book was not something I would recommend to others.  I really liked the idea of the YA Horror genre it is a great concept.  The writing style has really good potential and I really enjoyed the heroine, Anna.  I would love to have read it written as a YA romance.  I believe the author could knock it out of the park in that genre.  That being said, this was not a home run for me.  I, personally, would read more of Hodson's work.  There is great potential here.

From Goodreads:

No matter how fast you run or how well you hide, you will always have to face your fears. Anna Strouse has just moved to Cleveland, Ohio with her young and crazy mother. Her new life is not good, her new life is not fun. Anna is not amused with her new surroundings at all, especially when she is tortured in her own house every night by horrific noises. Something wants Anna. Something needs Anna, and after she discovers what that something is, it changes her life forever. Fast friendships form as she brings it into this world, hoping for the best, but good things soon go bad, and Anna is left to deal with her mess in the worst ways. Her unintentional naivety starts to affect others around her as well, especially the police. Good and evil collide in this headstrong of a novel that teaches the lessons of life, love, risks, mischief, torture, friendships, and prejudice people. Follow her in Pretty Unlikely... Note: The Bloody Extended Edition includes an author's note, extended dialogue, a sneak peak at the next book to the trilogy, new book cover, along with a photo gallery inside as well, and more!

Sunday, February 3, 2013

I Apologize

I Apologize by Bradley Booth


Okay, first off I want to say that I love the cover and by the blurb thought this book was right up my alley, but sadly I could not get into this book. The back-story was not clear, the characters situations we, at times, unbelievable. The plot was promising, but did not go anywhere it seems. This book left me wanting more, and unfortunately, I did not get it.


From Goodreads


These are indeed troubling times for entrepreneur Tony Richardson. After years of living an insipid and orderly life on Long Island, the events that led to the tragic death of his fiancee return with resounding fury, starting, oddly enough, when he consents to dine in the company of the beguiling, intrusive Christina Jaloqua. When Christina declares her love, Tony is overwhelmed by fear that his world will be torn apart again. Unwilling to admit that his attitude is because of is growing affection for her, Tony devises a plan to liberate himself from Christina's intrusiveness and return his small, methodical world to order. Tony finds out that logic serves no purpose in affairs of the heart; Christina's elaborate ruse engulfs him in an unplanned marriage and an unwanted pregnancy. Now, locked in a labyrinth of fear, Tony struggles to escape the winding corridors filled with ghastly images from the past.

Beautiful Bastard

Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren


Okay, so this one was not one for the record books.  After researching this short story, The Office, turned book Beautiful Bastard, I had my hopes up for a sexy, romantic read.  This one fell a little short.  If you like a lot of sex, and not so much plot this one is for you, I personally, want a little more substance to my reads.  The sex scenes were hot, steamy, and out of this world, but that was pretty much the plot.  I really don’t know what else to say on this one.

From Goodreads

An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling. Discover the story that garnered more than two million reads online.

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office.

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other. Originally only available online as The Office by tby789—and garnering over two million reads on fan fiction sites—Beautiful Bastard has been extensively updated for re-release.