Thursday, January 31, 2013

Rule


Rule by Jay Crownover
 

 
I was not really expecting a lot from this book.  I got a Kindle and was playing around with it and stumbled upon this one.  Let me say that I am so glad I did.  This book had all the elements that I, personally, love.  Tattooed bad boy check, strong heroine check, a lot of angst check, setting up to become a series check; if you love these things then read this one.  It is definitely on my best of all time list.  The predicaments in this book are real, and the characters are outstanding. I also love that it is written in Rule and Shaw’s POV. I am a huge fan of independent writer and I can not say enough good things about this book!

 

Rule is a rebel, who is not unknown to tragedy.  Shaw is a broken, rich girl, who doesn’t fit the mold.  Does this unlikely pair have a chance at love?

 

 

*Book Description from Amazon

 

 Release date December 30, 2012

 *Newly Edited*
This is the updated version of Rule...all cleaned up and ready to go

I loved Rule Archer since the first moment I ever laid eyes on him. He was everything I shouldn't want and the only person I went out of my way to not try and please. He only saw me as a brat, as an entitled, stuck up princess but worse than that all he saw when he looked at me was his deceased twin brother's girl. It broke my heart because as much as I had loved Remy Archer there was never anything romantic between us and no matter how hard I tried to convince myself that loving Rule was a terrible idea, my poor heart just wouldn't listen. We tolerated each other, barely. We forged an uneasy alliance until one night I had too much to drink and changed the way we were forever. Suddenly life long secrets were no longer hidden and the one thing I always wanted for myself seemed obtainable as long as I was willing to go through hell to hold onto it.

Shaw Landon was a class act and I had no idea what to do with her. She was tied to my family, tied to the person that was my other half so I tolerated her and her haughty attitude because I didn't have any other choice. What I didn't know was that a short skirt and too many cocktails on her birthday was going to change my outlook on her for the rest of my life. Some people thought I hid behind all my tattoos and piercings, that I tried to distance myself from my dead twin, Shaw saw through it all and wasn't scared of what was underneath.
We weren't supposed to be together, weren't supposed to be anything except uncomfortable acquaintances but that all changed in the blink of an eye. Now I had to figure out just how a girl like her and a guy like me were supposed to be in love without destroying each other. Add in her custom made ex and two disapproving sets of parents and the whole situation sounded to me like it was more trouble then it was worth.

Recommended for mature readers due to sexual content, language and drinking

Reckless


RECKLESS
S.C. Stephens
4 ½ stars  HOT

Reckless is the long-awaited third and final book in S.C. Stephens’s Thoughtless trilogy. Fans who were hooked after reading the first story in Kiera and Kellan’s love affair will not be able to put this one down to see how it all ends. Expect lots of drama, emotional angst attached with recurring-themed insecurities, and many lump-in-the-throat moments while watching this highly-loved couple get their happily-ever-after. Verdict: For readers not already in love with the dreamboat rock star and his utter devotion to his beloved, this story will have them falling head over heels. For new readers to this poignant series, start with Thoughtless and experience the progressive growth and roller coaster journey of this couple from the very beginning.
Summary: Kiera and Kellan’s love is put to the test again, as this time, they traverse the growing popularity of Kellan’s rock band and a rock star’s life on the road. Kiera joins Kellan and his band as they perform in one city after another and as unforeseen mounting obstacles are thrown in their way. With pressures from management, record labels, and the media, Kellan finds himself trying to please everyone else around him, while making himself miserable.  Meanwhile, Kiera finds herself trying to overcome familiar insecurities rearing their ugly head. (Gallery Books, March., 480 pp., $15.00)

This review was originally written for RT Book Reviews and can be found at http://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-review/reckless-11

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Dare You To


Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) by Katie McGarry
 
 

 

I received an advanced readers copy of this book and can not say enough good this about Dare You To.  It was an emotional experience and it opened my eyes to how some teens raise their parents today.  I was fortunate enough not to have experienced things that take place in this novel, but it breaks my heart that these things take place.  This book it set to hit shelves May 28, 2013

 

Amazing!  Katie McGarry has done it again with the second installment of Pushing the Limits.  Jump in, hold on tight, and get ready for the emotional roller coaster with Dare You To.  This gut-wrenching story is a beauty that you will never forget.  McGarry has a way to bring the heartfelt, raw emotion to life in her tragic protagonist.  The way the story flows is genius.  This is truly Young Adult in its finest. 

 

Beth is a misunderstood teen, which always puts her drunken mother first.  After a run in with the police and an arrest record she is shipped away to live with her famous baseball star uncle.  Enter Ryan, all American jock who can never turn down a dare and hates to loose.  When Ryan’s friends dare him to get Beth’s number and she turns him down he is devastated.  Neither realizes they are more alike than they are different and every family has their own secretes.

 

*SPOILER ALERT*

 

 

Yes ladies and gentlemen, there will be a third installment to this series that I, personally, can not wait for!  This will be Isaiah’s story and who doesn’t love a bad boy with tattoos…

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

What We Love...


The Vampire Diaries


So, Becca and I are huge, The Vampire Diaries, fans. If you haven’t seen this show on the CW, then you are missing out. It comes on Thursday nights, and its got everything: romance, action, drama, decent story arcs (most times), and teenage vampires, werewolves and witches. Additionally, the series is based on books. I’ve read some of the books, and after book three, I started to lose interest, but not so with the show. And if you watch the show, maybe you can appreciate/agree/disagree with our thoughts on it.
Becca is a Damon fan, while I’m a Stefan fan. She only likes Stefan when he is being bad, and I never like Damon. Well, mostly on principle as a Stefan fan. I like Elena, but I like her more when she is on-again with Stefan. Obviously, given that, I don’t really care for her character right now, but I’m hoping that will be righted by the end of this season. I’ve gotten to the point where I could do without the Originals, as well. Just kill them already, and make them stay dead this time. Except for Elijah. If producers/directors are reading this, we need more Elijah time. However, it does get old when every episode is about how they can kill the Originals and how they fail at doing it. And really, do we need to bring in another vampire, Silas,that is even older than the Originals. If they can’t kill off Klaus, they will never be able to kill off this new guy. Keeping fingers crossed that doesn’t happen.
Of course, Becca and I disagree on which characters should die next. Supposedly, two will die this season, but alas, I know that it won't matter, because more than likely, they will just get resurrected. Although, the show has surprised me a time or two. She likes the Originals, particularly Klaus, and would rather see Matty (my nickname for him), and Bonnie (in that order) gone. I’ve already expressed my thoughts on the matter in the previous paragraph. I would rather that the original cast members stay where they are. I recently read an article that Vulture posted about when everyone on the Vampire Diaries should have been killed. Although, I disagree with some of the points made, it was quite entertaining. So, if you haven’t read it, check it out. And, if you have time, please feel free to leave some feedback on your thoughts on the show. Do you have a favorite character? Damon or Stefan? Who would you liked to see killed off next? And, what are your thoughts on an Elijah and Elena pairing? 

Sunday, January 27, 2013

All In


All In (The Blackstone Affair #2) by Raine Miller
 
 

 

The second installment of Raine Miller’s The Blackstone Affair, All In, picks up where the first installment, Naked, leaves off.  Let me suggest you read Naked first; this is not a stand alone series.  I, however, have not read this first book and therefore missed out on some of the background information that plays an important role in the second book.  All In is romance, borderline erotic, and begins with Ethan Blackstone being left by his girlfriend who apparently he lied to or hid the truth from, again hence the first book.  The scene is set in London and is form the male point of view; and he appears to be a British security specialist, whereas, his love interest Brynne is American artist.  Ethan is neurotic, possessive, and inarguably, obsessed with this girl, which he is madly in love with.  She has some past issues of her own.  Ethan tries to protect Brynne from her past as he juggles his career.  The book ends in a cliffhanger, setting up for the next chapter.  After reading this book I have been left with more question than answers.  I will be reading Naked to get the back-story and catch up on this series. 

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Recipe for Satisfaction


Recipe for Satisfaction (Madewood Brothers #1) by Gina Gordon

 

The opening book in Gina Gordon’s Madewood Brothers Series, Recipe for Satisfaction, from the Entangled Publishing Brazen line was steamy to say the least. Gordon’s hot, tattooed, alpha male paired with a not so confident heroine will have the reader wanting more.  The sizzling love scenes paired with the engaging plot will defiantly be a hit.

 

 On a personal note, I will absolutely be looking forward to the rest of the series.  This book has set up a great group of smoking hot brothers that are chefs, and of course alpha males, introducing each one was a great way to get the readers hooked.  The Entangled Brazen line is available only on eBook form.

 

 

 Gordon sets the pace for this steamy series with Jack Vaughn, the youngest adopted child to deceased millionaires.  Jack is a chef and the resident playboy who is unable to find true love due to his overwhelming financial blessing.  Sterling Andrews is a professional organizer who is a stick in the mud, looking to let loose on life and have fun.  She is the exact opposite of Jack, sometimes opposites attract.

Beautiful Creatures


Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garci and Margaret Stohl

               


              Here is another book that I’ve read, a couple of years ago, that the movie for it is coming out in February. I’m not quite sure if I’ll see this movie at the movie theater, but, at some point, I will watch it. Seriously, have you seen the cast for this movie? There are some big Hollywood names in it. Love Emma Thompson and Emmy Rossum. Oscar-nominated, Jeremy Irons and Viola Davis are in it, too. You can’t get much better than that. The original cover and the fact that the story takes place in the South is what initially attracted me to this book. When I found out that it was a Southern gothic YA/JF, I was even more intrigued. There was tons of publicity regarding this book, even before it came out. So, on that note, I had high hopes of a fantastic read, but for me, it fell short of the hype.
               First off, this book could have been shorter, and it wouldn’t have detracted from the storyline. It was bogged down with way too many descriptions and way too many clich├ęs of the South. Don’t get me wrong, I do like Southern references, to a point, and that’s probably why I stayed with this book, but then there comes a time where you reach overkill. I did enjoy how the book was from the hero’s point of view, which was refreshing, but I’ve never met a teenage boy who acted like Ethan and was considered cool. Let’s be real: if Ethan was in a high school today, he would not among the popular crowd, as this Ethan was. Overall, I just don’t think that it was an accurate portrayal of a sixteen-year-old teenage boy. And, then there was the plot: essentially, it went nowhere. I know that some would disagree, but to me, the ending was somewhat anticlimactic and definitely in the Breaking Dawn vein: all that build up and then it peters outs. Regardless of whether or not it’s a series, it could have had a more dramatic ending and still manage a good setup or intro for the next book.
               On a positive note, I really enjoyed the Civil War references and the whole back story there. In fact, I wished there had been more of that and more about the couple from that era. I think that would have been a more interesting storyline to work with, and develop more on, but that was the main problem with this book; there was too many things going on. The book started out great, it started out interesting, and then it started to fall apart with each subsequent page. This book had so much potential, but it wasn’t executed very well. I do have a weakness for all things Southern, particularly Southern stories and Southern authors, and my loyalty runs rather deep. So, be that as it may, that this book was a little on the eh side (insert shrug), I did go on and read the next two in the series, hoping that with more writing experience under their rookie writer belts, the continuing storyline would be more solid and developed. *Look for my review on both of these books in the coming weeks.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Do Over


Do Over by Shannon Guymon

 

This book was a cute quick read. Guymon does a great job at creating a sweet read.  The characters have a charming, but witty challenge to overcome in their past relationships, setting the scene for romance.  Do Over was a very entertaining read.

 

Iris is crushed when she finds out her husband of four hours has been cheating on her their entire engagement.  After filing for an annulment, she leaves Seattle for Utah and makes rebellious changes to her appearance.  Trey has a close nit family and a broken heart when his ex-girlfriend leaves him and marries another man.  Trey meets Iris and is enamored with her wild hair and biker boots.  She is heart broken and he swore off women, but when his sister-in-law wants to hook him up her derives a plan.  He wants Iris to be his “fake” girlfriend so his family will leave him alone.  With this duo is "fake" enough?

 

Safe Haven


Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks



 So, the movie Safe Haven, based on the book by the same name, will be coming out on Valentine’s Day, and I, for one, will be in the audience when it does. Regardless of whether or not the movie is any good (most times, it is a hit or miss with his books-turned-movies), I will be watching it. Julianne Hough is a very pretty girl (although she could do much better in the current boyfriend department, IMO) and I’ve liked her since her DWTS days and Josh Duhamel is just h-o-t! After reading the book, too, I can’t picture anyone else playing the hero now. He is perfect for the part. Additionally, I usually enjoy the movie soundtracks that accompany a Nicholas Sparks movie.

            I am unequivocally a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and I always have been. And I probably always will be. He is definitely one of my favorite authors and an automatic buy. Now, I know that his books, sometimes, are not the most complex or complicated in terms of his storytelling ability or storyline, but nonetheless, he is a good writer. He is good at what he does, write contemporary romance books with lots of emotion and angst, and he knows who his targeted audience is. Having said that, I know that sometimes his books might utilize a plot device that sounds the same as another, but that doesn’t bother me. Its different characters, different locations, different back stories, different storylines; it’s not the same stories rehashed. To me, his books are the ideal beach read that you can just get lost in, and time seems to fly by because you don’t want to put them down and you’re done with them before you know it. Many of his have left an indelible impression on me; staying with me long after reading them. And I am NOT a rereader of books, but with his, I will read certain ones again and again.

            As for Safe Haven, it is not my favorite Sparks book, but it is in the top ten. *I have a list of my favorites, ranked in order, at the bottom. What I especially like about this one is that there is an element of danger and suspense. Many surprises abound as Katie tries to escape her abusive husband, who will do anything to track her down. There was a very good twist at the end, as well. If you liked the Julia Roberts’s movie, Sleeping with the Enemy, there are strong similarities between this book and that movie. Highly recommend!


My Top Eleven Nicholas Sparks books
  1. The Lucky One
  2. The Rescue
  3. A Bend in the Road
  4. The Choice
  5. The Last Song
  6. Safe Haven
  7. A Walk to Remember
  8. The Notebook
  9. The Best of Me
  10. The Wedding
  11. Dear John

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Giveaway

We are so excited to have our very first giveaway!  This is for a copy of Lynsay Sands book A Quick Bite.  All you have to do is follow the blog , all existing followers will be entered to win.  We will have the drawing Friday Februray 1st.  Good luck and happy reading!

 
Deanna Evans is the winner of this giveaway! 
 
 
 

Reaper's Novice

Reaper’s Novice by Cecilla Robert

This first book in the new urban fantasy Soul Collector series, Reaper’s Novice, is a captivating look into the world of the Grim Reaper.  Ana, a family oriented teen, swaps her life for the lives of her family.  In order to save her family she must become the Grim Reaper’s, Ernest, apprentice.  She must collect souls and doesn’t mind if they are old or sick.  Can she pass the final test to become a Soul Collector?

The Reaper’s Novice took me a little while to get into.  I saw it got many 5 star ratings and was anxious to start the book.  Half way through I starting skimming, I just could not get into this one and I really tried.  I’m not sure if it was the setting or the fantasy part that hung me up.  I usually can’t get enough of series and this one didn’t do it for me.  The plot and characters we well thought out but I couldn’t bring them to life.  Maybe it is just me, but I felt it was a disappointment.

WARM BODIES


Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion




So, I read Warm Bodies back when it first came out, because at the time, the original cover of a zombie walking down a road with red wide tendrils flying behind him, really caught my eye. And then when I saw Stephanie Meyer’s endorsement on the cover, I was sold, before I had even read the blurb. Author endorsements of books are something that I do take in consideration. After reading it through, I was a little puzzled by her high opinion of this book, but I will get to that in just a moment. Getting back to the book, I decided to include this review because the movie for Warm Bodies will be coming out very soon. I do want to the see the movie, and I have high hopes, based on the trailers that I’ve seen.

            Warm Bodies is a quirky, witty, and a very interesting zombie read with a twist: at its heart, it’s a love story, as well. Dare I say that Marion is a brilliant writer because I’ve never read anything like this before, so kudos to him for his creativity and the very original post-apocalyptic world that he has created. That is not to say that there aren’t other zombie romance books out there with other fantastical post-apocalyptic worlds, I just haven’t read them.

Having said all that, I enjoyed the first half of the book more than I did the second half, as the zombies, like R, started to evolve and were becoming more capable of higher brain functions. I was intrigued with R’s life from the very start, pre-zombie and present, and found myself, wanting to know more about him. And poor Perry, yikes! That was definitely cringe-worthy, and a scene that stayed with me the entire book. I think that Julie’s character could have been a little more developed and I was hoping, a little more complex. The ending is a little rushed and anti-climatic but nonetheless, there was a satisfying conclusion.

I read somewhere later on that Marion drew inspiration from Romeo and Juliet, when writing this book. R (Romeo), Julie (Juliet), Perry (Paris), and M (Mercutio). Now that I know that, I can definitely see the parallels.

Getting back to Meyer’s stamp, this surprised me after reading it because there are references to drinking, smoking pot, premarital sex, and the heroine cusses quite liberally throughout. Given Twilight and her religious background, I was quite expecting this book to be fairly clean. Overall, I would say that this book is intended for a more mature audience. 

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Love Unscripted

Love Unscripted by Tina Reber
Love Unscripted did it for me.  It was not one of these lust at first sight books but, set at a much slower pace.   I didn't skim the chapters or skip to find out what comes next like I do with some books.  It did take a long time to read it and I didn't want to put it down.  Reber does a great job setting up for the next chapter in this series.  The next book will absoutely be on my "must read" list.
Ryan Christensen is a well known actor that is on location in a small Rhode Island beach town.  He literally runs into Taryn Mitchell at her pub.  Sparks fly from the get go but Ryan has a huge fan base and some are stalkerish.  Can Ryan and Taryn have a life outside of the public eye or will they cave due to the spotlight...

Monday, January 21, 2013

Flawed


FLAWED by Kate Avelyn


First, I want to thank Liz at Entangled Publishing for providing me a copy of this book. I have never spoken to a nicer editor, and one who was so easy to work with. I have reviewed for Entangled’s Brazen series, but I did not receive any monetary compensation for this review. All opinions are my own. Thank you!


Flawed is a dark, emotional young adult read that addresses touchy subjects and gray areas that might have some readers shying away from the start. If one is looking for a light, easy romantic read with rainbows and butterflies and perfect worlds, you won’t find it here. Flawed is a complex and devastatingly beautiful story that will stay with you long after you’ve read it. It’s a story about hope and having the strength to overcome and rise above the adversities that life hands you. Is it for everyone? No, but if you decide to take a chance on Flawed, prepare to have a box of tissue on hand.

Reviewed by Susannah

From the Back Cover

Sarah O'Brien is alive because of the pact she and her brother made twelve years ago -- James will protect her from their violent father if she promises to never leave him. For years, she's watched James destroy his life to save hers. If all he asks for in return is her affection, she'll give it freely.

Until, with a tiny kiss and a broken mind, he asks for more than she can give.

Sam Donavon has been James's best friend -- and the boy Sarah's had a crush on -- for as long as she can remember. As their forbidden relationship deepens, Sarah knows she's in trouble. Quiet, serious Sam has decided he's going to save her. Neither of them realizes James is far more unstable than her father ever was, or that he's not about to let Sarah forget her half of the pact...





Shout-Out

I want to give a shout-out to my friend, Kendra and her husband, Matthew Pierce, who is an author and has written several books. In fact, my husband just recently finished reading one of his, Ghosts in the Hills, and he said that it was a really good book. If you like football, particularly football in the South, and you root for the underdog, you'll like this book. This book can be found, along with his others, on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository, and more.

Sunday, January 20, 2013

The Vincent Boys


The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines
 
 

 

Abbi Glines is my new favorite author and what stole my heart was this first installment of the Vincent Boys.  This page turning love triangle consumed me from the very first page.  The chemistry and passion is packed into this novel from chapter one.  This is southern charm at its best!  Anyone who has had a childhood sweetheart can relate to this book.  One of my all time favorites and I can’t wait for the second book.

 
 

Ashton Gray is a seventeen year old good girl who every girl wants to be and every guy wants to be with. Her boyfriend, Sawyer Vincent, is the all-American football and town favorite.  Sawyer goes on a camping trip with his family and Ashton finds herself spending time with Sawyer’s cousin, Beau, the hot bad boy.  Beau is everything that Sawyer is not and Ashton enjoys Beau’s company.  Is Beau’s dangerous demeanor worth giving up on Sawyer’s eternal love?

Friday, January 18, 2013

Blood Warrior

Blood Warrior by HD Gordon



HD Gordon’s Blood Warrior is the debut novel in the Alexa Montgomery Saga.  This is an action packed paranormal novel with a romantic twist.  Alexa Montgomery’s mother has instilled in her that her only purpose in life is to train, prepare, and take care of her younger sister Nelly.  After an attack on her family, Alexa must choose to abandon her mother to save Nelly.  Jackson, Alexa’s best friend, helps the sisters run for their life.  The trio is introduced to a whole new life of supernatural beings as they follow the disaster plan put into place by their mother.  Alexa discovers that she is the last sun warrior alive and is the savior to the supernatural community.  Can a teenager hold up to this type of pressure…

I really enjoyed this book but it took a little time to get into.  I’m glad I didn’t because the plot is well thought out with a romantic twist.  I love the strong female heroine.  The cliffhanger ending leaves you wanting more. 

Monday, January 14, 2013

The Demon Lover

The Demon Lover by Juliet Dark


The Demon Lover is the first installment of Juliet Dark's Fairwick Chronicles.  The cover and blurp on this novel looked interesting so I thought why not.  I found myself asking why half way through.   It is very slow paced and took a lot to get into.  I stuck with it and found the plot interesting but too many supernatural creatures for me personally.  I kept thinking it would get better and it was just meh.  The end of the book leaves you in a cliff hanger but I will not read anymore in the series.  Sorry to say this book was a flop for me.


 In this novel you will get the back story of the Fairwick community and college set in upstate New York. Callie is looking for a job as the new folklore professor. Having vivid dreams of a lover, a boyfriend on the west coast, and a new job prospect Callie is overloaded with emotions. With all the twist and turns in this quaint little town can who can Callie trust?

This book is classified as YA Paranormal but is more Sci-fi Fantasy.
 
Overview
 
Since accepting a teaching position at remote Fairwick College in upstate New York, Callie McFay has experienced the same disturbingly erotic dream every night: A mist enters her bedroom, then takes the shape of a virile, seductive stranger who proceeds to ravish her in the most toe-curling, wholly satisfying ways possible. Perhaps these dreams are the result of writing her bestselling book, The Sex Lives of Demon Lovers. After all, Callie’s lifelong passion is the intersection of lurid fairy tales and Gothic literature—which is why she finds herself at Fairwick’s renowned folklore department, living in a once-stately Victorian house that, at first sight, seemed to call her name.

But Callie soon realizes that her dreams are alarmingly real. She has a demon lover—an incubus—and he will seduce her, pleasure her, and eventually suck the very life from her. Then Callie makes another startling discovery: He’s not the only mythical creature in Fairwick. As the tenured witches of the college and the resident fairies in the surrounding woods prepare to cast out the incubus, Callie must accomplish something infinitely more difficult—banishing this demon lover from her heart
 

Friday, January 11, 2013

Shadows: A Lux Series Prequel

SHADOWS: A LUX PREQUEL NOVELLA by Jennifer Armentrout




This prequel novella is part of the Lux series which I personally love.  This back story puts us in the lives of Dawson and Bethany.  The sweet side of their innocents is refreshing.   Conquering the Department of Defense, Arum, and out of this world friends who needs enemies.  I could read this novella again and again.


Overview

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.


Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.


Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence...and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.






Red Zone

RED ZONE by Sherri Hayes



This is the second installment in The Daniel Brothers Series.  The fast paced action packed romance was right up my alley.  Who doesn't love a hot football player and an uptight FBI agent.  It is filled with suspense and romance with a little family drama.  Great for a quick refreshing read. 


Overview

After a case ended badly for Rebecca Carson, she’s losing her mind sitting around her apartment waiting on her superiors to allow her to return to work. Since she was a teenager, the only thing she’d ever wanted was to join the FBI. Now that dream was in danger. 

Gage Daniels has made a pretty good life for himself. A nice house. A career he loves. As a professional football player, he’s used to getting almost everything he’d ever want with just the snap of his fingers. This includes women. A well-timed smile is usually all it takes to attract the opposite sex, especially in Nashville. 

When a stalker threatens Gage, the team owner calls an old friend, Rebecca’s ex-partner Travis Hansen, to help protect his star quarterback and find the person responsible. Hansen offers Rebecca the job, and she jumps at the chance. It’s work, and it will get her out of her apartment. How bad can it be?

Posing as Gage’s girlfriend, however, isn’t as easy as it seems. The man is relentless. Rebecca must work to protect Gage while staving off his advances. She’s there to do a job, nothing more. The last thing she wants is to be another notch on a hotshot athlete’s belt.

As the stalker continues to up the ante, Rebecca finds it harder and harder to keep her distance from Nashville’s star quarterback. He isn’t what she expected in one of the city’s most notorious playboys. Now all she has to do is keep him safe until they can find his stalker, and hope she doesn’t lose her heart in the process.


Thursday, January 10, 2013

ONXY (Lux #2)

Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer Armentrout
 
 
 
 
 
 
There is great dynamic in the second installment of the Lux series.  The character's banter with each other and the tension between the leads in this book will have you wanting more.  There are twist and turns that keep you on your feet.  Plus a HOT Daemon never hurts.  I hope there is more to come in this series.

 
 Overview
 
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…
(


The Lux Series


 
 
 
 
OBSIDIAN (Lux #1) by Jennifer Armentrout

 

 

So get ready to do nothing else but read when you start this book.  I couldn’t put it down and when I did all I thought about was picking it back up. Who new aliens could be so HOT. I could not get enough!  With the snarky character interaction between the leads and the action packed plot it is a new favorite.  Can't wait til the next installment of this series!
 

Overview


Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.

 

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

OK so Susie and I are going to try and start blogging about our favorite thing besides our family.  BOOKS...we are going to start reviewing them and posting on here so look for book reviews coming soon.